Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: 27573-1000 (Ginger Roger's Feathers) - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 436 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:MagpieJen
photo
Friend of PR
About MagpieJenstar
CANADA
Member since: 2/22/05
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/10/08 2:50 PM
Last Updated:9/12/08 9:59 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneMarie60 said...
An amazing gown! I enjoyed reading about your journey to make your dream-dress a spectacular reality. You and Fred look hauntingly serene. Great review!
9/10/08 3:27 PM
Karen6790 said...
What an amazing piece of work. Top Hat was always one of my favorite Fred & Ginger movies, and I loved that dress both for itself and for the Fred story. You and your "Fred" look wonderful - I love the makeup and all the work you did to make your dream come true. I hope you find more occasions to wear it.
9/10/08 4:54 PM
moushka said...
What a spectacular 'dream' couple you make. The dress is wonderful. I loved reading about your adventures. I'm sure somewhere in Heaven, Fred and Ginger were smiling on you both. Thanks for a marvelous review.
9/10/08 8:34 PM
SewLil said...
This is fantastic! Love your story and your dedication to making this happen. Wonderful
9/10/08 9:05 PM
Kay Y said...
Thanks - that was a fantastic review and it's a fabulous dress!
9/10/08 9:39 PM
mastdenman said...
It's an incredible dress. You and "Fred" look great.
9/10/08 10:34 PM
Athene said...
!930s glamour - so absolutely delightful. Thank you for the review and sharing your wonderful story. Such a joy for me to look at the pictures.
9/11/08 2:08 AM
cindyann said...
OMG that is awesome. I just adore that scene with F&G! Fabulous dress.
9/11/08 8:09 AM
PegL said...
What an amazing process the construction of this dress turned out to be! It is a beautiful dress and I hope you get many more chances to wear it.
9/11/08 9:59 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
This looks fabulous. I think you can take your intermediate category and push it up a bit. This shows lots of design sense. Great job.
9/11/08 10:03 AM
Jacqui315 said...
OMG! Awesome job! This is my favorite F&G movie - its in the DVD player and I watch it often. Very thorough review.
9/11/08 11:07 AM
wreninrome said...
wow...very impressive dress and I love that you made it so historically accurate
9/11/08 11:53 AM
MagpieJen said...
Thanks so much, everyone! Mary S. - I was actually thinking of putting myself up a notch because of this one. I think I probably will, but part of me feels that a truly Advanced sewist would have been able to figure out the bodice in less than 9 drafts! But I guess my tenacity counts for something :-) I would love to take some formal drafting and draping classes! My sincere thanks again for your lovely comments.
9/11/08 12:08 PM
Luckylibbet said...
WOW. I'll say it again - super WOW! What an amazing creation. Tenacity, you bet. I would have given up on muslin three. EXCELLENT job and a most amazingly helpful review. THANKS.
9/11/08 12:34 PM
piffle said...
You look absolutely fan-freaking-tastic! well done!
9/12/08 10:37 AM
JEF said...
Wonderful!!! Your gown is stunningly beautiful and your review is very educational. Thank you, thank you!
9/12/08 1:41 PM
Rhoda K said...
I don't think I could add anything more than what's already been said. Just beautiful and you both look great. I was always a Fred & Ginger fan - when I was little, my dream was to dance with him someday. Sadly that never happened, but I still watch their movies - my form of escapism ;-). BTW, the second reference link didn't work for me.
9/12/08 3:09 PM
MagpieJen said...
Rhoda K - thanks so much for the heads up on that link. I've changed the settings on that photo and it should be working now.
9/12/08 3:27 PM
Heatherrique said...
Oh, wow, Magpie!!!!!!!!!!!! You radiate Hollywood class and elegance! Dazzling dress! Thanks for sharing the cool photos! Wonderful review!
9/12/08 5:15 PM
Kellie R. said...
OMG Jen - this is outstanding! Did you catch Fred Astair and Ginger Rogers day on TCM a few weeks ago???? Everything, all of the details are just outstanding!
9/12/08 8:07 PM
ndesimon said...
oh wow oh wow oh WOW - Ginger's feather dress is my favorite movie gown of ALL TIME! Beautiful job and thanks for sharing it with us. *swoooooooons*
9/12/08 10:05 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

You Sew Girl BO830 Mod Bag
photo
Review by MrsBeckins... on 12/29/12
Read Review

Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern
Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sweet Dreams Buttom-Up PJ set Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sweet Dreams Buttom-Up PJ set Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Hide and Seek Tunic (6M-4) Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Hide and Seek Tunic (6M-4) Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2011-104 Net top
photo
Review by KatC83 on 1/23/12
Read Review

Burda 8186 Pattern
Burda 8186 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5830 Pattern ( Size 3-45-6 7-8 )
Butterick 5830 Pattern ( Size 3-45-6 7-8 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us