SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 27573-1000 (Ginger Roger's Feathers)

Viewed 437 times 
Reviewed by:MagpieJen
photo

 
 
About MagpieJenstar
CANADA
Member since: 2/22/05
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/10/08 2:50 PM
Last Updated:9/12/08 9:59 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ndesimon said...
oh wow oh wow oh WOW - Ginger's feather dress is my favorite movie gown of ALL TIME! Beautiful job and thanks for sharing it with us. *swoooooooons*
9/12/08 10:05 PM
Kellie R. said...
OMG Jen - this is outstanding! Did you catch Fred Astair and Ginger Rogers day on TCM a few weeks ago???? Everything, all of the details are just outstanding!
9/12/08 8:07 PM
Heatherrique said...
Oh, wow, Magpie!!!!!!!!!!!! You radiate Hollywood class and elegance! Dazzling dress! Thanks for sharing the cool photos! Wonderful review!
9/12/08 5:15 PM
MagpieJen said...
Rhoda K - thanks so much for the heads up on that link. I've changed the settings on that photo and it should be working now.
9/12/08 3:27 PM
Rhoda K said...
I don't think I could add anything more than what's already been said. Just beautiful and you both look great. I was always a Fred & Ginger fan - when I was little, my dream was to dance with him someday. Sadly that never happened, but I still watch their movies - my form of escapism ;-). BTW, the second reference link didn't work for me.
9/12/08 3:09 PM
JEF said...
Wonderful!!! Your gown is stunningly beautiful and your review is very educational. Thank you, thank you!
9/12/08 1:41 PM
piffle said...
You look absolutely fan-freaking-tastic! well done!
9/12/08 10:37 AM
Luckylibbet said...
WOW. I'll say it again - super WOW! What an amazing creation. Tenacity, you bet. I would have given up on muslin three. EXCELLENT job and a most amazingly helpful review. THANKS.
9/11/08 12:34 PM
MagpieJen said...
Thanks so much, everyone! Mary S. - I was actually thinking of putting myself up a notch because of this one. I think I probably will, but part of me feels that a truly Advanced sewist would have been able to figure out the bodice in less than 9 drafts! But I guess my tenacity counts for something :-) I would love to take some formal drafting and draping classes! My sincere thanks again for your lovely comments.
9/11/08 12:08 PM
wreninrome said...
wow...very impressive dress and I love that you made it so historically accurate
9/11/08 11:53 AM
Jacqui315 said...
OMG! Awesome job! This is my favorite F&G movie - its in the DVD player and I watch it often. Very thorough review.
9/11/08 11:07 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
This looks fabulous. I think you can take your intermediate category and push it up a bit. This shows lots of design sense. Great job.
9/11/08 10:03 AM
PegL said...
What an amazing process the construction of this dress turned out to be! It is a beautiful dress and I hope you get many more chances to wear it.
9/11/08 9:59 AM
cindyann said...
OMG that is awesome. I just adore that scene with F&G! Fabulous dress.
9/11/08 8:09 AM
Athene said...
!930s glamour - so absolutely delightful. Thank you for the review and sharing your wonderful story. Such a joy for me to look at the pictures.
9/11/08 2:08 AM
mastdenman said...
It's an incredible dress. You and "Fred" look great.
9/10/08 10:34 PM
Kay Y said...
Thanks - that was a fantastic review and it's a fabulous dress!
9/10/08 9:39 PM
SewLil said...
This is fantastic! Love your story and your dedication to making this happen. Wonderful
9/10/08 9:05 PM
moushka said...
What a spectacular 'dream' couple you make. The dress is wonderful. I loved reading about your adventures. I'm sure somewhere in Heaven, Fred and Ginger were smiling on you both. Thanks for a marvelous review.
9/10/08 8:34 PM
Karen6790 said...
What an amazing piece of work. Top Hat was always one of my favorite Fred & Ginger movies, and I loved that dress both for itself and for the Fred story. You and your "Fred" look wonderful - I love the makeup and all the work you did to make your dream come true. I hope you find more occasions to wear it.
9/10/08 4:54 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
An amazing gown! I enjoyed reading about your journey to make your dream-dress a spectacular reality. You and Fred look hauntingly serene. Great review!
9/10/08 3:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

New Look 6025

photo
by: slmstyle

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

More Info
PerfectFuse Light White

PerfectFuse Light White

More Info