SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5651 

7 more reviews
Viewed 864 times 
Reviewed by:chrisquilts_2
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About chrisquilts_2star
Member since: 6/16/06
Reviews written: 29
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 26
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/10/08 6:54 PM
Last Updated:9/10/08 9:56 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Sleepwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhoda K said...
I don't think this would work for me either. I've seen these in stores and patterns and they don't look the least bit comfortable. Seems like the lace would be scratchy. Let us know.
9/10/08 8:18 PM
SewLil said...
Thanks for the review and comparison. I'd looked at this pattern but more for the camisole than the panties.
9/10/08 8:59 PM
Leora said...
Interesting! I have this pattern but live vicariously through y'all since I haven't found lace to try it yet... sorry it didn't work for you but great review!
9/10/08 10:15 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Hi Great concept... you should turn this into a manuscript and shop it to a few sew mags for publication..... Thanks!
9/11/08 7:21 AM
Athene said...
Very good review. It tells me I wouldn't want the McCall's undies.
9/13/08 9:28 PM
sewcrazy53 said...
The concept I was always taught was to measure. So, maybe I am obsessed. I measure the pattern, then myself; then, the pattern, and so on, and so on. Even then, I sometimes DO NOT get it right1!
11/25/08 4:51 PM
ellesbells said...
Great review, i have been looking for an underwear pattern and the kwik sew was the other i was considering, so after reading this i will go with that one, thanks! Have you tried the cami from any of them?
8/30/09 9:43 PM
sew2006 said...
I've sewn all the panties from this pattern and in the thong version added about 1" to the back lenght and reduced the width of the croth seam by about 1/2". I also added see through elastic around the waist to help them stay. Fit much better then store bought. At LaSanza last week I saw a pair advertised as the invisible panty for $12.95, I asked the sales girl how many you get for that price.......all they used was 1" stretch lace.
10/25/09 8:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Beginner Sewing Lab 101 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 101  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Buy Now