SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 7390 (80's 90-Minute Top)

Viewed 496 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 101 people
patterns reviewed: 298
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/12/08 4:49 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 18 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
michellep74 said...
Cute! You really brought this look up to date!
9/12/08 4:51 PM
Kellie R. said...
This is so pretty! I love the colors in the fabric; they are perfect with the style. What a bonus that it's easy! Great job!
9/12/08 4:51 PM
Kellie R. said...
This is so pretty! I love the colors in the fabric; they are perfect with the style. What a bonus that it's easy! Great job!
9/12/08 4:51 PM
EveS said...
Oooh, I like!!!!! Extra fabulous fabric as usual! :)
9/12/08 4:56 PM
TrixieD said...
Great fabric and look!
9/12/08 5:06 PM
sewtime said...
Love your top! The colors are so pretty!
9/12/08 5:19 PM
Gold said...
Cute top!
9/12/08 5:25 PM
shesflipped said...
Fabulous looking top! I love the style, and the colors are so pretty. Very flattering on you, too!
9/12/08 5:31 PM
JustTrina said...
i love it very much and the fabric is really FAB! oh, and I remember that song as well!!
9/12/08 5:43 PM
Winifred said...
Fabulous fabric and colours very flattering. On my wish list now !!
9/12/08 5:43 PM
Vonnevo said...
Love your top and love your *Dancing to the 80's" photo :))))
9/12/08 6:05 PM
crisford said...
Beautiful top! That is so sad they took out home ec! I didn't realize this was happening. Hopefully you can inspire your students to somehow learn how to sew.
9/12/08 7:04 PM
Annette1 said...
You "SWIRLS" are just too much! LOVE the pictures AND the top. :o) I don't know if you planned out where your swirls would lie on the top, but they landed just PERFECTLY to be VERY flattering. Don't you wish that girl in your class could take home ec?
9/12/08 7:11 PM
Rhoda K said...
Very nice top - looks good!! Since I don't have kids in school now, I'm not sure if Home Ec is taught or not. I sure wish they would spend some time on it and give sports a rest!! No offense to the sports-minded parents. Just my personal opinion.
9/12/08 7:18 PM
wreninrome said...
very pretty...i too remember the days when MTV used to play music
9/12/08 7:20 PM
greenandlilac said...
Cute top. I love the song Jessie's Girl too! Rick Springfield was hot!
9/12/08 10:01 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
This is absolutely fabulous fabric. Great job on the top and I'm sure we all will like this one.
9/12/08 10:40 PM
SusiM said...
It certainly is a beautiful fabric and looks marvelous on you! thanks for the timetable on the construction.
9/12/08 11:36 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
That is so neat your student was showing interest in sewing. I have no clue why there is no home-ec anymore. I realize sewing isn't popular as it once was since you can buy cheap-o clothes at Walmart and Target, but still kids need to learn cooking skills. Much more valuable than text messaging for sure. Great shirt too! :-)
9/12/08 11:40 PM
2BSewing said...
You are correct and I am in total agreement...there is something about wearing certain colors that make you feel good. You look beautiful in your top and the EOS fabric you used is perfect. It's unfortunate that Home Ec is not offered. That's where I learned to sew and to cook.
9/13/08 6:12 AM
Michelle L said...
Gorgeous top! The fabric really compliments the style, and is a great update to this retro pattern!
9/13/08 7:45 AM
Karen8320 said...
Louella, how absolutely gorgeous! This fabric is so full of life and you've positioned the swirls perfectly. You are so right about certain colors (and designs) having an impact upon how a person feels. Your range of tops, though, that you sew is so fabulous that I wouldn't be surprised to know that you feel "upbeat" EVERY day!
9/13/08 8:51 AM
DorothyK said...
Very pretty. Great fabric. The top looks beautiful on you.
9/13/08 12:24 PM
Michelle T said...
Great review. Makes me think I should check out some of my old 80's patterns. They do not all have huge shoulder pads.
9/13/08 12:43 PM
HLT said...
Happy Birthday superstar!!! Love this blouse on you. Super fab.
9/13/08 1:21 PM
cecelia said...
This top is so nice on you. Love the swirly fabric--so fun!
9/13/08 2:08 PM
Catbird said...
Karen8320 is right about "full of life"! That goes for the fabric, you AND Heather! I love it.
9/13/08 2:31 PM
Mahler said...
We should start a huge, huge group on Facebook to put pressure on governments so that they bring back home ec in highschool, I agree with you. Your blouse is definitely wonderful. EOS does have an amazing selection of fabric.
9/13/08 4:48 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Louella, this is such a dreamy, romantic top and I agree with Annette that you've placed the swirls on your pretty top to create very flattering lines. These are really good tones, too, for your complexion and coloring. You really look stylish and you also look like a very fun Mom. Lovely, Lily
9/13/08 5:14 PM
Karendee said...
The top looks great on you. For a student to compliment it, that's something!
9/13/08 5:48 PM
ryan's mom said...
What a fab blouse! The fabric is awesome and the fit is perfect!!
9/13/08 7:52 PM
Athene said...
Great looking top - I love the fabric print.
9/13/08 9:12 PM
CypGrl said...
Looks wonderful on you -- and love the title -- swirls just want to have fun!
9/13/08 11:19 PM
bananaoil said...
The color looks lovely on you and I like the style. Good choice.
9/14/08 6:03 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Gorgeous blouse. Fun picture of you and your DD.
9/15/08 1:38 PM
kim*brown said...
This is super fabulous!! Good luck on the appreciation contest too, you deserve it!
9/17/08 11:47 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Portabello Pixie Market Bags

photo
by: brissmith

Review
SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Buy Now