Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 7390 (80's 90-Minute Top) - Type:Out of Print Classics    printable version
Viewed 495 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 295
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 295
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/12/08 4:49 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
michellep74 said...
Cute! You really brought this look up to date!
9/12/08 4:51 PM
Kellie R. said...
This is so pretty! I love the colors in the fabric; they are perfect with the style. What a bonus that it's easy! Great job!
9/12/08 4:51 PM
Kellie R. said...
This is so pretty! I love the colors in the fabric; they are perfect with the style. What a bonus that it's easy! Great job!
9/12/08 4:51 PM
EveS said...
Oooh, I like!!!!! Extra fabulous fabric as usual! :)
9/12/08 4:56 PM
TrixieD said...
Great fabric and look!
9/12/08 5:06 PM
sewtime said...
Love your top! The colors are so pretty!
9/12/08 5:19 PM
Gold said...
Cute top!
9/12/08 5:25 PM
shesflipped said...
Fabulous looking top! I love the style, and the colors are so pretty. Very flattering on you, too!
9/12/08 5:31 PM
JustTrina said...
i love it very much and the fabric is really FAB! oh, and I remember that song as well!!
9/12/08 5:43 PM
Winifred said...
Fabulous fabric and colours very flattering. On my wish list now !!
9/12/08 5:43 PM
Vonnevo said...
Love your top and love your *Dancing to the 80's" photo :))))
9/12/08 6:05 PM
crisford said...
Beautiful top! That is so sad they took out home ec! I didn't realize this was happening. Hopefully you can inspire your students to somehow learn how to sew.
9/12/08 7:04 PM
Annette1 said...
You "SWIRLS" are just too much! LOVE the pictures AND the top. :o) I don't know if you planned out where your swirls would lie on the top, but they landed just PERFECTLY to be VERY flattering. Don't you wish that girl in your class could take home ec?
9/12/08 7:11 PM
Rhoda K said...
Very nice top - looks good!! Since I don't have kids in school now, I'm not sure if Home Ec is taught or not. I sure wish they would spend some time on it and give sports a rest!! No offense to the sports-minded parents. Just my personal opinion.
9/12/08 7:18 PM
wreninrome said...
very pretty...i too remember the days when MTV used to play music
9/12/08 7:20 PM
greenandlilac said...
Cute top. I love the song Jessie's Girl too! Rick Springfield was hot!
9/12/08 10:01 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
This is absolutely fabulous fabric. Great job on the top and I'm sure we all will like this one.
9/12/08 10:40 PM
SusiM said...
It certainly is a beautiful fabric and looks marvelous on you! thanks for the timetable on the construction.
9/12/08 11:36 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
That is so neat your student was showing interest in sewing. I have no clue why there is no home-ec anymore. I realize sewing isn't popular as it once was since you can buy cheap-o clothes at Walmart and Target, but still kids need to learn cooking skills. Much more valuable than text messaging for sure. Great shirt too! :-)
9/12/08 11:40 PM
2BSewing said...
You are correct and I am in total agreement...there is something about wearing certain colors that make you feel good. You look beautiful in your top and the EOS fabric you used is perfect. It's unfortunate that Home Ec is not offered. That's where I learned to sew and to cook.
9/13/08 6:12 AM
Michelle L said...
Gorgeous top! The fabric really compliments the style, and is a great update to this retro pattern!
9/13/08 7:45 AM
Karen8320 said...
Louella, how absolutely gorgeous! This fabric is so full of life and you've positioned the swirls perfectly. You are so right about certain colors (and designs) having an impact upon how a person feels. Your range of tops, though, that you sew is so fabulous that I wouldn't be surprised to know that you feel "upbeat" EVERY day!
9/13/08 8:51 AM
DorothyK said...
Very pretty. Great fabric. The top looks beautiful on you.
9/13/08 12:24 PM
Michelle T said...
Great review. Makes me think I should check out some of my old 80's patterns. They do not all have huge shoulder pads.
9/13/08 12:43 PM
HLT said...
Happy Birthday superstar!!! Love this blouse on you. Super fab.
9/13/08 1:21 PM
cecelia said...
This top is so nice on you. Love the swirly fabric--so fun!
9/13/08 2:08 PM
Catbird said...
Karen8320 is right about "full of life"! That goes for the fabric, you AND Heather! I love it.
9/13/08 2:31 PM
Mahler said...
We should start a huge, huge group on Facebook to put pressure on governments so that they bring back home ec in highschool, I agree with you. Your blouse is definitely wonderful. EOS does have an amazing selection of fabric.
9/13/08 4:48 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Louella, this is such a dreamy, romantic top and I agree with Annette that you've placed the swirls on your pretty top to create very flattering lines. These are really good tones, too, for your complexion and coloring. You really look stylish and you also look like a very fun Mom. Lovely, Lily
9/13/08 5:14 PM
Karendee said...
The top looks great on you. For a student to compliment it, that's something!
9/13/08 5:48 PM
ryan's mom said...
What a fab blouse! The fabric is awesome and the fit is perfect!!
9/13/08 7:52 PM
Athene said...
Great looking top - I love the fabric print.
9/13/08 9:12 PM
CypGrl said...
Looks wonderful on you -- and love the title -- swirls just want to have fun!
9/13/08 11:19 PM
bananaoil said...
The color looks lovely on you and I like the style. Good choice.
9/14/08 6:03 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Gorgeous blouse. Fun picture of you and your DD.
9/15/08 1:38 PM
kim*brown said...
This is super fabulous!! Good luck on the appreciation contest too, you deserve it!
9/17/08 11:47 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 1170
photo
Review by RachelEsq on 2/16/10
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Hopscotch Top, Tunic, and Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Hopscotch Top, Tunic, and Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pink Chalk Studio No.104 Mail Sack
photo
Review by Annelisa on 7/9/08
Read Review

Loes Hinse Criss Cross Top
Loes Hinse Criss Cross Top

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6914 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )
McCalls 6914 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us