Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Textile Studio: 1213 (Mandarin Shirt Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 784 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
Reviewed by:LindsayT
photo
About LindsayTstarstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 8/2/07
Reviews written: 65
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 68 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/21/08 6:08 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karen6790 said...
We all fell in love with the Prada lace this year, but this is the first knockoff I've seen and you've inspired me to get off the computer and work on mine. Just beautiful.
9/21/08 6:15 PM
Karendee said...
I posted on SG, but it never hurts to repeat a compliment. Your lace jacket is just beautiful and you look so stylish in it. Congratulations on such a nice garment.
9/21/08 6:28 PM
wendlesue said...
Lovely jacket. It will be so versatile too! Great job.
9/21/08 7:00 PM
Birgitte said...
That looks so good on you, and it's so nice to see you model again! :-) Excellent job, that's a definite keeper!
9/21/08 7:03 PM
marec said...
wow! That is a terrific jacket. I love the lace...and I am surprised that it still can look sporty even with all the lace. Perfect-:-)
9/21/08 7:28 PM
sewtime said...
Wow, so pretty!
9/21/08 7:38 PM
AnnieInNYC said...
A seemingly simple pattern transformed into a designer masterpiece. It's truly outstanding!
9/21/08 7:48 PM
Barbara3 said...
Just beautiful, and a terrific review of your construction techniques. Thanks!
9/21/08 7:49 PM
Sewlovelier said...
Beautiful work. You've inspired me. I'll be looking for lace to make my own. I really like how you backed the hems and front with the china silk. It looks great with your jeans!
9/21/08 8:29 PM
dbsewer said...
Really love your jacket. It's so pretty and you did a wonderful job. The lace is gorgeous.
9/21/08 8:36 PM
Karen8320 said...
Lovely work, Lindsay, and such a really cool looking photo! Thanks for the insight into your construction techniques. This is a really gorgeous garment that has heaps of versatility.
9/21/08 8:50 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful jacket.
9/21/08 9:08 PM
DaisyEsq said...
The jacket is beautiful. I like the contrast of the lace against the jeans.
9/21/08 9:14 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Lindsay, my tongue is dragging on the floor - I'm so darned covetous! Truly smashing and you look delicious in it. And your DD has taken a really unaffected and charming photo. Lovely, Lily
9/21/08 9:17 PM
Tiner W said...
That is gorgeous! How inspiring! Now I want one!
9/21/08 9:28 PM
moushka said...
Seriously stunning! A fabulous knock-off that looks every bit as good as the real thing and I'm sure will be worn with even more pleasure. Thanks for an inspiring review.
9/21/08 9:36 PM
Ann Smith said...
Fabulous knockoff. It looks great on you and I love it with the jeans.
9/21/08 9:37 PM
mastdenman said...
Wonderful jacket. It looks great with jeans and would look just as great with a little black dress.
9/21/08 11:28 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Never thought lace could be so versatile! Great with jeans and a LBD, how fabulous can you get? Thanks for all the tips on sewing it up as well... very helpful review!
9/21/08 11:34 PM
Christas said...
I would have never thought of lace for a jacket. It looks wonderful!
9/22/08 1:18 AM
Linda G said...
I saw a Gold colored Prada jacket in the More magazine, I looked very much like the same style and I wondered if it could be duplicated, you did it, what a wonderful job, I love it!!
9/22/08 5:29 AM
Catbird said...
This looks so beautiful, just like the Prada inspiration jacket, and I agree it looks great with jeans (as most things do)! Nice picture, too!
9/22/08 8:43 AM
carolynw said...
Lovely jacket - I would say you did a 100% knock off here - looks just as good ,is more than likely better constructed, fits better and cost a whole lot $$$$less. Bravo
9/22/08 9:20 AM
cmarie12 said...
What a wonderful use of a TNT pattern! Love your interpretation of the designer gear!
9/22/08 9:54 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Perfect!!
9/22/08 11:10 AM
Stitchcakes said...
Love it! Love the construction details on your blog. Thanks!
9/22/08 12:52 PM
Karine said...
Lindsay, that jacket is fantastic! Thanks for the detailed review and link to your blog with the pictures.
9/22/08 5:05 PM
Heatherrique said...
Superb knockoff of your inspiration Prada jacket! You look fabulous!
9/22/08 5:42 PM
Erica B. said...
You nailed this jacket! Very Prada-esque!
9/23/08 0:49 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Very Prada! Great example of how brilliant it is to have a TNT pattern.
9/23/08 6:37 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, I am so inspired to tackle the lace in my stash. You look wonderful and your review is so useful. Thanks!
9/27/08 9:33 AM
AnneM said...
Love it! Great use of the lace and the pattern.
10/1/08 5:45 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

McCall's 5616 Girl's Dress
photo
Review by Erica B. on 5/19/08
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3882 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3882 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8886 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8886 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2008-4 Sporty Top
photo
Review by treefrog on 12/28/11
Read Review

Oliver S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver   S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Home)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Home)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern
Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern
SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us