SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1213 (Mandarin Shirt Jacket)

15 more reviews
Viewed 793 times 
Reviewed by:LindsayT
photo

 
 
About LindsayTstarstarstar
Member since: 8/2/07
Reviews written: 65
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 68 people
patterns reviewed: 57
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/21/08 6:08 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karen6790 said...
We all fell in love with the Prada lace this year, but this is the first knockoff I've seen and you've inspired me to get off the computer and work on mine. Just beautiful.
9/21/08 6:15 PM
Karendee said...
I posted on SG, but it never hurts to repeat a compliment. Your lace jacket is just beautiful and you look so stylish in it. Congratulations on such a nice garment.
9/21/08 6:28 PM
wendlesue said...
Lovely jacket. It will be so versatile too! Great job.
9/21/08 7:00 PM
Birgitte said...
That looks so good on you, and it's so nice to see you model again! :-) Excellent job, that's a definite keeper!
9/21/08 7:03 PM
marec said...
wow! That is a terrific jacket. I love the lace...and I am surprised that it still can look sporty even with all the lace. Perfect-:-)
9/21/08 7:28 PM
sewtime said...
Wow, so pretty!
9/21/08 7:38 PM
AnnieInNYC said...
A seemingly simple pattern transformed into a designer masterpiece. It's truly outstanding!
9/21/08 7:48 PM
Barbara3 said...
Just beautiful, and a terrific review of your construction techniques. Thanks!
9/21/08 7:49 PM
Sewlovelier said...
Beautiful work. You've inspired me. I'll be looking for lace to make my own. I really like how you backed the hems and front with the china silk. It looks great with your jeans!
9/21/08 8:29 PM
dbsewer said...
Really love your jacket. It's so pretty and you did a wonderful job. The lace is gorgeous.
9/21/08 8:36 PM
Karen8320 said...
Lovely work, Lindsay, and such a really cool looking photo! Thanks for the insight into your construction techniques. This is a really gorgeous garment that has heaps of versatility.
9/21/08 8:50 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful jacket.
9/21/08 9:08 PM
DaisyEsq said...
The jacket is beautiful. I like the contrast of the lace against the jeans.
9/21/08 9:14 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Lindsay, my tongue is dragging on the floor - I'm so darned covetous! Truly smashing and you look delicious in it. And your DD has taken a really unaffected and charming photo. Lovely, Lily
9/21/08 9:17 PM
Tiner W said...
That is gorgeous! How inspiring! Now I want one!
9/21/08 9:28 PM
moushka said...
Seriously stunning! A fabulous knock-off that looks every bit as good as the real thing and I'm sure will be worn with even more pleasure. Thanks for an inspiring review.
9/21/08 9:36 PM
Ann Smith said...
Fabulous knockoff. It looks great on you and I love it with the jeans.
9/21/08 9:37 PM
mastdenman said...
Wonderful jacket. It looks great with jeans and would look just as great with a little black dress.
9/21/08 11:28 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Never thought lace could be so versatile! Great with jeans and a LBD, how fabulous can you get? Thanks for all the tips on sewing it up as well... very helpful review!
9/21/08 11:34 PM
Christas said...
I would have never thought of lace for a jacket. It looks wonderful!
9/22/08 1:18 AM
Linda G said...
I saw a Gold colored Prada jacket in the More magazine, I looked very much like the same style and I wondered if it could be duplicated, you did it, what a wonderful job, I love it!!
9/22/08 5:29 AM
Catbird said...
This looks so beautiful, just like the Prada inspiration jacket, and I agree it looks great with jeans (as most things do)! Nice picture, too!
9/22/08 8:43 AM
carolynw said...
Lovely jacket - I would say you did a 100% knock off here - looks just as good ,is more than likely better constructed, fits better and cost a whole lot $$$$less. Bravo
9/22/08 9:20 AM
cmarie12 said...
What a wonderful use of a TNT pattern! Love your interpretation of the designer gear!
9/22/08 9:54 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Perfect!!
9/22/08 11:10 AM
Stitchcakes said...
Love it! Love the construction details on your blog. Thanks!
9/22/08 12:52 PM
Karine said...
Lindsay, that jacket is fantastic! Thanks for the detailed review and link to your blog with the pictures.
9/22/08 5:05 PM
Heatherrique said...
Superb knockoff of your inspiration Prada jacket! You look fabulous!
9/22/08 5:42 PM
Erica B. said...
You nailed this jacket! Very Prada-esque!
9/23/08 0:49 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Very Prada! Great example of how brilliant it is to have a TNT pattern.
9/23/08 6:37 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, I am so inspired to tackle the lace in my stash. You look wonderful and your review is so useful. Thanks!
9/27/08 9:33 AM
AnneM said...
Love it! Great use of the lace and the pattern.
10/1/08 5:45 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

KnipMode Magazine 04-2011-8

photo
by: treefrog

Review
Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Buy Now