SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5210 (Pleat-front strait dress)

1 more reviews
Viewed 563 times 
Reviewed by:Nancy Anne
photo

 
 
About Nancy Annestar
TX USA
Member since: 11/26/04
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/28/08 9:35 AM
Last Updated:9/29/08 10:13 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
phthooey said...
I am a petite woman and have put off sewing this b/c I wasn't sure a size 6 would work without extensive pattern mods. Your 11-year-old is still 4 inches taller than me, but I get a good sense of how this might look if I sewed it for myself. Your fabric choice, worn with the cutoff leggings and mary jane flats, really make this dress as age-appropriate as can be. She looks really happy in her new dress! :) Thanks for the review!
9/28/08 10:36 AM
Beek said...
Darling dress on a darling girl! I bet she loves it. The fabric is so bright and cheerful.
9/28/08 12:11 PM
DaisyEsq said...
You made such a pretty dress for a pretty girl. Well done.
9/28/08 12:25 PM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks great!
9/28/08 2:52 PM
Skymom said...
Very cute dress--she looks great! I'd guess you could skip the zipper altogether on this, as long as she's so slender. That would certainly make it quicker to sew.
9/28/08 8:08 PM
Mufffet said...
Just a lovely dress. The colors are so good on your daughter. She looks so stylist!
9/28/08 8:23 PM
Nancy Anne said...
Skymom- I changed the review to address my experience with this, and the reason I went ahead with the zipper. Thanks!
9/29/08 6:27 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
What a CUTE dress!!! I LOVE the fabric print!!! It definitely has a 70's vibe to it!!!
9/30/08 5:19 PM
dragkingbar said...
Looks adorable! I was also wondering about the need for a zipper when I was first looking at this pattern. Do you think it would work if you sewed up the back just to about within 4-5 inches of the top and installed a button and loop at the top?
10/8/10 6:13 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Vogue Patterns 2611

photo
by: Erinaceous

Review
Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Growing Up Sew Liberated

photo
by: Kathhhhhy

Review