SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5210 (Pleat-front strait dress)

1 more reviews
Viewed 563 times 
Reviewed by:Nancy Anne
photo

 
 
About Nancy Annestar
TX USA
Member since: 11/26/04
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/28/08 9:35 AM
Last Updated:9/29/08 10:13 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dragkingbar said...
Looks adorable! I was also wondering about the need for a zipper when I was first looking at this pattern. Do you think it would work if you sewed up the back just to about within 4-5 inches of the top and installed a button and loop at the top?
10/8/10 6:13 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
What a CUTE dress!!! I LOVE the fabric print!!! It definitely has a 70's vibe to it!!!
9/30/08 5:19 PM
Nancy Anne said...
Skymom- I changed the review to address my experience with this, and the reason I went ahead with the zipper. Thanks!
9/29/08 6:27 AM
Mufffet said...
Just a lovely dress. The colors are so good on your daughter. She looks so stylist!
9/28/08 8:23 PM
Skymom said...
Very cute dress--she looks great! I'd guess you could skip the zipper altogether on this, as long as she's so slender. That would certainly make it quicker to sew.
9/28/08 8:08 PM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks great!
9/28/08 2:52 PM
DaisyEsq said...
You made such a pretty dress for a pretty girl. Well done.
9/28/08 12:25 PM
Beek said...
Darling dress on a darling girl! I bet she loves it. The fabric is so bright and cheerful.
9/28/08 12:11 PM
phthooey said...
I am a petite woman and have put off sewing this b/c I wasn't sure a size 6 would work without extensive pattern mods. Your 11-year-old is still 4 inches taller than me, but I get a good sense of how this might look if I sewed it for myself. Your fabric choice, worn with the cutoff leggings and mary jane flats, really make this dress as age-appropriate as can be. She looks really happy in her new dress! :) Thanks for the review!
9/28/08 10:36 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

McCall's 4842

photo
by: lovenicky

Review
Marfy 2415

photo
by: Re Becca

Review
You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Buy Now