Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Fashion Sewing Group: 1945 (Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 478 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:blue mooney
photo
About blue mooneystarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 12/21/02
Reviews written: 96
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 37 people
patterns reviewed: 93
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/24/08 6:39 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewtime said...
Your jacket is cute and can fit with a lot of different looks. Very nice!
9/24/08 6:41 PM
rozzybabe said...
I've often thought about trying the FSG jacket pattern. Seeing your excellent review & great result has made my mind up for me! Thanks, I look forward to getting this & other FSG patterns!
9/24/08 6:52 PM
Peggy L said...
Great jacket and review of one of my favorite patterns! You'll enjoy having this in your wardrobe.
9/24/08 7:06 PM
nancy2001 said...
This is a great looking jacket with a terrific fit. I'm sure you'll have great success sewing all the variations.
9/24/08 8:34 PM
Annette1 said...
If by "ho-hum" you mean a CLASSIC, then yes, I agree, this is ho-hum at its finest! This jacket fits you BEAUTIFULLY, and I really like the lines of it. VERY flattering. I'm going to try that seam binding idea in the sleeve cap too (if I can REMEMBER). That sounds like a great idea!
9/24/08 8:35 PM
blue mooney said...
Yeah, Peggy L, I have you to thank for this one....so, THANKS!
9/24/08 9:19 PM
Athene said...
Fabulous jacket. Those sleeve heads look great - I hope I remember the bias tape tip for the sleeve heads.
9/24/08 9:25 PM
KristenI said...
Beautiful job, very nice!
9/24/08 10:24 PM
marec said...
Thanks for a thorough and interesting review. Your jacket fits beautifully and the details are very nice.
9/25/08 0:20 AM
cecelia said...
I love this pattern too. Your jacket came out very nicely and looks like it fits you well, a wonderful TNT.
9/25/08 8:43 AM
carolynw said...
Nice looking jacket - great work shows.
9/25/08 9:24 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Terrific wardrobe builder - you'll be happy with this for years! And such a wonderfully thorough review - so helpful!
9/25/08 1:04 PM
appleton78 said...
Very nice!! Love the versatility...Looks great..THX for this review!
9/25/08 2:54 PM
Heatherrique said...
Wowwwww! Sharp and marvelous looking jacket, BlueM! Very nicely constructed!
9/26/08 2:09 AM
BettyMike said...
Very nice jacket. Looks like the perfect thing for our fall and winter weather.
9/26/08 4:36 PM
Karine said...
I love your jacket! Great pocket treatment with the fake welts. Jacket fits you well and looks really nice.
9/28/08 12:27 PM
EleanorSews said...
Jacket is great and those fake welt pockets are eye-catching. Great detail! It really looks like what was once known as "better" RTW.
9/30/08 9:13 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Understanding Sheer Fabrics
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Understanding Sheer Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 1051
photo
Review by 3kids1036 on 8/29/08
Read Review

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Birgitte Basic Tee Digital Pattern
Birgitte Basic Tee Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Maddie's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Maddie's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8087
photo
Review by Maree P on 10/18/09
Read Review

McCalls 5498 Pattern ( Size 3-8 )
McCalls 5498 Pattern ( Size 3-8 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8839 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8839 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us