SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5717 (Trends)

10 more reviews
Viewed 718 times 
Reviewed by:LizzM26
photo

 
 
About LizzM26star
VA USA
Member since: 8/19/08
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/27/08 10:22 PM
Last Updated:10/18/08 7:06 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewtime said...
It is a cute coat. I think if you wear it a few times you might feel different about it. I have this pattern on my must have list.
9/27/08 10:43 PM
Clareew said...
A wonderful coat for your first attempt.
9/28/08 8:24 AM
Clareew said...
A wonderful coat for your first attempt.
9/28/08 8:24 AM
Beek said...
Thanks for the honest review. Your coat is cute, no matter what!
9/28/08 12:17 PM
KozyKitty said...
I noticed that you were frustrated with the sizing. One thing I've learned when using McCall's patterns is that I cannot go by the body measurements they give you for a particular size. Your garment will be huge! I look at the bottom of the pattern where it gives the actual garment measurements. I usually figure out how much ease I want and make the appropriate size. Sometimes this means that a garment may be one size at the bust, a different one at the waist and a different one at the hips! Perhaps making a muslin for your next McCalls pattern will help. You can do the alterations on the muslin then you will be able to alter the pattern before cutting the fashion fabric! I think this coat looks cute in the plaid. I found it to be a very versatile pattern!
9/29/08 12:54 PM
Tiner W said...
Nice! I love the plaid! Once people know that you sew, they will pretty much always ask you if you've made what you're wearing. That's usually a compliment because they're assuming you can make anything.
10/18/08 8:48 AM
Athene said...
A very nice coat - I'm in agreement with KozyKitty - try a muslin and use the finish measurements listed on the back of the pattern envelope to determine a better size. McCalls does seem to run really big a lot of the time.
10/19/08 2:31 PM
startwearingpurple said...
Please could you tell me how the ruffle is made- i was looking at the picture but ive seen many different ways of making ruffles and not sure which one to use. thanks!
12/17/08 1:19 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Simplicity 2256

photo
by: im2melo4u

Review
Butterick 5181

photo
by: SewingAlli...

Review

Pattern

Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Buy Now