SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5717 (Trends)

10 more reviews
Viewed 720 times 
Reviewed by:LizzM26
photo

 
 
About LizzM26star
VA USA
Member since: 8/19/08
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/27/08 10:22 PM
Last Updated:10/18/08 7:06 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
startwearingpurple said...
Please could you tell me how the ruffle is made- i was looking at the picture but ive seen many different ways of making ruffles and not sure which one to use. thanks!
12/17/08 1:19 PM
Athene said...
A very nice coat - I'm in agreement with KozyKitty - try a muslin and use the finish measurements listed on the back of the pattern envelope to determine a better size. McCalls does seem to run really big a lot of the time.
10/19/08 2:31 PM
Tiner W said...
Nice! I love the plaid! Once people know that you sew, they will pretty much always ask you if you've made what you're wearing. That's usually a compliment because they're assuming you can make anything.
10/18/08 8:48 AM
KozyKitty said...
I noticed that you were frustrated with the sizing. One thing I've learned when using McCall's patterns is that I cannot go by the body measurements they give you for a particular size. Your garment will be huge! I look at the bottom of the pattern where it gives the actual garment measurements. I usually figure out how much ease I want and make the appropriate size. Sometimes this means that a garment may be one size at the bust, a different one at the waist and a different one at the hips! Perhaps making a muslin for your next McCalls pattern will help. You can do the alterations on the muslin then you will be able to alter the pattern before cutting the fashion fabric! I think this coat looks cute in the plaid. I found it to be a very versatile pattern!
9/29/08 12:54 PM
Beek said...
Thanks for the honest review. Your coat is cute, no matter what!
9/28/08 12:17 PM
Clareew said...
A wonderful coat for your first attempt.
9/28/08 8:24 AM
Clareew said...
A wonderful coat for your first attempt.
9/28/08 8:24 AM
sewtime said...
It is a cute coat. I think if you wear it a few times you might feel different about it. I have this pattern on my must have list.
9/27/08 10:43 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Other Nap Mats

photo
by: A Beginner...

Review
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 1051

photo
by: RebeccaMar...

Review