SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5717 (Trends)

10 more reviews
Viewed 724 times 
Reviewed by:LizzM26
photo

 
 
About LizzM26star
VA USA
Member since: 8/19/08
Reviews: 26 (patterns: 26)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/27/08 10:22 PM
Last Updated:10/18/08 7:06 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
startwearingpurple said... (12/17/08 1:19 PM) Reply
Please could you tell me how the ruffle is made- i was looking at the picture but ive seen many different ways of making ruffles and not sure which one to use. thanks!
Athene said... (10/19/08 2:31 PM) Reply
A very nice coat - I'm in agreement with KozyKitty - try a muslin and use the finish measurements listed on the back of the pattern envelope to determine a better size. McCalls does seem to run really big a lot of the time.
Tiner W said... (10/18/08 8:48 AM) Reply
Nice! I love the plaid! Once people know that you sew, they will pretty much always ask you if you've made what you're wearing. That's usually a compliment because they're assuming you can make anything.
KozyKitty said... (9/29/08 12:54 PM) Reply
I noticed that you were frustrated with the sizing. One thing I've learned when using McCall's patterns is that I cannot go by the body measurements they give you for a particular size. Your garment will be huge! I look at the bottom of the pattern where it gives the actual garment measurements. I usually figure out how much ease I want and make the appropriate size. Sometimes this means that a garment may be one size at the bust, a different one at the waist and a different one at the hips! Perhaps making a muslin for your next McCalls pattern will help. You can do the alterations on the muslin then you will be able to alter the pattern before cutting the fashion fabric! I think this coat looks cute in the plaid. I found it to be a very versatile pattern!
Beek said... (9/28/08 12:17 PM) Reply
Thanks for the honest review. Your coat is cute, no matter what!
Clareew said... (9/28/08 8:24 AM) Reply
A wonderful coat for your first attempt.
Clareew said... (9/28/08 8:24 AM) Reply
A wonderful coat for your first attempt.
sewtime said... (9/27/08 10:43 PM) Reply
It is a cute coat. I think if you wear it a few times you might feel different about it. I have this pattern on my must have list.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Ottobre Design 03-2007-21

photo
by: kellyhogab...

Review
You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Pattern Details
Kwik Sew 3559

photo
by: Melwyk

Review