SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Zona Jacket 

3 more reviews
Viewed 890 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 386 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/29/08 2:43 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BillieJean said...
I love the collar on this, but like you, I'm not so sure about the back. Beautiful jacket.
9/29/08 5:42 AM
cecelia said...
Ann, I hear you about the back, but the jacket is lovely, especially in the fabric you chose.
9/29/08 8:30 AM
carolynw said...
Looks really nice Ann - fabric is beautiful
9/29/08 9:17 AM
marec said...
I like the back-this design feature adds some movement to the jacket. Beautiful jacket, fabric and work!
9/29/08 9:30 AM
Barbara V said...
It looks great, the fabric is beautiful, more so in person (I wanted to steal it when I saw it!) Great job, now it's perfect for fall and winter.
9/29/08 10:18 AM
Mahler said...
What an interesting fabric. The colour is very "fall", or at least here in Eastern Canada where leaves are dark red at this time of the year. Another fantastic creation coming from your sewing room.
9/29/08 12:21 PM
Luckylibbet said...
After looking at the line drawings, I don't think the back is supposed to swing open as much as it is for you - I wonder if the design assumes less curve over the hip/fanny than most of us have? Love your choice of color and fabric - they look awesome on you!
9/29/08 1:04 PM
Collette McManus said...
Ann, I find that "edgestitching" the inside of the pleat (right sides together on the inside of the garment) helps it stay looking more like a pleat. But you probably already knew that since you are such an awesome sewing artist. Lovely jacket! I always llook forward to seeing what's new in your closet! THANKS for the inspirations.
9/29/08 5:06 PM
Ann Smith said...
Thanks for the tip Collette but I already tried that. I think it may be related to the design. I notice that none of the photos of it on the SW website show the back, plus when I saw Linda Lee wearing it she wore the other version without the pleat/vent.
9/29/08 5:23 PM
Ann Smith said...

9/29/08 6:30 PM
Ann Smith said...

9/29/08 6:31 PM
Karen8320 said...
Ann, everything about this jacket looks great. I actually really like the back, which gives the jacket an air of uniqueness. It looks great on you! Well done!
9/29/08 9:00 PM
denisedh said...
love that fabric and the style of the jacket is great imo! thanks for another great review
9/29/08 10:48 PM
Karine said...
I love your Zona jacket - you did a great job. I have this pattern and have been hoping someone would review it. Your fabric choice is just perfect for this. You might call Linda Lee and ask her about the back. She's always very helpful.
9/30/08 10:03 AM
dresscode said...
I'm half way through this pattern (UFO)...made the pleat version and had to stop near the end of the pleat steps...have had trouble figuring out what I've done and what I need to do on the instructions. My opinion is whatever one does...don't stop half-way through the pleat steps...my mistake! Cross-country move later...where was I? Your version is beautiful!
9/30/08 10:37 AM
cmarie12 said...
It is a beautiful jacket despite your concerns about the back pleat! Hopefully in time it will grow on you!
9/30/08 7:15 PM
marthamyers said...
Gorgeous jacket. Thanks for the review. The zona jacket reminds me a lot of the zigzag jacket, including the back vent. The unusual seaming is probably different from the zigzag though. As always, you've created a lovely garment, inspiring me to make another SW pattern.
10/1/08 11:37 AM
Athene said...
The jacket is gorgeous - fabric, style and finishing. I like the back pleat.
10/1/08 8:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

McCall's 6408

photo
by: globalgran

Review
Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2006-21

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Petite Plus D202 DVD

Buy Now
Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Buy Now