SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2880 (Belleville SassoonMisses Dress)

12 more reviews
Viewed 1138 times 
Reviewed by:arianamaniacs
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About arianamaniacsstarstarstarstar
Austria
Member since: 6/11/04
Reviews written: 194
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 54 people
patterns reviewed: 187
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/30/08 7:37 AM
Last Updated:9/30/08 8:02 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Graciella Maria said...
Your dress is absolutely lovely! I'm making this pattern for my neice. I'm using white lace over ivory, as she wants a two-tone wedding dress. I agree that this pattern is one size smaller. I'm making her a size larger for the bodice, with the smaller size over the 'off the shoulder' area. She loves boning, so it's on the shoulder area also. This is my first wedding dress. Hope it's not my last. Making these beautiful gowns is so much fun.
10/19/14 2:46 PM
canyonlady67 said...
I tried sending you a PM, but I'm a free member, so I couldn't send it. I am making this for myself for my wedding gown. Instead of omitting the boning on the arms, I intend to break the boning at the top...by the shoulder seams...and put in a short section of elastic. From your experience, do you think this would work and look ok? Please let me know what you think. Thank you.
5/17/10 8:11 PM
Passion4Sewing said...
Your review has helped me STRONGLY consider using another pattern. I am taking a salsa dancing class and we will have a dinner/dance at the end and I thought I would treat myself to a new dress. Hmmmm...maybe not this one. But then, again, it is GORGEOUS! Nicely done, in spite of all the hours!
9/3/09 8:54 AM
Ariadne said...
really beautiful. Thanks for the time estimate, and the notion of calling in a professional for that one critical bit- the zipper.
5/18/09 2:26 PM
novice1mom said...
wow!! It came out very beutiful indeed. Exactly like the pic on the pattern
11/4/08 12:26 PM
AnneM said...
Very nice, your efforts gave good results. (Silk chiffon probably would have been stronger. Perhaps it wa because it was a big snug.) As an A cup, I generally find stles like this don't work for me. But really it looks lovely on your friend in the picture. Good for you to call in the professionals rather than get frustrated on the zipper.
10/19/08 11:05 AM
Blooms said...
Just gorgeous. Well done
10/5/08 9:03 PM
cindyann said...
Gorgeous dress!
10/1/08 8:13 AM
Kitty Couture said...
Stunning dress!
10/1/08 4:57 AM
Nancy Anne said...
You were so brave to actually attempt and then complete a Vogue formal, IMHO. And it turned out just beautiful, despite all off your issues. Just curious- where did you finally wind up finding fabric for it?
9/30/08 6:11 PM
Twinset said...
I've always admired this pattern! I think you're very brave and courageous to have attempted it, and the great results are certainly worth all the time and patience you put in it. It's a great dress!
9/30/08 5:18 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
WOW!!! What a BEAUTIFUL dress!!! You did an excellent job!!!
9/30/08 5:01 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Very beautiful dress, and tons of work which makes you a very good friend, indeed. Photo still not working but looks like it might be a photo site glitch. I had never heard of Belleville Sassoon patterns but if this is an example, wow! Lovely, Lily
9/30/08 2:33 PM
arianamaniacs said...
Unfortunately, I sewed this dress in summer 2007, when there weren't any reviews for it. I am just a little tardy in writing my own review ;) It seems Geocities was doing some maintenance, the picture should be viewable now...
9/30/08 1:21 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
OMG! It's the most gorgeous dress ever. I am so impressed. Wonderful sewing.
9/30/08 1:11 PM
wendlesue said...
I soooooo love this dress. Just beautiful! BTW A previous reviewer who made the dress also removed the boning. I think she said that elastic worked well to keep things in place, and was softer and more comfy than the boning over the shoulders.
9/30/08 11:32 AM
KrystalL said...
Gorgeous!
9/30/08 11:23 AM
Annette1 said...
Oh my GOSH, you went to a LOT of work on this BEAUTIFUL dress! I'm always SO intrigued by the Belleville Sassoon patterns. They're the cream of the crop, as far as I'm concerned. I wish I could get the picture to come up bigger, but I'll try again later. It looks just BEAUTIFUL. You've got one VERY LUCKY friend. :o)
9/30/08 11:09 AM
Terri A said...
Lots of work - great job! The color is wonderful.
9/30/08 10:25 AM
dbsewer said...
I can't pull the picture up but from the thumbnail it looks gorgeous.
9/30/08 8:57 AM
Marji said...
Very impressive, especially that you made this for a friend. Wonderfully done, and extremely generous. (BTW, your picture link is not working.)
9/30/08 8:57 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Simplicity 2728

photo
by: Pamaro

Review
Kitschy Coo Lady Skater Dress

photo
by: 21wale

Review
Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Buy Now