Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2562 (Women's Polo Shirts) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1039 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
Reviewed by:PhyllisC
photo
About PhyllisCstarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 8/2/02
Reviews written: 202
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 81 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/5/08 10:48 AM
Last Updated:10/5/08 3:44 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.75     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
Terrific top-I love the main fabric and the contrast fabric together. Great job on the collar-it looks perfect. Thanks for the details on SA in the review, and the tip on marking when making a stand collar.
10/5/08 11:07 AM
LindsayT said...
Oh, this turned out great! Good tips on the collar. Given your endorsement, Phyllis, I'm definitely going to check out Jalie patterns for my knit tops.
10/5/08 11:07 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Another pattern I've had for ages, but haven't gotten around to. Now that you've test-driven it for us, maybe it's time.... And you're right - basic, Lands End style, but your fabric choice makes all the difference.
10/5/08 11:11 AM
Christas said...
This knit is perfect for this ... great looking top!
10/5/08 11:13 AM
MissCelie said...
I'm so not a polo shirt person because they always seem so basic. Yours, I LOVE! I'm also digging how you got a totally RTW look with the collar. Who says there are things you can't make at home!
10/5/08 12:36 PM
michellep74 said...
Add me to the list of "I've had this pattern for a while but haven't sewn it up yet." I love the funky print you used with this--it really makes a cute, unexpected polo.
10/5/08 1:33 PM
Mary Nanna said...
I have just made the kwik sew version of this. I hear your placat and raise you lots of centre front puckers! It requires a degree of accuracy I have never needed before. I was out by a mere 1 mm (1/25 inch) inserting the woven placat into the stretch knit and it shows in a little tuck either side! Being smack bang centre front does not help the cause... thanks for the tips.. gives me some ideas for next time.
10/5/08 2:58 PM
Heatherrique said...
Sharp looking shirt, Phyllis!
10/5/08 2:59 PM
shesflipped said...
Your top turned out perfectly! I love the print with the solid collar! I've had this pattern for ages, but, your review may have just inspired me to give it a try. Thanks for sharing your wonderful top and great review.
10/5/08 4:14 PM
Sandi S said...
This looks fantastic! I've been thinking about getting this pattern - just might have to do it now that I've seen how nice this looks.
10/5/08 7:06 PM
Kbenco said...
Very smart, and a fabulous review, thank you.
10/5/08 8:57 PM
Lori V said...
Very nice top, I like the contrast.
10/5/08 11:25 PM
Elke said...
Looks great and thanks for the helpful review.
10/6/08 8:37 AM
cindyann said...
Fantastic looking shirt, Phyllis! Very, very helpful review!
10/6/08 10:02 AM
Amanda S. said...
What a great top! I love the crisp white collar and your fabric choice. Nice job!
10/6/08 11:24 AM
Deepika said...
Great top Phyllis. Another Jalie staple. I really have to sew this one.
10/6/08 11:28 AM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks great!
10/6/08 6:15 PM
chrisquilts_2 said...
Thanks for the review and the nudge. Mine is complete all the way to the collar stand and I am completely stuck. I'll pull out the pattern and see if fresh eyes makes all clear. thanks again.
10/7/08 1:41 PM
candyo said...
I thought I hated polo shirts, but I like this!!
10/15/08 9:30 PM
AnneM said...
Very professional looking, of course! Jalie is coming out with more basic styles in addition to the sewing / sport styles (and some very cute ones, also).
10/20/08 8:48 PM
Cultured Purl said...
Thanks for the great review! You top is very cute! The reason I choose this pattern was b/c I have lots of fabric in my stash( from years ago) that is high quality but does not have the lycra of today's fabrics and I was looking for something that is a step above the average T to make some shirts , this fit the bill! I like the fact that it can still be current , and smart looking yet the collar adds a nice touch And it IS just like some shirt I did purhase from LE a year ago! I think you hit the nail right on the head! It will be one of the first patterns I tackle after I make some lingerie!
2/26/10 5:51 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Violette Field Threads Emmaline Maxi Dress
photo
Review by newmama on 6/23/12
Read Review

Jeans for Real People DVD Set
Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)
Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Elaina Pintuck Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Elaina Pintuck Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)
Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2010-132
photo
Review by SewingandS... on 1/11/12
Read Review

Simplicity 4647 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Simplicity 4647 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8926 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8926 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us