SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2562 (Women's Polo Shirts)

14 more reviews
Viewed 1042 times 
Reviewed by:PhyllisC
photo

 
 
About PhyllisCstarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 8/2/02
Reviews written: 202
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 81 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/5/08 10:48 AM
Last Updated:10/5/08 3:44 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
Terrific top-I love the main fabric and the contrast fabric together. Great job on the collar-it looks perfect. Thanks for the details on SA in the review, and the tip on marking when making a stand collar.
10/5/08 11:07 AM
LindsayT said...
Oh, this turned out great! Good tips on the collar. Given your endorsement, Phyllis, I'm definitely going to check out Jalie patterns for my knit tops.
10/5/08 11:07 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Another pattern I've had for ages, but haven't gotten around to. Now that you've test-driven it for us, maybe it's time.... And you're right - basic, Lands End style, but your fabric choice makes all the difference.
10/5/08 11:11 AM
Christas said...
This knit is perfect for this ... great looking top!
10/5/08 11:13 AM
MissCelie said...
I'm so not a polo shirt person because they always seem so basic. Yours, I LOVE! I'm also digging how you got a totally RTW look with the collar. Who says there are things you can't make at home!
10/5/08 12:36 PM
michellep74 said...
Add me to the list of "I've had this pattern for a while but haven't sewn it up yet." I love the funky print you used with this--it really makes a cute, unexpected polo.
10/5/08 1:33 PM
Mary Nanna said...
I have just made the kwik sew version of this. I hear your placat and raise you lots of centre front puckers! It requires a degree of accuracy I have never needed before. I was out by a mere 1 mm (1/25 inch) inserting the woven placat into the stretch knit and it shows in a little tuck either side! Being smack bang centre front does not help the cause... thanks for the tips.. gives me some ideas for next time.
10/5/08 2:58 PM
Heatherrique said...
Sharp looking shirt, Phyllis!
10/5/08 2:59 PM
shesflipped said...
Your top turned out perfectly! I love the print with the solid collar! I've had this pattern for ages, but, your review may have just inspired me to give it a try. Thanks for sharing your wonderful top and great review.
10/5/08 4:14 PM
Sandi S said...
This looks fantastic! I've been thinking about getting this pattern - just might have to do it now that I've seen how nice this looks.
10/5/08 7:06 PM
Kbenco said...
Very smart, and a fabulous review, thank you.
10/5/08 8:57 PM
Lori V said...
Very nice top, I like the contrast.
10/5/08 11:25 PM
Elke said...
Looks great and thanks for the helpful review.
10/6/08 8:37 AM
cindyann said...
Fantastic looking shirt, Phyllis! Very, very helpful review!
10/6/08 10:02 AM
Amanda S. said...
What a great top! I love the crisp white collar and your fabric choice. Nice job!
10/6/08 11:24 AM
Deepika said...
Great top Phyllis. Another Jalie staple. I really have to sew this one.
10/6/08 11:28 AM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks great!
10/6/08 6:15 PM
chrisquilts_2 said...
Thanks for the review and the nudge. Mine is complete all the way to the collar stand and I am completely stuck. I'll pull out the pattern and see if fresh eyes makes all clear. thanks again.
10/7/08 1:41 PM
candyo said...
I thought I hated polo shirts, but I like this!!
10/15/08 9:30 PM
AnneM said...
Very professional looking, of course! Jalie is coming out with more basic styles in addition to the sewing / sport styles (and some very cute ones, also).
10/20/08 8:48 PM
Cultured Purl said...
Thanks for the great review! You top is very cute! The reason I choose this pattern was b/c I have lots of fabric in my stash( from years ago) that is high quality but does not have the lycra of today's fabrics and I was looking for something that is a step above the average T to make some shirts , this fit the bill! I like the fact that it can still be current , and smart looking yet the collar adds a nice touch And it IS just like some shirt I did purhase from LE a year ago! I think you hit the nail right on the head! It will be one of the first patterns I tackle after I make some lingerie!
2/26/10 5:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

New Look 6026

photo
by: Sister F

Review
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Buy Now
DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

Buy Now