SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2008-115 

2 more reviews
Viewed 540 times 
Reviewed by:jent
photo

 
 
About jentstar
Member since: 12/3/06
Reviews written: 36
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 33
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/13/08 6:31 PM
Last Updated:10/13/08 8:06 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew4Fun said...
Great jacket and I love your fabric choice. It's most unexpected which I love! Great job on the underlining and your first welt pockets. The whole jacket is beautifully finished.
10/13/08 6:40 PM
sewtime said...
Wow! What a beautiful jacket, really love it.
10/13/08 6:40 PM
ElsaD said...
Your jacket looks good. Great job!
10/13/08 6:42 PM
michellep74 said...
Very cute jacket! Congrats on your first BWOF and on conquering a challenging 3-dot pattern!
10/13/08 6:42 PM
Kay Y said...
You did a fabulous job on this jacket with some really interesting fabric. It looks great!
10/13/08 7:11 PM
Karendee said...
IMO, this is one of the cutest garments to come to PR. I wish I had this edition of Burda, since my subscription started later than Feb. You are certainly to be congratulated for such a fantastic job of making this! I also thought your review was quite thorough, especially with the pictures of each stage.
10/13/08 7:25 PM
AnitaJ said...
Awesome jacket! Your fabric choice and color gives it such a fun and happy tone.
10/13/08 7:25 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great looking jacket. Love the pleats in front and the pockets, too.
10/13/08 7:46 PM
Christas said...
What a great jacket! This looks absolutely adorable on you! Love your fabric choice.
10/13/08 9:07 PM
Annette1 said...
This is SO dang cute, and you look GREAT in it! EXCELLENT workmanship, too!
10/13/08 10:32 PM
Seaspur said...
I love your jacket! When I first saw the pictures I thought you had used a coated fabric, so I was surprised when I read what fabric you actually used. Kudos to you for tackling such a difficult pattern for your first BWOF.
10/13/08 11:31 PM
SusiM said...
Spectacular job navigating BWOF instructions. Your jacket is sharp!
10/14/08 1:08 AM
Clareew said...
That is so cute, well done.
10/14/08 3:50 AM
Karen6790 said...
What a great jacket to see on a dreary morning - cheered me right up. Love the fabric, and congrats on those welt pockets.
10/14/08 8:15 AM
jent said...
Thank you for the wonderful comments. You are all such an encouragement to me! All of you PR members just make me want to keep sewing and sewing and sewing...
10/14/08 8:28 AM
carolynw said...
This is beautiful - great work and your fabric choice makes this a sure head turner
10/14/08 9:21 AM
Fran G said...
Well, I am impressed! My first BWOF was a 2 seam skirt!!! This jacket is very modern and trendy..and making in your fabric choice brings it to another level. I love it. I was alittle concerned with the puffy collar, but in the right fabric it works so well. Wonderful review, detailed and full of great tips!
10/14/08 12:16 PM
shesflipped said...
This is the cutest jacket ever! I love the style and your fabric choice is perfect! It looks adorable on you! P.S. It will also make you easy to spot if I ever see you in G.R.~it's one of a kind!
10/14/08 1:19 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
I can't believe this is your first BWOF pattern, you did an amazing job. You've reminded me I have this exact jacket in my UFO's and I really must finish it now the weather is cooling down.
10/14/08 7:58 PM
Markie1 said...
You should be very proud of yourself...this is not an easy jacket and you made it beautifully. It's such a happy fabric, I love it!!!1
10/14/08 9:26 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Wow, what a great job you did! Really cute.
10/14/08 10:51 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Absolutely charming jacket, jent, and you've constructed it expertly. Shockingly difficult project for an Advanced Beginner, and you nailed it! As to how to construct a separating zipper (or any other detail), just keep doing what you did; i.e., lay the pieces on top of each other as they're supposed to be in finished state, and connect in any way that makes sense to you. And voila! You've mastered advanced sewing. Just like that. Lovely, Lily
10/15/08 2:06 PM
rozzybabe said...
I've sewn for many years, & I would not have tried this pattern, although I'm adventurous! I think you'd better notch yourself up from advanced beginner!! Super, detailed job all around, with not a lot of back up sewing books to help. You've now pushed me to try something way above what I think my level is, thanks a lot!!
10/15/08 8:19 PM
Frogstitcher said...
The minute I saw your photo I knew which pattern this was. I've had my eye on this one too. Your jacket is very stylish. Great review and lovely jacket.
10/16/08 9:21 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Neat project, luv the fabric. Great job
10/16/08 4:31 PM
Heatherrique said...
Chic, cheerful, and beautifully made! Your version is so much more enticing than Burdie's!
10/16/08 5:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Butterick 5490

photo
by: sewdc

Review
Simplicity 2648

photo
by: SewButterf...

Review
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Buy Now