Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2008-115 - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 538 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:jent
photo
Friend of PR
About jentstar
Member since: 12/3/06
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/13/08 6:31 PM
Last Updated:10/13/08 8:06 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew4Fun said...
Great jacket and I love your fabric choice. It's most unexpected which I love! Great job on the underlining and your first welt pockets. The whole jacket is beautifully finished.
10/13/08 6:40 PM
sewtime said...
Wow! What a beautiful jacket, really love it.
10/13/08 6:40 PM
ElsaD said...
Your jacket looks good. Great job!
10/13/08 6:42 PM
michellep74 said...
Very cute jacket! Congrats on your first BWOF and on conquering a challenging 3-dot pattern!
10/13/08 6:42 PM
Kay Y said...
You did a fabulous job on this jacket with some really interesting fabric. It looks great!
10/13/08 7:11 PM
Karendee said...
IMO, this is one of the cutest garments to come to PR. I wish I had this edition of Burda, since my subscription started later than Feb. You are certainly to be congratulated for such a fantastic job of making this! I also thought your review was quite thorough, especially with the pictures of each stage.
10/13/08 7:25 PM
AnitaJ said...
Awesome jacket! Your fabric choice and color gives it such a fun and happy tone.
10/13/08 7:25 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great looking jacket. Love the pleats in front and the pockets, too.
10/13/08 7:46 PM
Christas said...
What a great jacket! This looks absolutely adorable on you! Love your fabric choice.
10/13/08 9:07 PM
Annette1 said...
This is SO dang cute, and you look GREAT in it! EXCELLENT workmanship, too!
10/13/08 10:32 PM
Seaspur said...
I love your jacket! When I first saw the pictures I thought you had used a coated fabric, so I was surprised when I read what fabric you actually used. Kudos to you for tackling such a difficult pattern for your first BWOF.
10/13/08 11:31 PM
SusiM said...
Spectacular job navigating BWOF instructions. Your jacket is sharp!
10/14/08 1:08 AM
Clareew said...
That is so cute, well done.
10/14/08 3:50 AM
Karen6790 said...
What a great jacket to see on a dreary morning - cheered me right up. Love the fabric, and congrats on those welt pockets.
10/14/08 8:15 AM
jent said...
Thank you for the wonderful comments. You are all such an encouragement to me! All of you PR members just make me want to keep sewing and sewing and sewing...
10/14/08 8:28 AM
carolynw said...
This is beautiful - great work and your fabric choice makes this a sure head turner
10/14/08 9:21 AM
Fran G said...
Well, I am impressed! My first BWOF was a 2 seam skirt!!! This jacket is very modern and trendy..and making in your fabric choice brings it to another level. I love it. I was alittle concerned with the puffy collar, but in the right fabric it works so well. Wonderful review, detailed and full of great tips!
10/14/08 12:16 PM
shesflipped said...
This is the cutest jacket ever! I love the style and your fabric choice is perfect! It looks adorable on you! P.S. It will also make you easy to spot if I ever see you in G.R.~it's one of a kind!
10/14/08 1:19 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
I can't believe this is your first BWOF pattern, you did an amazing job. You've reminded me I have this exact jacket in my UFO's and I really must finish it now the weather is cooling down.
10/14/08 7:58 PM
Markie1 said...
You should be very proud of yourself...this is not an easy jacket and you made it beautifully. It's such a happy fabric, I love it!!!1
10/14/08 9:26 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Wow, what a great job you did! Really cute.
10/14/08 10:51 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Absolutely charming jacket, jent, and you've constructed it expertly. Shockingly difficult project for an Advanced Beginner, and you nailed it! As to how to construct a separating zipper (or any other detail), just keep doing what you did; i.e., lay the pieces on top of each other as they're supposed to be in finished state, and connect in any way that makes sense to you. And voila! You've mastered advanced sewing. Just like that. Lovely, Lily
10/15/08 2:06 PM
rozzybabe said...
I've sewn for many years, & I would not have tried this pattern, although I'm adventurous! I think you'd better notch yourself up from advanced beginner!! Super, detailed job all around, with not a lot of back up sewing books to help. You've now pushed me to try something way above what I think my level is, thanks a lot!!
10/15/08 8:19 PM
Frogstitcher said...
The minute I saw your photo I knew which pattern this was. I've had my eye on this one too. Your jacket is very stylish. Great review and lovely jacket.
10/16/08 9:21 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Neat project, luv the fabric. Great job
10/16/08 4:31 PM
Heatherrique said...
Chic, cheerful, and beautifully made! Your version is so much more enticing than Burdie's!
10/16/08 5:55 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Jalie 2908
photo
Review by Mazzygirl on 8/25/10
Read Review

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Veronica Pocketbook
Veronica Pocketbook

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Sundress Digital Pattern
Salme Sundress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Leighanna Peasant Top Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Leighanna Peasant Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2009-101
photo
Review by Kim12469 on 11/27/09
Read Review

New Look 6188 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6188 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6531 Pattern
New Look 6531 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us