Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: 1018 (Riviera Mini-Midi-Maxi Cardi) - Type:Easy to Sew    printable version
Viewed 556 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:SexiSadi
photo
Friend of PR
About SexiSadistarstarstar
SC USA
Member since: 5/10/05
Reviews written: 134
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 108
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/15/08 11:59 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sue Anfang said...
Sorry it didn't work out, but thanks for the review because this is on my list to sew for this fall/winter!
10/15/08 12:49 PM
sewtime said...
It is pretty,but it is frustrating when a pattern (especially and expensive one) doesn't turn out the way you wanted it. Will be looking forward to the next one.
10/15/08 1:10 PM
michellep74 said...
In general, I've had good luck with HotPatterns, but I did run into a similar issue with the banding on a cardigan pattern that I made up being too short. I'd email them and let them know what you ran into--they're usually pretty responsive to that sort of things, and I know that they've fixed drafting errors in later printing runs for other patterns.
10/15/08 1:18 PM
maryfrana said...
Thanks for reviewing this pattern which I had on my "maybe buy it" list. It's really disappointing when the drafting is off. Love the color, though.
10/15/08 2:39 PM
moushka said...
This was on my "maybe" list for the fall because it's such a cute style. Thanks for the review. I'll wait until HP has a chance to address the pattern errors. I never mind paying a premium for great quality, but when the pieces don't even match up, it's a little much.
10/15/08 5:18 PM
Annette1 said...
You've managed to find a way around the drafting errors to produce a lovely cardigan, which looks quite nice on you! I hear you on the drafting errors/price of pattern issue. Matter of fact, I think they should be drafted correctly at any price, but it certainly stings a little more when you've paid the full retail price. I ALSO think we should get separate lining pieces, and if the same pattern piece has to be cut out eight times, then we should get AT LEAST four of the same pattern piece! Demanding, yes, but why shouldn't I be? :o) BEAUTIFUL cardigan, despite the challenges!
10/15/08 5:34 PM
carolynw said...
Am so glad it turned out beautifully for you - sounds like it was a real headache to get the pieces lined up - not what you expect from specialty patterns - or any pattern for that matter,
10/15/08 6:54 PM
cindyann said...
I'm so glad you made this pattern and saved me from purchasing it. Love the colors you chose. I hadn't looked closely at the line drawing and didn't know it has raglan sleeves which often don't work for me. I only have one HP and I didn't have much luck with it.
10/16/08 8:10 AM
AnneM said...
Good info. I've seen some other problems in reviews on HP patterns, but some of them have worked out very well and they tend to have nice styles. I think your cardigan is very cute, at least in the picture. Very good info on the drafting problems; hope people remember to check you review before they try to make this themselves!
11/5/08 8:05 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Vogue Patterns 8251 Misses' tops
photo
Review by Erica B. on 12/4/06
Read Review

Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5391 Misses Shorts
photo
Review by QuiltSewSe... on 9/27/08
Read Review

Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern
Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 651 Pattern
Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns Hazel Pattern (1021)
Colette Patterns Hazel Pattern (1021)

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6407 Pattern
New Look 6407 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us