Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8536 (MISSES' TOP) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1929 times 41 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 36 people   
Reviewed by:nancy2001
photo
Friend of PR
About nancy2001starstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 12/3/05
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 130 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/21/08 5:59 PM
Last Updated:11/2/08 6:58 AM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $22.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kaitlinnegan said...
The link to your main photo doesn't seem to work, but I got to it via this address: http://i269.photobucket.com/albums/jj46/nancynancy2001/PA210673.jpg Your top looks great! Thanks so much for your review! I've been contemplating getting this one, so the info on the V neckline is much appreciated. I'm not sure I would be so patient/persistent - I'll have to poke around for tips on sewing V necklines on knits before I attempt this one.
10/21/08 6:07 PM
nancy2001 said...
Kaitlin, I fixed the link, so the photo should work now. I'm glad you found the review helpful. I'm sure other people have posted information on sewing vee necks, but I couldn't find any.
10/21/08 6:13 PM
appleton78 said...
Nancy..Great review! Looking at the pattern I would have thought "easy peasy" Thanks for the heads up on the neckline. You have given fabulous tips and your top looks great!
10/21/08 6:14 PM
Rhoda K said...
Love the color you chose. I'll bet it looks good on. I love V-necks but haven't made one in a while, but looking at the line drawing, it shows gathers at the sides, so that might work for us full busted folks. I may give it a try. Thanks for your great review.
10/21/08 6:15 PM
sewtime said...
Very pretty tee! You do such a good sewing job on them!
10/21/08 8:28 PM
Re Becca said...
Hmm, I have the Jalie classic V pattern, but I know enough about knits to know that it isn't always as easy as it looks. I am going to have to get some of your tools and try it your way before I ruin some fabric.
10/21/08 8:49 PM
Heatherrique said...
Vibrantly gorgeous, Nancy! Beautifully made!
10/22/08 0:00 AM
ajax said...
Thanks for reviewing this and the heads up about sewing a V neck. This pattern is just what I have been looking for to try and develop a TNT tee. Yours looks beautifully made, and the colour is lovely.
10/22/08 4:54 AM
Fran G said...
Fabulous review loaded with helpful info! This was the "morph" to beat all "morphs!" Absolutely perfect neckline in a gorgeous color.
10/22/08 8:03 AM
cindyann said...
Great color and fantastic review. Thanks for the tips on the fabulous vee neckline.
10/22/08 8:54 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Beautiful colour and delightful tee. Despite all the challenges you experienced with the vee, your tee is very professionally sewn. Just a suggestion, you may want to find a v-neck tee from the Kwiksew line of patterns. I have often found them to be so much friendlier and helpful with just this sort of isewing ssue. Lisa
10/22/08 9:22 AM
Obrooks770 said...
Great review. I love this top, great workmanship and I love the color.
10/22/08 10:50 AM
QuiltersFan said...
Great review!
10/22/08 11:36 AM
LindsayT said...
Very professional job.
10/22/08 11:50 AM
Annette1 said...
This is a GREAT t-shirt pattern you've got worked out, and that's a perfect "V" if ever I've seen one!
10/22/08 10:33 PM
nancy2001 said...
Thank you all for your generous compliments. I'm glad you found this review helpful.
10/22/08 11:26 PM
nancy2001 said...
duplicate
10/22/08 11:27 PM
Em's Summer said...
Excellent! Looks great! And it's so well made, too! Just excellent!
10/24/08 10:12 AM
movac said...
Oh this color is to die for, I always call it periwinkle & I'm always searching for that color in soft knits. The T-shirt is pure perfection. Good job Nancy, sorry I missed it earlier. I picked this pattern up at Hancock's yesterday.
10/26/08 10:08 AM
ukdame said...
Very nicely explained and presented.
11/1/08 8:36 PM
Gelbean said...
Excellent job on both tops Nancy. You have inspired me to go ahead and add this pattern to my stash.
11/2/08 7:19 AM
ryansmumAria said...
Wonderful thorough review. I always learn so much from you. Can you tell us more about fusible tape. Is it worth 10 dollars? Thanks Nancy! I also am happy to learn about using steam a seam on the hem. I was thinking about that, not knowing if that would work or not. As for that V, I still, for the life of me, can't get it perfected. I loved your four letter word reference, too funny. I think of you as the woman of grace and then to add that picture to my head gave me a good chuckle!! Has anyone figured out the trick to those v necks? I just sticka flower or something when I have mangled it.
11/2/08 9:21 AM
zinnia said...
Thank you for your excellent review! Your top is beautiful!
11/2/08 10:37 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Excellent, very thorough review. What a great looking top!
11/2/08 11:44 AM
nancy2001 said...
Ryansmum, the fusible tape is lightweight woven fusible interfacing cut into a 3/8" wide strip. One version is cut on the bias the other is cut along the grain. As far as whether it's worth $10, it's hard to say. I bought a straight roll and a bias roll as part of a birthday splurge and got free shipping and 15% off at fabric.com. I wouldn't call either one a must-have like Wonder Tape, but I think it's worth having a roll of each in my stash for those odd fiddly projects that pop up from time to time. As far as the Steam-A-Seam goes, I also think it's worth having both Steam-A-Seam2 Regular and Steam-A-Seam2 Lite in the half inch width. They're not expensive, and you can find them on sale at Joann all the time.
11/2/08 11:45 AM
nancy2001 said...
duplicate
11/2/08 12:02 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Nancy, somehow I missed your first review on the V neck - this review is one of the most helpful I've EVER seen here on PR! Both the crossover and the V neck look thoroughly professional, like true high end RTW - but it is your thoroughness in reviewing HOW you got there that is utterly amazing. Thank you, thank you, thank you!
11/2/08 12:25 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Nancy, yet again, an absolutely pristine top, of your gorgeous cornflower knit. Your crossover neckline looks absolutely perfect, and that's no easy trick. Congratulations on both v-neck and crossover neck - both lovely, Lily
11/2/08 3:52 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Oh Nancy, I love your garments and reviews!! My neckline would have been all wonky and threadbare if I would have tried (and re-tried) that v-neck as you did!! You are a patient woman! My tries at v-necks have been failures....thanks for the support and the education about how to do this the right way. Great description of the fusible tape in the comments also! Thank you! Carla
11/2/08 5:19 PM
tlmck3 said...
I just happened to read Phyllis C's review of the Jalie tee where she says the directions for a V neck are foolproof. Jalie's directions are available in pdf here: http://www.jalie.com/sewingpatterns/patterncovers/pack/2805.pdf It's a lapped V but I remember doing this on the first Jalie Tee pattern as my first project in 25 years and it didn't come out too badly.
11/2/08 8:02 PM
nancy2001 said...
Thank you again for your kind comments about the crossover top. And Terry, thanks for the link to the clear illustrations on Jalie's website.
11/3/08 7:21 AM
AnneM said...
Great style, lovely looking top. Congrats on your top, and thanks for the detailed review (and comparison to Jalie's top).
11/18/08 6:34 PM
marjenann said...
Another incredible garment. I really appreciate you great reviews.
11/24/08 5:07 PM
Natalie D. said...
I'm so glad I read this before making the V-neck version of this pattern! Very helpful review... and amusing too :)
5/2/09 10:26 AM
shazam410 said...
Thanks for all the great tips regarding the vee. Very helpful. Lovely color and excellent job!
4/2/14 7:09 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Kwik Sew 3336 Misses Skirts
photo
Review by ClaireF in... on 8/8/09
Read Review

Jackets for Real People DVD
Jackets for Real People DVD

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern
Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern
Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Lucy Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Lucy Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6108
photo
Review by grays08 on 6/13/13
Read Review

Vogue 1388 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 1388 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7880 Pattern
Burda 7880 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us