SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8536 (MISSES' TOP)

46 more reviews
Viewed 1968 times 
Reviewed by:nancy2001
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About nancy2001starstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 12/3/05
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 132 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/21/08 5:59 PM
Last Updated:11/2/08 6:58 AM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 36 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
shazam410 said...
Thanks for all the great tips regarding the vee. Very helpful. Lovely color and excellent job!
4/2/14 7:09 PM
Natalie D. said...
I'm so glad I read this before making the V-neck version of this pattern! Very helpful review... and amusing too :)
5/2/09 10:26 AM
marjenann said...
Another incredible garment. I really appreciate you great reviews.
11/24/08 5:07 PM
AnneM said...
Great style, lovely looking top. Congrats on your top, and thanks for the detailed review (and comparison to Jalie's top).
11/18/08 6:34 PM
nancy2001 said...
Thank you again for your kind comments about the crossover top. And Terry, thanks for the link to the clear illustrations on Jalie's website.
11/3/08 7:21 AM
tlmck3 said...
I just happened to read Phyllis C's review of the Jalie tee where she says the directions for a V neck are foolproof. Jalie's directions are available in pdf here: http://www.jalie.com/sewingpatterns/patterncovers/pack/2805.pdf It's a lapped V but I remember doing this on the first Jalie Tee pattern as my first project in 25 years and it didn't come out too badly.
11/2/08 8:02 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Oh Nancy, I love your garments and reviews!! My neckline would have been all wonky and threadbare if I would have tried (and re-tried) that v-neck as you did!! You are a patient woman! My tries at v-necks have been failures....thanks for the support and the education about how to do this the right way. Great description of the fusible tape in the comments also! Thank you! Carla
11/2/08 5:19 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Nancy, yet again, an absolutely pristine top, of your gorgeous cornflower knit. Your crossover neckline looks absolutely perfect, and that's no easy trick. Congratulations on both v-neck and crossover neck - both lovely, Lily
11/2/08 3:52 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Nancy, somehow I missed your first review on the V neck - this review is one of the most helpful I've EVER seen here on PR! Both the crossover and the V neck look thoroughly professional, like true high end RTW - but it is your thoroughness in reviewing HOW you got there that is utterly amazing. Thank you, thank you, thank you!
11/2/08 12:25 PM
nancy2001 said...
duplicate
11/2/08 12:02 PM
nancy2001 said...
Ryansmum, the fusible tape is lightweight woven fusible interfacing cut into a 3/8" wide strip. One version is cut on the bias the other is cut along the grain. As far as whether it's worth $10, it's hard to say. I bought a straight roll and a bias roll as part of a birthday splurge and got free shipping and 15% off at fabric.com. I wouldn't call either one a must-have like Wonder Tape, but I think it's worth having a roll of each in my stash for those odd fiddly projects that pop up from time to time. As far as the Steam-A-Seam goes, I also think it's worth having both Steam-A-Seam2 Regular and Steam-A-Seam2 Lite in the half inch width. They're not expensive, and you can find them on sale at Joann all the time.
11/2/08 11:45 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Excellent, very thorough review. What a great looking top!
11/2/08 11:44 AM
zinnia said...
Thank you for your excellent review! Your top is beautiful!
11/2/08 10:37 AM
ryansmumAria said...
Wonderful thorough review. I always learn so much from you. Can you tell us more about fusible tape. Is it worth 10 dollars? Thanks Nancy! I also am happy to learn about using steam a seam on the hem. I was thinking about that, not knowing if that would work or not. As for that V, I still, for the life of me, can't get it perfected. I loved your four letter word reference, too funny. I think of you as the woman of grace and then to add that picture to my head gave me a good chuckle!! Has anyone figured out the trick to those v necks? I just sticka flower or something when I have mangled it.
11/2/08 9:21 AM
Gelbean said...
Excellent job on both tops Nancy. You have inspired me to go ahead and add this pattern to my stash.
11/2/08 7:19 AM
ukdame said...
Very nicely explained and presented.
11/1/08 8:36 PM
movac said...
Oh this color is to die for, I always call it periwinkle & I'm always searching for that color in soft knits. The T-shirt is pure perfection. Good job Nancy, sorry I missed it earlier. I picked this pattern up at Hancock's yesterday.
10/26/08 10:08 AM
Em's Summer said...
Excellent! Looks great! And it's so well made, too! Just excellent!
10/24/08 10:12 AM
nancy2001 said...
duplicate
10/22/08 11:27 PM
nancy2001 said...
Thank you all for your generous compliments. I'm glad you found this review helpful.
10/22/08 11:26 PM
Annette1 said...
This is a GREAT t-shirt pattern you've got worked out, and that's a perfect "V" if ever I've seen one!
10/22/08 10:33 PM
LindsayT said...
Very professional job.
10/22/08 11:50 AM
QuiltersFan said...
Great review!
10/22/08 11:36 AM
Obrooks770 said...
Great review. I love this top, great workmanship and I love the color.
10/22/08 10:50 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Beautiful colour and delightful tee. Despite all the challenges you experienced with the vee, your tee is very professionally sewn. Just a suggestion, you may want to find a v-neck tee from the Kwiksew line of patterns. I have often found them to be so much friendlier and helpful with just this sort of isewing ssue. Lisa
10/22/08 9:22 AM
cindyann said...
Great color and fantastic review. Thanks for the tips on the fabulous vee neckline.
10/22/08 8:54 AM
Fran G said...
Fabulous review loaded with helpful info! This was the "morph" to beat all "morphs!" Absolutely perfect neckline in a gorgeous color.
10/22/08 8:03 AM
ajax said...
Thanks for reviewing this and the heads up about sewing a V neck. This pattern is just what I have been looking for to try and develop a TNT tee. Yours looks beautifully made, and the colour is lovely.
10/22/08 4:54 AM
Heatherrique said...
Vibrantly gorgeous, Nancy! Beautifully made!
10/22/08 0:00 AM
Re Becca said...
Hmm, I have the Jalie classic V pattern, but I know enough about knits to know that it isn't always as easy as it looks. I am going to have to get some of your tools and try it your way before I ruin some fabric.
10/21/08 8:49 PM
sewtime said...
Very pretty tee! You do such a good sewing job on them!
10/21/08 8:28 PM
Rhoda K said...
Love the color you chose. I'll bet it looks good on. I love V-necks but haven't made one in a while, but looking at the line drawing, it shows gathers at the sides, so that might work for us full busted folks. I may give it a try. Thanks for your great review.
10/21/08 6:15 PM
appleton78 said...
Nancy..Great review! Looking at the pattern I would have thought "easy peasy" Thanks for the heads up on the neckline. You have given fabulous tips and your top looks great!
10/21/08 6:14 PM
nancy2001 said...
Kaitlin, I fixed the link, so the photo should work now. I'm glad you found the review helpful. I'm sure other people have posted information on sewing vee necks, but I couldn't find any.
10/21/08 6:13 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
The link to your main photo doesn't seem to work, but I got to it via this address: http://i269.photobucket.com/albums/jj46/nancynancy2001/PA210673.jpg Your top looks great! Thanks so much for your review! I've been contemplating getting this one, so the info on the V neckline is much appreciated. I'm not sure I would be so patient/persistent - I'll have to poke around for tips on sewing V necklines on knits before I attempt this one.
10/21/08 6:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Kwik Sew 2948

photo
by: pdiddly

Review
Pants Sewing DVD

Pants Sewing DVD

More Info
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Baby Wardrobe Pattern

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Baby Wardrobe Pattern

More Info