Online Sewing Class: Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Simplicity 2258
In this video, you learn how to:
  • Use some of the basic tools
  • Choose fabric
  • Use patterns
  • Measure yourself for patterns
  • Trace and cut out the pattern
  • Lay out and cut out the pattern from fabric
  • Stitch together and press your skirt
You'll also learn about sewing machine features and pattern language and symbols.

Let Deepika demystify the process of sewing for you! Take this class!

Complete List of Videos

  1. Introduction and Tools
  2. Fabric Types
  3. What the Information on the Pattern Envelope Means
  4. Types of Patterns and What the Markings Mean
  5. Taking Body Measurements
  6. Tracing the Patterns and Understanding Markings
  7. Preparing the Fabric, Laying Out the Pattern Pieces, and Cutting Out the Fabric
  8. Getting to Know your Sewing Machine
  9. Sewing the Skirt
">Sewing Basics Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2914 OOP (Sandra Betzina Vest)

Viewed 424 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 92
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 195 people
patterns reviewed: 92
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/23/08 1:50 PM
Last Updated:10/23/08 2:04 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Luckylibbet said... (10/24/08 12:18 PM) Reply
I'll have to check the drawers - one I wanted but haven't purchased! Your warning is so apt! Your version is fabulous - love the quilting to add depth & texture. Zipper is a terrific idea too. Wonderful!
Rustybobn said... (10/24/08 11:18 AM) Reply
Gorgeous vest. I have this pattern and haven't really looked twice at it. I might now, though!
BillieJean said... (10/24/08 6:08 AM) Reply
Beautiful vest! I love your stuff.
Annette1 said... (10/24/08 0:20 AM) Reply
Did someone mention pattern stashing? Count me in! This vest is "TO DIE FOR," as they say. Your combination of fabrics, the sophisticated color, the custom quilting ALL make it truly outstanding. You look like a million bucks in your runway shot. I have to admit I'm jealous -- ha! (I love your haircut too, by the way.)
KarmenG said... (10/23/08 9:50 PM) Reply
Love the look on you - really pretty. I especially like the quilting. What a great idea.
DorothyK said... (10/23/08 9:28 PM) Reply
This vest is amazing. I love the marriage of the two fabrics. The quilting is wonderful. And it looks great on you! You have a very good sense about how to alter a pattern to make it better.
moushka said... (10/23/08 8:19 PM) Reply
Great looking vest with wonderful details. I sometimes wonder if Vogue goes out of its way to make SB's patterns look dowdy on the pattern envelopes out of jealousy. Her patterns are always more interesting than Vogue's interpretations, and despite Vogue's best (or worst, lol) efforts, many of them are bestsellers. You really made the most of this one. Thanks for the review.
carolynw said... (10/23/08 6:18 PM) Reply
Very nice - like the idea of quilting it to backing for a sturdier and warmer vest.
QuiltersFan said... (10/23/08 6:15 PM) Reply
Great vest. I waited too long on this one. Like many of SB patterns - I think they would have sold many more had they had a different photo on the cover. For example, a photo of you and your vest.
Lori V said... (10/23/08 6:01 PM) Reply
Very pretty.
Ann Smith said... (10/23/08 5:14 PM) Reply
Very smart looking with brilliant choice of accent fabric. Love the quilting and zip front.
sewtime said... (10/23/08 4:39 PM) Reply
Very cute, love the detail. You will be a hit at the fundraiser fashion show!!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Other My Childhood Treasures

photo
by: HOWsMom

Review
Simplicity 1539

photo
by: monicawood...

Review
SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

Pattern Details
Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Pattern Details