Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4136 (Wizard of Oz Costumes) thumbsup - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 313 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Peggy L
photo
Friend of PR
About Peggy Lstarstarstar
TN USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 109
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/29/08 2:30 PM
Last Updated:10/29/08 2:35 PM


See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $15.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
heathercampbell29 said...
Great job! That's a super looking costume. Does DD have ruby slippers? :)
10/29/08 3:18 PM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks great!
10/29/08 6:29 PM
Gelbean said...
Great Dorothy costume. I made this for myself several years ago and I wear every year. I found some red patent Mary Janes on sale and painted them with red glitter to make my ruby slippers. Your costume is much better looking than mine. It was one of my first clothing projects. Job well done!
10/29/08 6:33 PM
PegL said...
What an adorable Dorothy! Great job!
10/29/08 7:08 PM
Re Becca said...
That is so cute! That bias insert sounds tricky, This really looks great. All that she needs is Toto, but the owner of the two eyes hiding under the table probably wont go along.
10/29/08 8:03 PM
Annette1 said...
Hey, great minds think alike! My niece is going as Dorothy too, complete with the little basket and ruby slippers and even Toto! :o) I'm sure her costume isn't as nice as this one, though, as she bought it somewhere. :o) Very cute!
10/29/08 8:36 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Peggy, I caught the Dorothy flavor even from the tiny thumbnail photo in the Review Gallery - so authentic! Your DD looks absolutely charming. How nice that she asked you. Lovely, Lily
10/29/08 8:57 PM
KristenI said...
Adorable!
10/29/08 11:01 PM
Peggy L said...
Thanks for the comments - DD bought her wig and Toto from someone on ebay. This whole costume came about because of her awesome red shoes. I hope she gets a better picture on Halloween. And Becki, I didn't even notice her cat hiding under the table.
10/29/08 11:53 PM
slanden99 said...
Great costume!
10/30/08 8:19 AM
CA Eisenhour said...
Very well done! Looks terrific!
10/30/08 2:27 PM
blue mooney said...
What a great mom! I hope DD had a good time at the party - she probably had the BEST costume. It must be fun to work somewhere they actually do things like that!
11/4/08 6:13 PM
maiestia said...
Hi Peggy, Your dorothy dress looks fantastic! I was hoping you'd be able to help me with something; I own this pattern and want to use the 'glenda the good witch' as a base for a fancy dress costume but i got my pattern out the other day and found that i'd lost the pattern piece for the skirt. I know the dimensions as i can measure my dorothy dress, but i need the dimensions of the point that gets cut out the front on the glenda costume. Is there any chance you could tell me how far across and down that curve goes on the pattern piece so i can draft myself a new one? I know you don't know me, but i'm hoping you'd be able to do me this huge favour.
11/5/09 7:03 AM
Larkin said...
Looks great! My 27 year old DD has asked me to make this for an office party! She has a blouse that will work and only needs the apron. Any thoughts - do you remember enough to guess whether or not that would work?
12/5/11 10:33 AM
Peggy L said...
You are half-way there. I would make the gingham as a jumper
12/6/11 7:09 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Burda 7738
photo
Review by HawkeMorni... on 2/16/12
Read Review

Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Music Box Jumper Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Music Box Jumper Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns 1204 Alma
photo
Review by starryfish on 3/20/13
Read Review

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)
Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4686 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Butterick 4686 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $15.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7308 Pattern
Burda 7308 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us