SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4136 (Wizard of Oz Costumes)

6 more reviews
Viewed 329 times 
Reviewed by:Peggy L
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Peggy Lstarstarstar
TN USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 109
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/29/08 2:30 PM
Last Updated:10/29/08 2:35 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
heathercampbell29 said...
Great job! That's a super looking costume. Does DD have ruby slippers? :)
10/29/08 3:18 PM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks great!
10/29/08 6:29 PM
Gelbean said...
Great Dorothy costume. I made this for myself several years ago and I wear every year. I found some red patent Mary Janes on sale and painted them with red glitter to make my ruby slippers. Your costume is much better looking than mine. It was one of my first clothing projects. Job well done!
10/29/08 6:33 PM
PegL said...
What an adorable Dorothy! Great job!
10/29/08 7:08 PM
Re Becca said...
That is so cute! That bias insert sounds tricky, This really looks great. All that she needs is Toto, but the owner of the two eyes hiding under the table probably wont go along.
10/29/08 8:03 PM
Annette1 said...
Hey, great minds think alike! My niece is going as Dorothy too, complete with the little basket and ruby slippers and even Toto! :o) I'm sure her costume isn't as nice as this one, though, as she bought it somewhere. :o) Very cute!
10/29/08 8:36 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Peggy, I caught the Dorothy flavor even from the tiny thumbnail photo in the Review Gallery - so authentic! Your DD looks absolutely charming. How nice that she asked you. Lovely, Lily
10/29/08 8:57 PM
KristenI said...
Adorable!
10/29/08 11:01 PM
Peggy L said...
Thanks for the comments - DD bought her wig and Toto from someone on ebay. This whole costume came about because of her awesome red shoes. I hope she gets a better picture on Halloween. And Becki, I didn't even notice her cat hiding under the table.
10/29/08 11:53 PM
slanden99 said...
Great costume!
10/30/08 8:19 AM
CA Eisenhour said...
Very well done! Looks terrific!
10/30/08 2:27 PM
blue mooney said...
What a great mom! I hope DD had a good time at the party - she probably had the BEST costume. It must be fun to work somewhere they actually do things like that!
11/4/08 6:13 PM
maiestia said...
Hi Peggy, Your dorothy dress looks fantastic! I was hoping you'd be able to help me with something; I own this pattern and want to use the 'glenda the good witch' as a base for a fancy dress costume but i got my pattern out the other day and found that i'd lost the pattern piece for the skirt. I know the dimensions as i can measure my dorothy dress, but i need the dimensions of the point that gets cut out the front on the glenda costume. Is there any chance you could tell me how far across and down that curve goes on the pattern piece so i can draft myself a new one? I know you don't know me, but i'm hoping you'd be able to do me this huge favour.
11/5/09 7:03 AM
Larkin said...
Looks great! My 27 year old DD has asked me to make this for an office party! She has a blouse that will work and only needs the apron. Any thoughts - do you remember enough to guess whether or not that would work?
12/5/11 10:33 AM
Peggy L said...
You are half-way there. I would make the gingham as a jumper
12/6/11 7:09 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2010-7

photo
by: jent

Review
SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Buy Now
Other 0000

photo
by: flyingwind...

Review