SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2065 Couturier OOP (60's Fabiani Mod Dress)

Viewed 412 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 101 people
patterns reviewed: 298
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/3/08 5:22 PM
Last Updated:11/3/08 5:22 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewtime said...
Beautiful!!!
11/3/08 5:38 PM
Squeezylemon said...
As usual a wonderfully original outfit from you to inspire us all! Lovely dress, you look fabulous in it!
11/3/08 6:38 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I'm certainly glad you DIDN'T give up on this dress, because it's fabulous! I LOVE that color on you AND the style. This was such a neat review, with the extra links that you provided to the bio and the pattern sites. (I LOVE 2451 and 2925.) I'd say you've created your own "quiet marvel of architecture" here. :o)
11/3/08 6:52 PM
shesflipped said...
Beautiful! You look lovely in this vivid shade of yellow! Beautifully crafted and very, very chic!
11/3/08 6:58 PM
Beek said...
You look really great in this style of dress and the color works for you! Great job!
11/3/08 7:25 PM
Gelbean said...
What a fabulous dress. The style and color look lovely on you!
11/3/08 7:51 PM
Anne S said...
I LOVE your dress. I made this dress in the 60's also in a golden yellow. I always felt good in this dress. Hope you do too.
11/3/08 8:02 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Louella, what a fabulously informative review for your beautiful 60's hot yellow dress. I love that you're so fearless in pursuit of your personal style, and you look smashing. (My very first pattern attempt in the 60's was a knockoff of a Fabiani tent coat, which I adored. So thanks for the memories.) Very lovely, Lily
11/3/08 9:40 PM
katlew03 said...
I went through the list of patterns. Those were the styles that I grew up with. I could just picture each one in linen or light weight wool flannel. So different from today's designers. Absolutely love your dress. The color is great, too.
11/3/08 9:50 PM
michellep74 said...
Fabulous dress! Great job at sticking with this one!
11/3/08 10:15 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely dress. Unique fabric!
11/4/08 5:14 AM
ryan's mom said...
Terrific!!! Those retro details really make the clean, elegant lines of this dress a standout!
11/4/08 7:57 AM
annie11 said...
I agree- yellow is your color and you look GORGEOUS in this dress! Thanks for including the history of this designer also. Great review!
11/4/08 8:45 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Good for you, stretching your skills and overcoming the fear of trying bound buttonholes. I love the '60's styles, they are so part of our current trends making this dress so au courant! You now own a Fabiani original. Thanks for the great review. -Lisa
11/4/08 2:55 PM
ITAdmin said...
Very nice, and congrats on sticking it out to finish. Reminds of a neon green number I had back in the day.
11/4/08 4:54 PM
Em's Summer said...
I'm sorry you're not 100% happy with it, but WOW! This is in the Jackie Kennedy style and it is a beautiful dress! You look fabulous in it!
11/5/08 11:29 AM
ZeldaDC said...
Thanks for a terrific review, and congratulations!
11/7/08 7:01 PM
Marji said...
Ohhh, This dress has long been on my coveted pattern list, and I finally scored a pattern too. Thanks for all the detailed information. I like that you went right for the gusto and made yours in the canary yellow (of course, you also look fabulous in yellow). Thank you so much for all the helpful information on the construction. And the background on Fabiani. I had no idea that he was married to Simonetta (another favorite).
11/9/08 7:06 AM
Karen8320 said...
Wow, Louella! What a stunning design and a glorious color! Kudos to you for attempting and completing a couturier pattern. Great stuff! You've ended up with a wonderfully unique dress, have expanded your sewing skills, and have had the experience of working with a couturier pattern. You're a winner all round!
1/27/09 9:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Simplicity 6459

photo
by: roadtotheh...

Review
Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Buy Now
Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Buy Now