SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2065 Couturier OOP (60's Fabiani Mod Dress)

Viewed 418 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 101 people
patterns reviewed: 298
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/3/08 5:22 PM
Last Updated:11/3/08 5:22 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karen8320 said...
Wow, Louella! What a stunning design and a glorious color! Kudos to you for attempting and completing a couturier pattern. Great stuff! You've ended up with a wonderfully unique dress, have expanded your sewing skills, and have had the experience of working with a couturier pattern. You're a winner all round!
1/27/09 9:50 PM
Marji said...
Ohhh, This dress has long been on my coveted pattern list, and I finally scored a pattern too. Thanks for all the detailed information. I like that you went right for the gusto and made yours in the canary yellow (of course, you also look fabulous in yellow). Thank you so much for all the helpful information on the construction. And the background on Fabiani. I had no idea that he was married to Simonetta (another favorite).
11/9/08 7:06 AM
ZeldaDC said...
Thanks for a terrific review, and congratulations!
11/7/08 7:01 PM
Em's Summer said...
I'm sorry you're not 100% happy with it, but WOW! This is in the Jackie Kennedy style and it is a beautiful dress! You look fabulous in it!
11/5/08 11:29 AM
ITAdmin said...
Very nice, and congrats on sticking it out to finish. Reminds of a neon green number I had back in the day.
11/4/08 4:54 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Good for you, stretching your skills and overcoming the fear of trying bound buttonholes. I love the '60's styles, they are so part of our current trends making this dress so au courant! You now own a Fabiani original. Thanks for the great review. -Lisa
11/4/08 2:55 PM
annie11 said...
I agree- yellow is your color and you look GORGEOUS in this dress! Thanks for including the history of this designer also. Great review!
11/4/08 8:45 AM
ryan's mom said...
Terrific!!! Those retro details really make the clean, elegant lines of this dress a standout!
11/4/08 7:57 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely dress. Unique fabric!
11/4/08 5:14 AM
michellep74 said...
Fabulous dress! Great job at sticking with this one!
11/3/08 10:15 PM
katlew03 said...
I went through the list of patterns. Those were the styles that I grew up with. I could just picture each one in linen or light weight wool flannel. So different from today's designers. Absolutely love your dress. The color is great, too.
11/3/08 9:50 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Louella, what a fabulously informative review for your beautiful 60's hot yellow dress. I love that you're so fearless in pursuit of your personal style, and you look smashing. (My very first pattern attempt in the 60's was a knockoff of a Fabiani tent coat, which I adored. So thanks for the memories.) Very lovely, Lily
11/3/08 9:40 PM
Anne S said...
I LOVE your dress. I made this dress in the 60's also in a golden yellow. I always felt good in this dress. Hope you do too.
11/3/08 8:02 PM
Gelbean said...
What a fabulous dress. The style and color look lovely on you!
11/3/08 7:51 PM
Beek said...
You look really great in this style of dress and the color works for you! Great job!
11/3/08 7:25 PM
shesflipped said...
Beautiful! You look lovely in this vivid shade of yellow! Beautifully crafted and very, very chic!
11/3/08 6:58 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I'm certainly glad you DIDN'T give up on this dress, because it's fabulous! I LOVE that color on you AND the style. This was such a neat review, with the extra links that you provided to the bio and the pattern sites. (I LOVE 2451 and 2925.) I'd say you've created your own "quiet marvel of architecture" here. :o)
11/3/08 6:52 PM
Squeezylemon said...
As usual a wonderfully original outfit from you to inspire us all! Lovely dress, you look fabulous in it!
11/3/08 6:38 PM
sewtime said...
Beautiful!!!
11/3/08 5:38 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Lutterloh 2005-14

photo
by: Mufffet

Review
Eagle's View PM/54

photo
by: BADBamaBun...

Review
SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Petite Plus D202 DVD

Buy Now