Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2065 Couturier OOP (60's Fabiani Mod Dress) - Type:Out of Print Classics    printable version
Viewed 412 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 295
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 295
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/3/08 5:22 PM
Last Updated:11/3/08 5:22 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewtime said...
Beautiful!!!
11/3/08 5:38 PM
Squeezylemon said...
As usual a wonderfully original outfit from you to inspire us all! Lovely dress, you look fabulous in it!
11/3/08 6:38 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I'm certainly glad you DIDN'T give up on this dress, because it's fabulous! I LOVE that color on you AND the style. This was such a neat review, with the extra links that you provided to the bio and the pattern sites. (I LOVE 2451 and 2925.) I'd say you've created your own "quiet marvel of architecture" here. :o)
11/3/08 6:52 PM
shesflipped said...
Beautiful! You look lovely in this vivid shade of yellow! Beautifully crafted and very, very chic!
11/3/08 6:58 PM
Beek said...
You look really great in this style of dress and the color works for you! Great job!
11/3/08 7:25 PM
Gelbean said...
What a fabulous dress. The style and color look lovely on you!
11/3/08 7:51 PM
Anne S said...
I LOVE your dress. I made this dress in the 60's also in a golden yellow. I always felt good in this dress. Hope you do too.
11/3/08 8:02 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Louella, what a fabulously informative review for your beautiful 60's hot yellow dress. I love that you're so fearless in pursuit of your personal style, and you look smashing. (My very first pattern attempt in the 60's was a knockoff of a Fabiani tent coat, which I adored. So thanks for the memories.) Very lovely, Lily
11/3/08 9:40 PM
katlew03 said...
I went through the list of patterns. Those were the styles that I grew up with. I could just picture each one in linen or light weight wool flannel. So different from today's designers. Absolutely love your dress. The color is great, too.
11/3/08 9:50 PM
michellep74 said...
Fabulous dress! Great job at sticking with this one!
11/3/08 10:15 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely dress. Unique fabric!
11/4/08 5:14 AM
ryan's mom said...
Terrific!!! Those retro details really make the clean, elegant lines of this dress a standout!
11/4/08 7:57 AM
annie11 said...
I agree- yellow is your color and you look GORGEOUS in this dress! Thanks for including the history of this designer also. Great review!
11/4/08 8:45 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Good for you, stretching your skills and overcoming the fear of trying bound buttonholes. I love the '60's styles, they are so part of our current trends making this dress so au courant! You now own a Fabiani original. Thanks for the great review. -Lisa
11/4/08 2:55 PM
ITAdmin said...
Very nice, and congrats on sticking it out to finish. Reminds of a neon green number I had back in the day.
11/4/08 4:54 PM
Em's Summer said...
I'm sorry you're not 100% happy with it, but WOW! This is in the Jackie Kennedy style and it is a beautiful dress! You look fabulous in it!
11/5/08 11:29 AM
ZeldaDC said...
Thanks for a terrific review, and congratulations!
11/7/08 7:01 PM
Marji said...
Ohhh, This dress has long been on my coveted pattern list, and I finally scored a pattern too. Thanks for all the detailed information. I like that you went right for the gusto and made yours in the canary yellow (of course, you also look fabulous in yellow). Thank you so much for all the helpful information on the construction. And the background on Fabiani. I had no idea that he was married to Simonetta (another favorite).
11/9/08 7:06 AM
Karen8320 said...
Wow, Louella! What a stunning design and a glorious color! Kudos to you for attempting and completing a couturier pattern. Great stuff! You've ended up with a wonderfully unique dress, have expanded your sewing skills, and have had the experience of working with a couturier pattern. You're a winner all round!
1/27/09 9:50 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Simplicity 4084
photo
Review by FullertonR... on 10/13/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Real People DVD
Fit For Real People DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern (XXS-L)
SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern (XXS-L)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2005
photo
Review by Leslie in ... on 5/9/07
Read Review

McCalls 2060 Pattern ( Size 31 1/2-32 1/2 )
McCalls 2060 Pattern ( Size 31 1/2-32 1/2 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3126 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3126 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us