SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1046 (Anna Sui)

8 more reviews
Viewed 744 times 
Reviewed by:phthooey
photo

 
 
About phthooeystar
TX USA
Member since: 1/5/08
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/14/08 11:14 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
poplin said...
Still, it's cute. Really cute. Since you like easy patterns (according to your profile) and you're a 5' petite, have you tried Japanese dress patterns? Thanks for blogging, too!
11/14/08 11:32 PM
kathleencramer said...
Wow- I think that you are correct- you need to have a very specific body type and height to pull off this one. I'm not even sure about the model on the Vogue pattern. But good job!
11/14/08 11:45 PM
Athene said...
In a quirky way I think this is a really cute look.
11/14/08 11:57 PM
sewsewboy said...
Nice effort. But the fabirc was a tad too stiff. I silkier or drapier fabrice would have flowed a lot better over your body. My sister made it and she used a silky print.It looked good. Remake it in a cute silky print or a lightweight knit or jersey and it may work out better for you. Keep sewing.
11/15/08 0:12 AM
Michele19 said...
Thank for for this review. I Love this dress. I just got this pattern in the recent $2.99 sale that Vogue had, your review couldn't have been timelier for me. Thank you Thank you! I think it is really cute and with those shoes you are wearing it's kind of high style looking! The small gingham print works with all that volume. It is a perfect summer comfy dress... I am inspired to start mine now! If you re-d0 it in a silkier fabric, please review again!
11/15/08 8:15 AM
carolynw said...
It looks cute and I bet when it's hot you'll love wearing this dress. Veryhelpful review
11/15/08 8:44 AM
kimmielovesparis said...
Super cute! Love the fabric choice and your shoes! + you're thin and can pull this off. Wish I could. Has a 60's retro vibe.
11/15/08 10:57 AM
SewLil said...
I really love both of the dresses from this pattern and have the pattern. Good to know it went so quickly. Thanks for the review.
11/15/08 8:11 PM
lsaspacey said...
Interesting to see that your dress looks JUST like the pattern sketch regarding the amount of fabric gathered in the skirt but not at all when you look at the pattern picture. No truth in advertising there obviously! A lot of people have been curious about this dress but you were the only one to review it. Thanks for making it up and taking one for the team!
11/16/08 11:31 AM
AuntieShel said...
But it's soooo CUTE on you. I was drawn to this dress, but immediately decided against it for the very reasons you pointed out. But, really, so cute on you!
11/23/08 2:22 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Butterick 5674

photo
by: mnitts

Review
Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Checkbook Cover

Checkbook Cover

Buy Now