SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2877 (DKNY)

Viewed 657 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 386 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/20/08 4:27 PM
Last Updated:11/21/08 1:32 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Beek said...
Lovely skirt!
11/20/08 4:30 PM
Cecile Owens said...
Lovely outfit. Would love to have the pattern number for the top. Keep up the great work!! I really value your reviews.
11/20/08 5:08 PM
Kellie R. said...
This is very pretty. Taking the extra time for the piping was a good call - it looks just beautiful and ties together well. Great job.
11/20/08 5:13 PM
sewtime said...
Beautiful skirt!!
11/20/08 6:13 PM
Karendee said...
Extremely smart looking skirt.
11/20/08 6:28 PM
moushka said...
Très chic, Ann, the black underlining for the lace really takes it to another level. Beautiful work, as usual. Thanks for another inspiring review.
11/20/08 7:26 PM
Barbara V said...
It's a gorgeous skirt! Even though the piping was a bit fussy to do I agree that it tied it together and added another dimension. The scallop edge detail is perfect!
11/20/08 7:58 PM
DorothyK said...
Beautiful job, as usual. It would have been a shame not to use the scalloped edges. With black, it makes a very smart outfit.
11/20/08 8:26 PM
hmacski said...
This is a rare miss from someone with otherwise great taste. Sorry, Ann. You absolutely rock but this lace skirt doesn't do you justice. It's kind of dowdy.
11/21/08 1:51 PM
Ann Smith said...
hmacski, Perhaps it looks better in person. I hope so. I did receive lots of compliments when I wore this but those were ladies in my generation. Maybe you have to be 6' and size 0 like these ladies in the Prada runway show http://www.style.com/fashionshows/complete/slideshow/F2008RTW-PRADA/?loop=0&iphoto=17&play=false&cnt=19 and http://www.style.com/fashionshows/complete/slideshow/F2008RTW-PRADA/?loop=0&iphoto=35&play=false&cnt=39
11/21/08 2:45 PM
persevering said...
Ann, Your skirt is georgous! I think you are the right track looking for a different top - my daughter taught me that a tight garment needs to be matched with a loose garment & vice versa. (Loose & loose can look dowdy and tight & tight can look unsuitable. )Shop your closet again - if no match - I suggest a rather fitted, one color, short top /classic & simple / just make sure the fabric doesn't cling badly. Your skirt is pretty, what you match it with will make all the difference. Good luck!
11/21/08 4:37 PM
LindsayT said...
Really wonderful skirt, Ann. I think this is a timeless keeper.
11/21/08 4:41 PM
Winifred said...
This is far from dowdy Anne, as you say lace is in and a more fancy design would draw attention away from the beautiful fabric. I too would like the pattern no for the top !
11/21/08 6:12 PM
solosmocker said...
Gorgeous skirt. I love how the rayon lace drapes.
11/21/08 9:10 PM
Ann Smith said...
Cecile and Winifred, the pattern for the top is one I downloaded 5 or so years ago from a website that no longer is in operation. I call it the 15 minute top as it takes about that long to make including cutting out. It has no edge finishes and 3 short seams. I don't think it is available any where. A similar design is from Lyla Messinger, the Seaside T. My top has only one side seam and an asymmetric bottom curve but they are very similar.
11/22/08 0:46 AM
carolynw said...
It's really beautiful Ann and as usual you look tres chic!!
11/22/08 9:24 AM
hmacski said...
Hi Ann: Perhaps it's the photo, perhaps it's the resolution on my monitor. I admire the fashion risks you take and your slightly off-beat but always classy choices. Maybe this one just doesn't work for me. I do seem to be in the minority. Oh well...a chacun son gout!
11/22/08 7:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

McCall's 6649

photo
by: Sewlful

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Butterick 4966

photo
by: Aurelie

Review