SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2877 (DKNY)

Viewed 657 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 388 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/20/08 4:27 PM
Last Updated:11/21/08 1:32 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
hmacski said...
Hi Ann: Perhaps it's the photo, perhaps it's the resolution on my monitor. I admire the fashion risks you take and your slightly off-beat but always classy choices. Maybe this one just doesn't work for me. I do seem to be in the minority. Oh well...a chacun son gout!
11/22/08 7:51 PM
carolynw said...
It's really beautiful Ann and as usual you look tres chic!!
11/22/08 9:24 AM
Ann Smith said...
Cecile and Winifred, the pattern for the top is one I downloaded 5 or so years ago from a website that no longer is in operation. I call it the 15 minute top as it takes about that long to make including cutting out. It has no edge finishes and 3 short seams. I don't think it is available any where. A similar design is from Lyla Messinger, the Seaside T. My top has only one side seam and an asymmetric bottom curve but they are very similar.
11/22/08 0:46 AM
solosmocker said...
Gorgeous skirt. I love how the rayon lace drapes.
11/21/08 9:10 PM
Winifred said...
This is far from dowdy Anne, as you say lace is in and a more fancy design would draw attention away from the beautiful fabric. I too would like the pattern no for the top !
11/21/08 6:12 PM
LindsayT said...
Really wonderful skirt, Ann. I think this is a timeless keeper.
11/21/08 4:41 PM
persevering said...
Ann, Your skirt is georgous! I think you are the right track looking for a different top - my daughter taught me that a tight garment needs to be matched with a loose garment & vice versa. (Loose & loose can look dowdy and tight & tight can look unsuitable. )Shop your closet again - if no match - I suggest a rather fitted, one color, short top /classic & simple / just make sure the fabric doesn't cling badly. Your skirt is pretty, what you match it with will make all the difference. Good luck!
11/21/08 4:37 PM
Ann Smith said...
hmacski, Perhaps it looks better in person. I hope so. I did receive lots of compliments when I wore this but those were ladies in my generation. Maybe you have to be 6' and size 0 like these ladies in the Prada runway show http://www.style.com/fashionshows/complete/slideshow/F2008RTW-PRADA/?loop=0&iphoto=17&play=false&cnt=19 and http://www.style.com/fashionshows/complete/slideshow/F2008RTW-PRADA/?loop=0&iphoto=35&play=false&cnt=39
11/21/08 2:45 PM
hmacski said...
This is a rare miss from someone with otherwise great taste. Sorry, Ann. You absolutely rock but this lace skirt doesn't do you justice. It's kind of dowdy.
11/21/08 1:51 PM
DorothyK said...
Beautiful job, as usual. It would have been a shame not to use the scalloped edges. With black, it makes a very smart outfit.
11/20/08 8:26 PM
Barbara V said...
It's a gorgeous skirt! Even though the piping was a bit fussy to do I agree that it tied it together and added another dimension. The scallop edge detail is perfect!
11/20/08 7:58 PM
moushka said...
Très chic, Ann, the black underlining for the lace really takes it to another level. Beautiful work, as usual. Thanks for another inspiring review.
11/20/08 7:26 PM
Karendee said...
Extremely smart looking skirt.
11/20/08 6:28 PM
sewtime said...
Beautiful skirt!!
11/20/08 6:13 PM
Kellie R. said...
This is very pretty. Taking the extra time for the piping was a good call - it looks just beautiful and ties together well. Great job.
11/20/08 5:13 PM
Cecile Owens said...
Lovely outfit. Would love to have the pattern number for the top. Keep up the great work!! I really value your reviews.
11/20/08 5:08 PM
Beek said...
Lovely skirt!
11/20/08 4:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

New Look 6097

photo
by: lbrundage

Review
Sew Liberated Brynna Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Brynna Dress Pattern

More Info
Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

More Info