Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2929 thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 587 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:myrayeretsky
photo
About myrayeretsky
TX USA
Member since: 4/18/08
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/08 8:36 AM
Last Updated:11/21/08 9:06 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Accessories    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
persevering said...
Sorry this didn't work for you. What I'm doing on Patternreview is learning a lot - since life is not such that sewing is a sensible option for me right now - and I do, when I can, want to make outfits that flatter me when I sew. So as much as it hurts, I need to realize that my stash & patterns are not the best for me - to make choices with a lot of thought, not to sew what is just not attractive for me - and learn by seeing others - what is attractive on others with similar builds - what is not self-defeating to sew (difficulty of pattern / skill level just too challenging for time I'm comfortable to spend ) & learn from others until I can actually sew - their figures may not be their "ideal" but despite not always making the best choices, when they make/wear something flattering they look attractive & no matter what figure they have, they look BEAUTIFUL. Empowering, n'est-ce pas? Thanks for sharing your experience with us.
11/21/08 10:27 AM
EleanorSews said...
What a shame this did not work for you. But it was thoughtful to publish the reveiw and maybe save someone else from a mistake. Like "perservering", I am returning to sewing for self and understand the trials and tribulations of the right pattern design with the right fabric for the body we have now. Not always as simple as it once was!
11/21/08 12:09 PM
quathy said...
I whole-heartedly agree with the above comments. Thanks for posting the review, even though you didn't care for the results on the first try. until I started sewing , I didn't even realize what styles look better on me, and I'm still learning a lot about style with each garment I make. I feel the rewards of sewing are not just finishing a project with a wearable piece, but more about learning and appreciating the different aspects of each project, even if I end up tossing the resulting garment. thanks for the review! :)
11/21/08 12:46 PM
shesflipped said...
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. So many times when things don't work out, it feel that it's 'just me', and tend to be very hard on myself. Sewing really is a big learning experience, sometimes it's helpful to be reminded of that!
11/22/08 8:02 AM
Sharon1952 said...
Thanks for the complete review. I think it is important that we review our failures because it keeps the experience more real for the beginning sewer to know we all have failures. I know more than once I've relegated a pattern to the "not for me" pile when it was me! I chose the wrong type or hand of fabric. I ignore a Loes Hines pattern for years until I decided to make it again- now I have about 8 versions of it in my wardrobe- I just have to choose the right kind of fabric.
11/22/08 8:56 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

brerrabbit.com Easy Table Runner Kit
photo
Review by Mary Stief... on 3/12/12
Read Review

Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Beach Bum Bermuda Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Beach Bum Bermuda Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2938 Misses top
photo
Review by KarlaB on 7/3/12
Read Review

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top
Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern
SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8908 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8908 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1439 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1439 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us