SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2929 

4 more reviews
Viewed 591 times 
Reviewed by:myrayeretsky
photo

 
 
About myrayeretsky
TX USA
Member since: 4/18/08
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/08 8:36 AM
Last Updated:11/21/08 9:06 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Accessories    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
persevering said...
Sorry this didn't work for you. What I'm doing on Patternreview is learning a lot - since life is not such that sewing is a sensible option for me right now - and I do, when I can, want to make outfits that flatter me when I sew. So as much as it hurts, I need to realize that my stash & patterns are not the best for me - to make choices with a lot of thought, not to sew what is just not attractive for me - and learn by seeing others - what is attractive on others with similar builds - what is not self-defeating to sew (difficulty of pattern / skill level just too challenging for time I'm comfortable to spend ) & learn from others until I can actually sew - their figures may not be their "ideal" but despite not always making the best choices, when they make/wear something flattering they look attractive & no matter what figure they have, they look BEAUTIFUL. Empowering, n'est-ce pas? Thanks for sharing your experience with us.
11/21/08 10:27 AM
EleanorSews said...
What a shame this did not work for you. But it was thoughtful to publish the reveiw and maybe save someone else from a mistake. Like "perservering", I am returning to sewing for self and understand the trials and tribulations of the right pattern design with the right fabric for the body we have now. Not always as simple as it once was!
11/21/08 12:09 PM
quathy said...
I whole-heartedly agree with the above comments. Thanks for posting the review, even though you didn't care for the results on the first try. until I started sewing , I didn't even realize what styles look better on me, and I'm still learning a lot about style with each garment I make. I feel the rewards of sewing are not just finishing a project with a wearable piece, but more about learning and appreciating the different aspects of each project, even if I end up tossing the resulting garment. thanks for the review! :)
11/21/08 12:46 PM
shesflipped said...
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. So many times when things don't work out, it feel that it's 'just me', and tend to be very hard on myself. Sewing really is a big learning experience, sometimes it's helpful to be reminded of that!
11/22/08 8:02 AM
Sharon1952 said...
Thanks for the complete review. I think it is important that we review our failures because it keeps the experience more real for the beginning sewer to know we all have failures. I know more than once I've relegated a pattern to the "not for me" pile when it was me! I chose the wrong type or hand of fabric. I ignore a Loes Hines pattern for years until I decided to make it again- now I have about 8 versions of it in my wardrobe- I just have to choose the right kind of fabric.
11/22/08 8:56 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Vogue Patterns 1022

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Christine Jonson BaseWear Two - Straight Skirt, Taper Skirt, & Top with Options

Christine Jonson BaseWear Two - Straight Skirt, Taper Skirt, & Top with Options

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Buy Now