SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 11-2008-122 (Pleated Blouse)

1 more reviews
Viewed 832 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 101 people
patterns reviewed: 298
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/22/08 1:57 PM
Last Updated:11/30/08 12:16 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 31 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vintage Joan said...
I realize you're not crazy about this, but I think it's one of the prettiest, most flattering things I've ever seen on you! :) I really like it!!
11/22/08 2:08 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, first of all, another EXCELLENT review. Secondly, I'm witih Joan! This is absolutely BEAUTIFUL on you, Louella! PLEASE wear it. It's so pretty, I clicked on the biggest picture I could on Flickr, so I could see it up close and personal! I LOVE the shoulders, and the way you've got the cami underneath is just PERFECT (and I'm not even a big cami fan)! :o)
11/22/08 2:45 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
It's gorgeous fabric and the pleats work incredibly well with it. I agree with you about the depth of BWOF necklines. What do they think you'll be showcasing in that large window where the cami goes: a set of collector plates?! Without the cami, one could get arrested.
11/22/08 3:00 PM
michellep74 said...
Wow, that pink is a great color on you! Maybe this blouse will "grow" on you after a little while--I find that I tend to not like my more frustrating projects as much until I've had a little time away from them.
11/22/08 3:04 PM
Annette1 said...
Very good point that Michelle makes!
11/22/08 3:43 PM
Christina Sonja said...
This blouse is one of my favorites from this issue. Your review is very informative. I am another one who thinks you look great in this top!
11/22/08 3:44 PM
annie11 said...
GREAT review! It certainly looks nice on you and pairs perfectly with your cami. Your "mystery" fabric is very pretty!
11/22/08 4:06 PM
frankenpattern said...
I don't know what the fabric looks like in real life, but in the photograph the color is great on you - I wish that I could find a blush that color! Don't throw away the scraps - later you may want to rig extensions to close up the neckline and have an elegant blouse in a very flattering color.
11/22/08 4:24 PM
Birgitte said...
The color is spectacular on you and the blouse works great with the cami. I've also found BWOF to have low necklines. Yes- make a muslin, always make a muslin. But you do look great in this. Great review.
11/22/08 4:30 PM
pterion said...
I think it's a very pretty blouse and looks good on you but I agree about the neckline. It is low indeed.
11/22/08 4:40 PM
Kellie R. said...
Wow - this is a show stopper! I'm sorry that it didn't turn out as you had hoped, but I personally think it's a winner. I'm in "blouse mode" at the moment (entering the final stages of a project...) and your review and results make me want to get this pattern. I hope you wear this - it's a great color and style on you!
11/22/08 4:55 PM
marjenann said...
OMG!! You are drop dead gorgeous in this top!! It looks like a Neiman Marcus Original!!! I just love it!!!
11/22/08 6:38 PM
sewtime said...
I really love your blouse! It is beautiful and you look fabulous in it!
11/22/08 7:40 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Heather you are the best! i love reading your stuff. The color is great and you look smashing.
11/22/08 7:48 PM
2BSewing said...
Wow! Fantastic blouse. I agree with the others that this is very flattering on you. Enjoyed your review. Great job!
11/22/08 10:16 PM
Kbenco said...
I want to make this blouse, so I am really glad to have your helpful review to guide me. I now know that I must have a co-ordinating cami before I pick my fabric! The blouse does look great worn with an underlayer. Maybe you will like it better once the pleat frustration wears off.
11/22/08 11:27 PM
Marji said...
It is incredibly flattering on you. The fit through the shoulders and upper neckline is wonderful. In looking at your photo on flickr, lge size and then comparing it to the line drawing, I wonder if you'd have more coverage if you stitched the upper bodice to the lower bodice so that it all came together at CF? You seem to have an almost 3" gap at CF - which looks great as a design element and facilitates the cami underneath as part of it. I'm just thinking that if you chose to make another, since it is so flattering on you, that you might bring that upper bodice in and have more coverage. It'd probably still be really low though.
11/23/08 8:01 AM
shesflipped said...
Louella~I've read your review, and everyone's comments...Remember~these are your friends talking! I think it feels 'different' for you, the color, the style. That being said, it doesn't mean it's not absolutely beautiful on you, it is! The style is very flattering on you, the fit is fantastic. As your self appointed Big Sister, I would love to see you wear this with winter white for the holidays~it would be stunning. The color is beautiful for your complexion. (But, I've yet to see anything that isn't.) My advise~take the big step and wear it out a few times. I think this may become an unexpected favorite!
11/23/08 9:10 AM
carolynw said...
This looks so nice on you - put it away for awhile and I am sure you will conme to agree with us - this is a winner- The color is so "you"
11/23/08 9:38 AM
piffle said...
Thank you so much for this review. this is on my list of things to sew. Did you find the pattern to have very little ease? I'm thinking of etending the side seams my 5/8".
11/23/08 9:49 AM
Barbara V said...
I love the look of your blouse and can't wait to try it. Thank you for your review. Your version is beautiful and I think it looks very flattering on you.
11/23/08 10:18 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Another excellent review. I don't think I would have tried this design simply because of the very low neckline, however, your version worn with a cami is wonderful. I agree with all the other commentors; the design and color is very flattering on you and should be worn a couple of times before you give up on it. Thank you for a very thorough review of your very pretty blouse.
11/23/08 11:02 AM
persevering said...
Heatherrique, I am so impressed with your perseverance in completing a garment that gave you complications, submitting your review to help others, and then moving on. I also agree with everyone else's postings - you look so pretty.
11/23/08 11:37 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Thank you for this! I had my eye on pairing some silk charmeuse with this but you've definitely convinced me to make a muslin (and raise that neckline!) if I go that way...
11/23/08 5:26 PM
suesmith said...
Thanks for the great review. The empire waist together with the pleats makes for a great fit. Great timing for me...I actually decided to check the reviews BEFORE cutting out a new BWOF! Your experiences will definitely prove helpful to me! I would agree with the others...great color, great blouse, it's a keeper!
11/23/08 5:33 PM
CA Eisenhour said...
Louella, Absolutely stunning blouse. The color, the fit; everything about it is YOU! Great job and fabulous review as usual. ~Connie
11/23/08 10:39 PM
Nancy Anne said...
What a wonderful, informative review! Your mystery fabric is really pretty and your top turned out well, but I see why you have a beef about the neckline! Unless you want to introduce the girls to all of your friends (and make new ones!), you simply have to wear a cami with this.
11/24/08 2:35 PM
Heatherrique said...
Thank you ladies for your sweet feedback! You encouraged me to give this pattern another try! * Marji, yup, my pleats drifted away from the center. You have a good eye on how much they drifted! I am certain it's an error on my part. I agree that the fit above the "chasm" is great. So there is some hope to revisit this pattern.
11/28/08 5:15 PM
inkstain said...
Lovely colour, but is it possible that the problem with the neckline was caused by not bringing the two upper bodices to meet at the center? I've studied the line drawing and they descend to a perfect V shape, still low but covering adequately. This might explain your lack of slant on the pleats...Try again, and don't wad this beauty!
11/30/08 3:12 PM
Mahler said...
This is really a great review. Do I ever love this blouse on you. It has style and chic. I agree with the others, this colour is stunning on you. You can wear it with jeans or dressy pants, skirt... anything. Wear it, you'll love it. The cami you chose is perfect. I have not been on PR for a while, I missed numerous reviews, but I am glad I read this one and saw the final result.
11/30/08 9:51 PM
Markie1 said...
I am so glad that you got such a positive response to this top. It is REALLY pretty on you. I know what you mean about Burda, I have to remember to finish facing edges without being told to--I am such a creature of linear thinking sometimes. We who sew must have faith in our innate abilities and do things OUR way too, huh??? Your reviews are always excellent, thanks for this one.
11/30/08 11:20 PM
morzel said...
This top does look good on you! About the pleats drifting away from the CF - have you had a close look at the BWoF photo? They didn't place their buttons CF but next to it, I guess to correct the shirt, as their pleats ALSO drifted away from the CF! :)))
12/1/08 2:57 AM
Karen8320 said...
Louella, it wasn't until after I saw the line drawing that I could see the difference with this top. Yes, there does seem to be a bit of a distance between both sections of the upper bodice, however that doesn't detract from the 'gorgeousness' of this garment. The fabric looks lovely and it is that little bit different to other tops. The cami underneath makes it stylish and wearable. It would be a shame for you not to give this another go. It still still looks great on you!
1/27/09 0:07 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Simplicity 7161

photo
by: Judy Kski

Review
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Petite Plus V202 VHS

Buy Now
Couch Caddy

Couch Caddy

Buy Now