SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Vogue 8815

Here's what you'll learn:

  1. Distinguishing between different types of leather
  2. How to select and how much to buy for your project
  3. Choosing patterns
  4. Supplies and industry tips and tricks to sew with leather
  5. Seams
    • Basic
    • Flat-felled
    • Lapped
    • Cut-edge Lapped
  6. Darts
    • Classic
    • Overlap
    • Slot
  7. How to sew flaps and collars and cuffs
  8. Sewing the Peplum top
    • Cutting and Marking on Leather
    • Staying Leather
    • Pressing Leather
    • Sewing Darts
    • Inserting Zipper
    • Finishing
  9. Bonus: A 29 page PDF document showing step by step photos of all the different types of darts and seams. ">Leather 101 Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2885 

8 more reviews
Viewed 395 times 
Reviewed by:rockontinyrebel
photo

 
 
About rockontinyrebelstar
TX United States
Member since: 1/5/08
Reviews: 32 (patterns: 32)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/4/08 1:42 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
rockontinyrebel said... (12/5/08 1:15 PM) Reply
Thanks for the sweet comments! Persevering, I am working on something helpful for refashioning and will post on my blog about it, so stay tuned in the new year for more info. Mary Nanna, the original men's shirt was an XXL, and I am 5' tall. I kept the entire original hem and it reaches to just above my knee, so it was the right shirt for the right project. I have another dress shirt refashioned from a men's shirt over the summer, and the hem is much shorter than I'm comfortable with. I like to think I learned my lesson with that shirt. ;)
Mary Nanna said... (12/4/08 10:07 PM) Reply
It doesn't look short, but I'm wondering how a man's shirt would be long enough to refashion into a dress. Whatever the case, LOVE it. Very clever!
poplin said... (12/4/08 5:22 PM) Reply
You're tempting me to look through my husband's shirts.
clare said... (12/4/08 4:21 PM) Reply
that looks great! what a good way of reusing an item of clothing!
persevering said... (12/4/08 2:09 PM) Reply
Brilliant and attractive! If possible can you please direct us with more info. (Have lost weight - averaged 6 lbs for 6 years & maintaining - & it would be great to refashion clothes I have.) And this pattern is a classic too!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Butterick 5997

photo
by: ButtonFait...

Review
SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Pattern Details