Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1083 (Vintage Vogue Coat) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1652 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Terri A
photo
Friend of PR
About Terri Astarstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/16/08
Reviews written: 98
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 67 people
patterns reviewed: 86
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/24/08 8:03 PM
Last Updated:12/25/08 4:10 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $25.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
chrisquilts_2 said...
I chickened out of a coat this winter but I'd love to watch your progress.
12/3/08 9:59 AM
Athene said...
Very eager to see your finished coat. I love the pattern and bought it as soon as it came out - but unfortunately I have not made it yet.
12/4/08 0:26 AM
Terri A said...
I love it - but I am insecure about it. I don't normally sew for myself. I have never made a coat. Also, in all those formal dresses and wedding gowns there were no pockets to be seen anywhere - so I feel a little NERVOUS... what if the corduroy wrinkles? Oh well - live and learn... I don't think I did a good job at sewing in the pockets. They had you sew the pocket in "as far as possible" and it was just weird... It looks ok - but I hope I do a better job next time.... it is getting there.... but at the moment hanging on my dressform while I recover from the trauma:-)
12/4/08 1:06 AM
Lana E said...
I have this pattern too. I want to make it using a wool blend or something of the same weight. I'll be watching your review as well. Good luck and remember to take many breaks so you don't get "sewers cramp"
12/5/08 2:16 AM
Annette1 said...
Ooooo, lining in SHELL PINK PEAU DE SOI), that sounds so luscious! I had to really FORCE myself not to buy this pattern when it came out, and now I'm wanting it all over again, thanks to you! :o)
12/8/08 8:07 PM
Lori V said...
Your coat looks wonderful, I can't wait to see the finished garment.
12/8/08 11:07 PM
mchick said...
I too loved this pattern when it came out, and will watch your progress with great interest. It looks absolutely wonderful, and can't wait to see it finished, I'm sure you'll love it!
12/9/08 8:03 AM
CynthiaSue said...
definitely looking professional. great job.
12/10/08 5:48 PM
Lana E said...
looks like its coming along beautifully.
12/13/08 11:03 AM
Terri A said...
Thanks! I have to say this has been a really fun coat so far! Umm - for one thing, no closures! No zippers no buttons. It couldn't be any easier in that regard. I can't wait to wear it, and tho its tough to make certain vintage looks modern and wearable, I can't wait to wear it!
12/16/08 2:59 AM
lovenicky said...
I love your coat. I am tempted to buy this pattern now. Please post pictures of you wearing this fabulous coat!
12/16/08 10:04 AM
EleanorSews said...
Stunning! The use of the corduroy wale makes for an interesting look. This is going to be superb.
12/16/08 11:08 AM
Birgitte said...
I love the look of this- including the hat! I was just tearing out a vintage B & W picture from the 20's yesterday, and the woman was wearing something very similar. I love the volume, it's so lux. In my opinion you look fabulous- wear it often!
12/24/08 9:12 PM
Lori V said...
I think it looks lovely on you.
12/24/08 9:40 PM
Terri A said...
Thanks:-) Very kind of you! I appreciate it - the positive feedback.
12/24/08 11:26 PM
Larkin said...
Really beautiful coat! Enjoy the feel of vintage-style beauty wrapped around you!
12/25/08 2:33 AM
ryan's mom said...
Beautiful coat! Enjoy the "bigness"--it looks big in the pattern, too, so I wouldn't even think about it. I own my grandmother's vintage RTW coat and it is big just like the one you made.
12/25/08 8:59 AM
Rhoda K said...
I really like the style of this coat and it looks so nice on you. Plus, I LOVE corduroy.
12/25/08 12:53 PM
Annette1 said...
Beautiful coat! I love the vintage fit and feel. :o)
12/25/08 8:30 PM
Athene said...
A gorgeous coat. I love the style and yours turned out so great in the corduroy
12/26/08 4:22 AM
BetsyV said...
Terri the coat looks great. Seems to me it's supposed to be plenty roomy.
12/26/08 8:34 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Absolutely stunning coat! I never would have thought to make it in corduroy, but that's part of its classiness. Great selection of fabric! I have a Butterick Retro pattern for a coat similar to this (a little shorter, though) and because of your review, I'm getting the courage to make it. Thanks for such a thorough review.
12/30/08 9:01 AM
katie lynne said...
Oh man, this coat is so dreamy! I gotta try making this, even tho I'll have to grade it up to a plus size (hope this is not just wishful thinking), but I LOVE this look--its so smart. You did a wonderful, wonderful job! Thanks for the detailed review--its great.
1/1/09 7:24 PM
JenYard said...
It looks fabulous! I have a vintage from the 60's and it's big too. Can not wait to make this coat for next winter! I bought the pattern on a whim and now I'm modivated for the spring sales of the winter fabric to find just the right one for this coat! Great JOB! WOW!
1/1/09 8:56 PM
MorganAdcock said...
I love this coat! I'm sure my mother wore one like it when I was a small child, and, of course, she looked gorgeous in it! As we appear to be moving away from the sewn into your clothes look, and full skirts are coming back, this looks like it would be an excellent wardrobe addition, which will look great for a number of years. I'm so glad you made this and reviewed it! I'm thinking a nice camel hair, or melton wool...
10/28/10 12:02 PM
Phillis2 said...
My Mother always told me, "Nothing beats a failure but a try." I've found coats to be challenging but eventually, made my 3rd one recently, they come out great! Keep up the good work.
1/9/13 4:39 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Simplicity 2406 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by dianconia on 3/13/14
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Basic Bolero Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Basic Bolero Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Art Smock Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-7 )
Peek-A Boo Art Smock Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-7 )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1816
photo
Review by Linda0902 on 9/23/13
Read Review

Victory Ava Paper Pattern
Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King
ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6643 Pattern
New Look 6643 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4486 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )
Butterick 4486 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us