SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1083 (Vintage Vogue Coat)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1685 times 
Reviewed by:Terri A
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Terri Astarstarstar
Member since: 1/16/08
Reviews written: 106
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/24/08 8:03 PM
Last Updated:12/25/08 4:10 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Phillis2 said...
My Mother always told me, "Nothing beats a failure but a try." I've found coats to be challenging but eventually, made my 3rd one recently, they come out great! Keep up the good work.
1/9/13 4:39 PM
MorganAdcock said...
I love this coat! I'm sure my mother wore one like it when I was a small child, and, of course, she looked gorgeous in it! As we appear to be moving away from the sewn into your clothes look, and full skirts are coming back, this looks like it would be an excellent wardrobe addition, which will look great for a number of years. I'm so glad you made this and reviewed it! I'm thinking a nice camel hair, or melton wool...
10/28/10 12:02 PM
JenYard said...
It looks fabulous! I have a vintage from the 60's and it's big too. Can not wait to make this coat for next winter! I bought the pattern on a whim and now I'm modivated for the spring sales of the winter fabric to find just the right one for this coat! Great JOB! WOW!
1/1/09 8:56 PM
katie lynne said...
Oh man, this coat is so dreamy! I gotta try making this, even tho I'll have to grade it up to a plus size (hope this is not just wishful thinking), but I LOVE this look--its so smart. You did a wonderful, wonderful job! Thanks for the detailed review--its great.
1/1/09 7:24 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
Absolutely stunning coat! I never would have thought to make it in corduroy, but that's part of its classiness. Great selection of fabric! I have a Butterick Retro pattern for a coat similar to this (a little shorter, though) and because of your review, I'm getting the courage to make it. Thanks for such a thorough review.
12/30/08 9:01 AM
BetsyV said...
Terri the coat looks great. Seems to me it's supposed to be plenty roomy.
12/26/08 8:34 AM
Athene said...
A gorgeous coat. I love the style and yours turned out so great in the corduroy
12/26/08 4:22 AM
Annette1 said...
Beautiful coat! I love the vintage fit and feel. :o)
12/25/08 8:30 PM
Rhoda K said...
I really like the style of this coat and it looks so nice on you. Plus, I LOVE corduroy.
12/25/08 12:53 PM
ryan's mom said...
Beautiful coat! Enjoy the "bigness"--it looks big in the pattern, too, so I wouldn't even think about it. I own my grandmother's vintage RTW coat and it is big just like the one you made.
12/25/08 8:59 AM
Larkin said...
Really beautiful coat! Enjoy the feel of vintage-style beauty wrapped around you!
12/25/08 2:33 AM
Terri A said...
Thanks:-) Very kind of you! I appreciate it - the positive feedback.
12/24/08 11:26 PM
Lori V said...
I think it looks lovely on you.
12/24/08 9:40 PM
Birgitte said...
I love the look of this- including the hat! I was just tearing out a vintage B & W picture from the 20's yesterday, and the woman was wearing something very similar. I love the volume, it's so lux. In my opinion you look fabulous- wear it often!
12/24/08 9:12 PM
EleanorSews said...
Stunning! The use of the corduroy wale makes for an interesting look. This is going to be superb.
12/16/08 11:08 AM
lovenicky said...
I love your coat. I am tempted to buy this pattern now. Please post pictures of you wearing this fabulous coat!
12/16/08 10:04 AM
Terri A said...
Thanks! I have to say this has been a really fun coat so far! Umm - for one thing, no closures! No zippers no buttons. It couldn't be any easier in that regard. I can't wait to wear it, and tho its tough to make certain vintage looks modern and wearable, I can't wait to wear it!
12/16/08 2:59 AM
Lana E said...
looks like its coming along beautifully.
12/13/08 11:03 AM
CynthiaSue said...
definitely looking professional. great job.
12/10/08 5:48 PM
mchick said...
I too loved this pattern when it came out, and will watch your progress with great interest. It looks absolutely wonderful, and can't wait to see it finished, I'm sure you'll love it!
12/9/08 8:03 AM
Lori V said...
Your coat looks wonderful, I can't wait to see the finished garment.
12/8/08 11:07 PM
Annette1 said...
Ooooo, lining in SHELL PINK PEAU DE SOI), that sounds so luscious! I had to really FORCE myself not to buy this pattern when it came out, and now I'm wanting it all over again, thanks to you! :o)
12/8/08 8:07 PM
Lana E said...
I have this pattern too. I want to make it using a wool blend or something of the same weight. I'll be watching your review as well. Good luck and remember to take many breaks so you don't get "sewers cramp"
12/5/08 2:16 AM
Terri A said...
I love it - but I am insecure about it. I don't normally sew for myself. I have never made a coat. Also, in all those formal dresses and wedding gowns there were no pockets to be seen anywhere - so I feel a little NERVOUS... what if the corduroy wrinkles? Oh well - live and learn... I don't think I did a good job at sewing in the pockets. They had you sew the pocket in "as far as possible" and it was just weird... It looks ok - but I hope I do a better job next time.... it is getting there.... but at the moment hanging on my dressform while I recover from the trauma:-)
12/4/08 1:06 AM
Athene said...
Very eager to see your finished coat. I love the pattern and bought it as soon as it came out - but unfortunately I have not made it yet.
12/4/08 0:26 AM
chrisquilts_2 said...
I chickened out of a coat this winter but I'd love to watch your progress.
12/3/08 9:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Other Sew News Oct. 06

photo
by: SewEccentr...

Review
Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

More Info
Newport Tote

Newport Tote

More Info
BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2012-112

photo
by: petro

Review