SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 10-2008-133 (Men's hoodie)

2 more reviews
Viewed 354 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 185
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 271 people
patterns reviewed: 174
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/1/08 9:28 PM
Last Updated:12/8/08 9:21 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 17 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
michellep74 said...
I agree--the facings on this one were ridiculously bulky. I'm planning to make up the other sweatshirt/jacket out of this issue this winter, and I may follow your lead to find a workaround for the overzealous facingness with that one.
12/1/08 10:53 PM
cabinbaby said...
Wow, that is a lot of facings. Thanks for the review on this!
12/1/08 11:11 PM
sewtime said...
Wow, you did a fantastic job!!
12/1/08 11:15 PM
Fairy_Tinkerbell said...
Great job! I like your jacket very much!
12/2/08 3:14 AM
Fran G said...
This looks wonderful, Kay! Actually, it looks perfect! Great solution to the extra bulky facings. Thanks for the review. I am too selfish with my time to sew anything for my husband but I love to sew for my daughter!!!
12/2/08 7:28 AM
marjenann said...
Wow, Kay! That is one awesome jacket! Great tip on the facings!!!
12/2/08 7:48 AM
Johanna Lu said...
The jacket looks great and thank you for the great review. I plan to make this for my BF in the future, and your advice on eliminating the bulky facings was very helpful. I think this is a pretty common fault with Burda, they love adding huge facings to their their stuff.
12/2/08 8:07 AM
Mahler said...
Oh la la, sounds like I would get mixed up assembling this ! The result is excellent though. All those facings gave you trouble but the final results is nice and sleek inside and outside.
12/2/08 10:33 AM
kellyt said...
WOW! That is a very stylish looking hoodie! I love the detailing on this, it really takes the hoodie concept up a notch! Your tips are great too. Thanks for the review. Sew on!
12/2/08 12:07 PM
Christas said...
Wow! You did a great job on this ... looks so nice!
12/2/08 5:49 PM
MichelleE said...
Your result looks great!! I think all the facings would be uncomfortable to wear, which defeats the purpose of a sweatshirt! Great workaround! Why does BWOF tend to complicate things, anyway? I mean seriously, who wants that much facing in a hoodie?!?
12/2/08 9:23 PM
Seaspur said...
What a fabulous looking hoodie!. Do you thing it would be possible to do away with the facings altogether?
12/7/08 3:40 PM
JEF said...
Gorgeous
12/8/08 9:27 AM
MissCelie said...
It's VERY nice looking. Great jacket!
12/8/08 11:12 AM
crisford said...
I was about to go to work on this jacket! Thanks for the tips on all those facings! I think the main problem with facings is when you put the garment on, you then have to spend some time tucking the facings in place. Guys do not do that--half the time, they forget to check their collars. But you did very nice work on this. Your jacket looks beautiful.
12/8/08 11:40 AM
Re Becca said...
That looks so warm! He looks so thrilled to be wearing it!
12/8/08 11:34 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Great looking jacket. The details make all the difference, and you worked out some of the problems for us.
12/9/08 7:21 AM
carolynw said...
Very nice work Kay! Good idea on the facings to reduce bulk.
12/9/08 9:55 AM
Sandil said...
Looks great!! He'll love it, it was such cozy fabric... very stylish!
12/10/08 8:42 PM
kerrynw said...
Lovely jacket! I'm sure your son will LOVE it.
12/31/08 5:42 AM
Hilary said...
That is a really nice looking jacket! thanks for the detailed photos~very helpful!
10/5/09 3:14 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

BurdaStyle Downloadable 7969

photo
by: julliams

Review
Towne Purse

Towne Purse

Buy Now
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Buy Now
Other 1001

photo
by: triangles

Review