Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3123 (Men's jacket) thumbsup - Type:Mens - Jackets    printable version
Viewed 349 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:michellep74
photo
Friend of PR
About michellep74starstarstar
WA USA
Member since: 7/19/07
Reviews written: 141
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 106 people
patterns reviewed: 121
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/1/08 11:34 PM


See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mastdenman said...
Great looking jacket.
12/1/08 11:47 PM
Leora said...
Wow, you really did a great job! I bet he really likes it!!
12/2/08 0:09 AM
PatM said...
The jacket looks great on David. The pattern has some challenging parts, like the welt pockets in the seam, but the KS instructions and diagrams are clear. Many ment's patterns have lots of topstitching, would it be worthwhile getting a special machine foot for topstitching? Great jacket!!
12/2/08 0:58 AM
craftygamma said...
Great jacket & lucky hubby!
12/2/08 7:49 AM
ITAdmin said...
Nice job! I especially like the contrast pockets.
12/2/08 8:05 AM
dbsewer said...
Wonderful jacket. I've been looking for patterns for my nephew who's measurements fit the XXL on KS so I'm glad to see how well they go together. You did a wonderful job and I agree, the fabric is gorgeous.
12/2/08 8:11 AM
Riesie said...
Great jacket. Your work is always terrific. My husband is built like your David (though not as tall) and I was looking for a jacket pattern for him, so it's like you read my mind, LOL!! And thanks for the link to the full abdomen adjustment - so logical when you see it, and yet I never thought of doing it that way.
12/2/08 9:24 AM
Hilary said...
Thanks for reviewing this! I have this in stash and my DH is also 6'2" with a broad back~good to know what alterations were and weren't needed. I am surprised about the lack of adding length! I always have to add length to KS for my DH, so that's good to know. The coat looks *great* and should be very warm in wool!
12/2/08 9:34 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Lucky David. Does that man know what he's getting marrying you? I hope he appreciates all your work cuz that jacket turned out fantastic.
12/2/08 9:45 AM
Rosebeee said...
Great looking jacket!!
12/2/08 9:52 AM
Karen6790 said...
Great jacket, and what a lucky guy to have you to sew for them. He'll be spoiled soon with custom-made clothes! Thanks for the heads-up on this pattern because I think mine is about to graduate from shirts to outerwear and this looks like a great place for me to start.
12/2/08 10:05 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Absolutely terrific jacket, and such a professional sewing job! David is one lucky man!
12/2/08 11:55 AM
snapdragonfly said...
Brilliant review, thanks.
12/2/08 1:05 PM
Sherril Miller said...

12/2/08 4:33 PM
michellep74 said...
Thanks everyone! I'm really, really happy with how this turned out--it's probably one of my favorite things I've ever made.
12/2/08 4:59 PM
Christas said...
Very nice jacket! Looks GREAT!
12/2/08 5:42 PM
Olivia Sews said...
Nice job and great jacket. I added this pattern to my wish list. My DH is another XXL'er and I'm really glad Kwik Sew makes this size!!
12/2/08 6:09 PM
sewtime said...
Your sweetie looks very nice in his jacket! Great job!
12/2/08 7:02 PM
frame said...
You did a great job. It looks terrific.
12/2/08 8:52 PM
Heatherrique said...
Fabulous Eddie Bauer-ish jacket on David! I could tell he really adores the jacket and appreciates the time and effort you put into it! BTW: I love the cap!
12/2/08 11:09 PM
CynthiaSue said...
how fantastic. a jacket for hubby!! all the topstitching so worth it!
12/3/08 1:52 PM
Sheila457 said...
Thanks for the review. Dh has asked me several times to make him a jacket and seriously didn't think there was anything out there. He loves lumber jackets and I think this style would work closely. Great Jacket.
12/4/08 3:30 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Burda 7825 Skirt and top
photo
Review by JenHSchill... on 8/27/10
Read Review

Vogue 1152 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1152 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5507 Pattern( Size One Size )
Butterick 5507 Pattern( Size One Size )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6000
photo
Review by nothy lane on 2/23/14
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Skinny Jeans Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -10 years )
Peek-A Boo Skinny Jeans Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -10 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sandbox Pants + Starfish Stencil Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T) )
Oliver + S Sandbox Pants + Starfish Stencil Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T) )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top
Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us