SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3123 (Men's jacket)

7 more reviews
Viewed 352 times 
Reviewed by:michellep74
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About michellep74starstarstar
WA United States
Member since: 7/19/07
Reviews written: 158
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 109 people
patterns reviewed: 134
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/1/08 11:34 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mastdenman said...
Great looking jacket.
12/1/08 11:47 PM
Leora said...
Wow, you really did a great job! I bet he really likes it!!
12/2/08 0:09 AM
PatM said...
The jacket looks great on David. The pattern has some challenging parts, like the welt pockets in the seam, but the KS instructions and diagrams are clear. Many ment's patterns have lots of topstitching, would it be worthwhile getting a special machine foot for topstitching? Great jacket!!
12/2/08 0:58 AM
craftygamma said...
Great jacket & lucky hubby!
12/2/08 7:49 AM
ITAdmin said...
Nice job! I especially like the contrast pockets.
12/2/08 8:05 AM
dbsewer said...
Wonderful jacket. I've been looking for patterns for my nephew who's measurements fit the XXL on KS so I'm glad to see how well they go together. You did a wonderful job and I agree, the fabric is gorgeous.
12/2/08 8:11 AM
Riesie said...
Great jacket. Your work is always terrific. My husband is built like your David (though not as tall) and I was looking for a jacket pattern for him, so it's like you read my mind, LOL!! And thanks for the link to the full abdomen adjustment - so logical when you see it, and yet I never thought of doing it that way.
12/2/08 9:24 AM
Hilary said...
Thanks for reviewing this! I have this in stash and my DH is also 6'2" with a broad back~good to know what alterations were and weren't needed. I am surprised about the lack of adding length! I always have to add length to KS for my DH, so that's good to know. The coat looks *great* and should be very warm in wool!
12/2/08 9:34 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Lucky David. Does that man know what he's getting marrying you? I hope he appreciates all your work cuz that jacket turned out fantastic.
12/2/08 9:45 AM
Rosebeee said...
Great looking jacket!!
12/2/08 9:52 AM
Karen6790 said...
Great jacket, and what a lucky guy to have you to sew for them. He'll be spoiled soon with custom-made clothes! Thanks for the heads-up on this pattern because I think mine is about to graduate from shirts to outerwear and this looks like a great place for me to start.
12/2/08 10:05 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Absolutely terrific jacket, and such a professional sewing job! David is one lucky man!
12/2/08 11:55 AM
snapdragonfly said...
Brilliant review, thanks.
12/2/08 1:05 PM
Sherril Miller said...

12/2/08 4:33 PM
michellep74 said...
Thanks everyone! I'm really, really happy with how this turned out--it's probably one of my favorite things I've ever made.
12/2/08 4:59 PM
Christas said...
Very nice jacket! Looks GREAT!
12/2/08 5:42 PM
Olivia Sews said...
Nice job and great jacket. I added this pattern to my wish list. My DH is another XXL'er and I'm really glad Kwik Sew makes this size!!
12/2/08 6:09 PM
sewtime said...
Your sweetie looks very nice in his jacket! Great job!
12/2/08 7:02 PM
frame said...
You did a great job. It looks terrific.
12/2/08 8:52 PM
Heatherrique said...
Fabulous Eddie Bauer-ish jacket on David! I could tell he really adores the jacket and appreciates the time and effort you put into it! BTW: I love the cap!
12/2/08 11:09 PM
CynthiaSue said...
how fantastic. a jacket for hubby!! all the topstitching so worth it!
12/3/08 1:52 PM
Sheila457 said...
Thanks for the review. Dh has asked me several times to make him a jacket and seriously didn't think there was anything out there. He loves lumber jackets and I think this style would work closely. Great Jacket.
12/4/08 3:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

New Look 6095

photo
by: Jstarr4250

Review
Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now