Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sewing Workshop: Won Ton Blouse (Won Ton Blouse) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1755 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/26/03 2:11 AM
Last Updated:9/27/03 2:09 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
els said...
Ann you did it again, another great outfit. Beautiful fabric for the won ton blouse.
9/26/03 2:22 AM
jlg said...
Ann, that looks beautiful on you. You did a much better job than I was able to do with this pattern.
9/26/03 5:33 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Very pretty! Great fabric for the pattern, even if it was !!! to sew!
9/26/03 7:21 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Ann, when I saw that the WonTon had been reviewed I knew it would be by you! Another fabulous garment - I have been looking at this pattern for awhile.
9/26/03 7:24 AM
Skymom said...
Gorgeous, Ann. This is an interesting pattern--the neckline in particular (though obviously not a straightforward application) is really flattering.
9/26/03 7:30 AM
Georgene said...
Ann, I saw this pattern in an ad in Threads. It looks much better on you than their line drawing! Looks like it could be a very versatile pattern for you.
9/27/03 2:40 PM
KarmenG said...
Ann - Does the blouse feel good on? Sometimes those type of sleeves reduce arm movement; or the garment doesn't stay put on the shoulders - is you comfortable to wear?
9/27/03 6:03 PM
Ann Smith said...
Karmeng, very comfortable. The sleeves are quite wide but are long enough so one's undergarments aren't exposed. I think because it is slightly fitted at the high hip/waist area it stays put nicely.
9/27/03 7:09 PM
Tee Jay said...
I am allergic to zippers at this time, do you think lapping the band over and closing with a button , maybe with snaps up higher would do?
9/27/03 11:50 PM
Ann Smith said...
Tee Jay: definitely. I was wishing I had done that after the fussing over the zipper. I can almost get it off with opening the zipper...it just hangs up a bit on my bosum so you might try it before doing anything. Just pin, maybe it will go over your head. I would also change the order slightly and attach the band before sewing the right side seam. That way you can try on before topstitching and adjust both sides equally for size.
9/28/03 0:28 AM
Ann Smith said...
Tee Jay: that is.... without opening the zipper.
9/28/03 0:31 AM
LaVonne Schulze said...
I am going to make this blouse from beautiful hand-dyed silk. Comments most useful.
10/8/03 3:52 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Ann, Really enjoyed looking at your beautiful projects. I loved the Won Ton blouse. I am wondering if the horizontal just below waistline of this blouse will accentuate my ample hips.
10/17/03 10:16 AM
Ann Smith said...
Leslie: If you use a fabric that is low in contrast with your skirt or pants it should look great. Because the blouse "blouses" it softens the line.
10/18/03 11:17 AM
kathi s said...
Ann, I have just bought a beautiful piece of Japanese shantung-like light cotton at a quilt show with the aim of making it into the Won Ton blouse. I have only just enough for the blouse (I hope!) and so am trying to avoid problems. You mentioned that the zipper was hard to put in and that perhaps it would be better to use a shorter zipper. About how long would you recommend? I am 5'4" and full bust measurement is 38" grading out to 26+" at waist. Any other pitfalls other than the ones you mentioned? Thanks so much for all your excellent reviews!
2/7/04 6:12 PM
Edina said...
I have made this top too. It is quite becoming. I agree the v-neck was more difficult than I anticipated and the pattern was marked incorrectly at the neck. It is a very comfortable top but you need to wear a camisol underneath because you can see in the arm holes!
4/7/04 6:45 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Kwik Sew 3854 Shorts
photo
Review by pterion on 5/20/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (6M-4) Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (6M-4) Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6594
photo
Review by SueV on 6/9/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7074 Pattern
Burda 7074 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5554 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5554 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us