SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Threads Magazine> #137 (Five-Rectangle Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 794 times 
Reviewed by:Teri
photo

 
 
About Teristar
ID USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 17 people
patterns reviewed: 43
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/5/08 9:51 AM
Last Updated:12/6/08 6:21 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Physics Girl said...
Maybe because it's really cold here (and wearing a blanket sounds FABULOUS)... but I'm really finding your jacket one of the most lovely ones I've seen lately. What a wonderful way to showcase a special handwoven fabric!
12/5/08 10:21 AM
Izzie said...
I can see what you mean about the bulkiness, but on the other hand it really is an interesting and edgy looking jacket. I'm glad you reviewed it since I have a sweater knit that needs a pattern like this one and I'll be pulling out this issue of Threads. Thanks!
12/5/08 11:31 AM
MaryDB said...
That jacket is darling! It's a contemporary take on a mink chub jacket. Wonderful fabric. I bet it looks great on.
12/5/08 11:32 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Looks great! Very interesting pattern idea, too.
12/5/08 11:51 AM
j222b said...
I like it. But I might like it better with front button or snap or? closure so it doesn't fall open. I'd wear with black or solid color turtleneck and pants. Yum. The Hand loomed fabric is wonderful, too. Pattern might be sort of a Cocoon made famous by Neiman Marcus. Still popular-do a NM search.
12/5/08 1:36 PM
sew42mom said...
Good gracious! It's lovely, and I absolutely love it. Like you, I prefer my jackets to be more fitted, but I love this that I may have to look at what I've got in stash and make my own.
12/5/08 2:14 PM
Angelia74 said...
I think this is a very nice jacket and if it gets cold enough.. who cares about the bulk! as long as lits warm!
12/5/08 2:22 PM
zora said...
I understand what you mean about the bulkiness but I actually like the shape of the jacket. I think it's a great pattern for a fabric like yours.
12/5/08 3:42 PM
cathy hansen said...
It's lovely! And as a weaver, I'm delighted to see handwoven fabric being used!! For anyone else out there with a piece of handwoven in their stash ruminating, DON'T BE AFRAID OF IT!! Especially if you have a serger- it is very forgiving and easy to work with. My favorite patterns are Loes Hinse's jackets- they're simple in form and fit so well- the only change I make is to recreate the front and front facing pieces as one to reduce bulk. Great job Teri- you'll get lots of compliments on your fabulous jacket!!
12/5/08 4:34 PM
tlmck3 said...
I love this jacket. The shape is great--very versatile-- and the fabric is lovely. I'd wear it to death if it were in my closet.
12/5/08 7:05 PM
chacha45 said...
Wear it and I'll bet you fall in love with it. It is beautiful.
12/5/08 8:13 PM
Dee2 said...
It is a beautiful jacket & wonderful use of handwoven fabric. I hope you wear it--I think the more you wear it, the more you will love it!
12/5/08 9:02 PM
Athene said...
The fabric choice is great - its a wonderful jacket.
12/5/08 9:39 PM
HLT said...
WOW! Hand woven fabric! Very nice jacket! Up the fabulosity with a contrasting leather belt!
12/5/08 10:32 PM
jannw said...
I like it..but would you be more comfortable wearing it in a drapier fabric? Seems like you might loose some of the design lines that make it unique. Love the fabric..beautiful
12/5/08 11:47 PM
Sharon1952 said...
The texture of that fabric is to die for!! Nice work.
12/6/08 8:52 AM
Terri K said...
Hi Teri - Great fabric choice - I'll bet this is a cozy third layer for these cold days! I made this jacket out of linen right after I read the article. I had a piece of handkerchief linen with some imperfections - great for playing with. I made no measurement changes and the width overwhelms me. It would be better if I made it around 50" around like I did with the Shapes High Five jacket and I also widened the sleeves. You can see the photos on my Shapes flickr set since it's rectangle based as well.
12/6/08 11:08 AM
Michelle L said...
Your fabric is gorgeous, and the simple lines of the jacket is a great way to show off a hand-woven fabric. I'm afraid if the pattern was more complex, you woudn't see quite so much of the beauty of the fabric. I think it is a fantastic choice. I really like it.
12/6/08 2:35 PM
Izzie said...
The jacket looks great on you! I looked at the Threads article last night and noticed it was written by Linda Lee. I wonder if this is the same pattern as the Plaza jacket? It certainly looks similar.
12/6/08 7:25 PM
KarmenG said...
Wonderful jacket - looks great on you! I'm glad you liked wearing it. I also have a piece of handwoven I purchased from Linda Kubik and haven't decided what to make with it. Thanks for the inspiration!
12/6/08 7:37 PM
Sherril Miller said...
That style really does suit you. I saw the article and thought that it was a stupid idea trying to fit a female body with rectangles. However, your jacket really turned out great.
12/6/08 8:56 PM
AngieC said...
I love your version of the jacket and it looks perfect with jeans and a turtleneck! I'm searching for my issue right now! Thanks for a great review~
12/6/08 10:00 PM
jannw said...
even better looking on..thanx for showing that picture
12/6/08 10:10 PM
KarmenG said...
I agree with Sherril - I was skeptical about the concept and your review has helped us visualize how great the outcome can be.
12/6/08 11:11 PM
zora said...
I already said that I love the jacket but now I'd like to add that I think it really suits you. It's kinda bulky, yes but in a nice way and fabric and pattern come together quite beautifully. I am tempted to try something similar!
12/7/08 8:02 AM
VtMartha said...
Lovely jacket!
12/7/08 8:32 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice. Love the fabric!
12/7/08 4:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

McCall's 3206

photo
by: Sixtiesgir...

Review
Purse-Nickities

Purse-Nickities

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Buy Now