Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Contest: New Techniques 2008 (Contest 2008) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2273 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 28 people   
Reviewed by:Birdie757
photo
About Birdie757star
MA
Member since: 5/10/07
Reviews written: 78
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 74
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/31/08 7:33 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Izzie said...
Congratulations for getting this technique conquered! Your top looks nice and the V neck is indeed flattering on you.
12/31/08 8:20 PM
Sharon1952 said...
Very nice looking top. It suits you perfectly.
1/1/09 7:52 AM
Judy Wentz said...
You nailed it. Congratulations.
1/1/09 9:26 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Congratulations on mastering the V neck! Your final samples/garments look superb. Very professional! And thanks for sharing so much of the process so others can learn from your experience.
1/1/09 11:54 AM
wendlesue said...
Very nice work! I love your final garments!
1/1/09 12:19 PM
Diana M said...
Great work, not only on the actual garment, but in testing ways to sew v-necks and choosing the one that works for YOU!
1/1/09 2:56 PM
Honeyface said...
I found this extremely helpful. I've been working on V necks and this makes a lot of sense. Thanks!
1/1/09 5:48 PM
misscoleen said...
Thank you for a great description. The step by step photos really help. Congratulations on mastering this technique. Your top looks great!
1/7/09 6:49 PM
AnneM said...
Great job, and excellent information in your pictures. Congratulations on your new skill.
1/11/09 11:06 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Congratulations on winning the New Techniques Contest!
1/11/09 3:07 PM
mhk3boys said...
I love this technique! The finished shirt looks so great. Your instructions are awesome. I wish the pattern companies had someone as talented as you to write instructions. Or you need to make your own sewing instructions blog or book!
1/13/09 1:06 PM
Nancy K said...
A wonderful review and great results. It amazes me that people try a new technique without ever making samples. You have a well executed v neck t shirt for a little extra work that you can now easily repeat.
1/13/09 5:50 PM
Sewing Gal said...
Nice job. Great review. Thanks for helping all of us.
1/14/09 10:23 AM
Vicky C said...
Terrific review! It's not only very informative but your enthusiasm is definitely catching!! Thank you!
1/14/09 11:17 AM
YvetteO said...
Wow that is a relevation! It makes a V neck so easy. I had given up on V neck facings. Thankyou so much for taking the time to write those instructions.
1/14/09 5:01 PM
Birdie757 said...
Thank you all so much for all your kind messages. It really means so much to know that others found my entry to be helpful.
1/14/09 6:56 PM
Athene said...
Congratulations. Your final t-shirt looks very nice. Explanations and photos were very helpful and informative.
1/18/09 3:38 AM
Trixie1955 said...
All I can say is, "A-HA! Brilliant!" Thanks for the great lesson. It definitely will be handy.
1/18/09 2:29 PM
magpie55 said...
What a great review, and pictures. I have one question (which you may have mentioned, but I missed) Did you use a similar fabric for the neckband and the shirt fabric? The shirts look great on you. You really deseved to win!!
1/18/09 9:28 PM
Birdie757 said...
magpie55, samples 1 and two are made from knit interlock with knit ribbing for the neck band. Samples three is made from knit interlock and the neck band is of the same interlock. The 4th sample is a hodge podge of fabric. The shirt is a mystery knit recycled from a dress that I never really liked and the neckband is left over from some white interlock tops I made my 3 year old. I prefer to work with the ribbing, but in reality it is just too hard to find coordinating ribbing.
1/19/09 7:15 AM
Sewreal2037 said...
Thank you so much. I can't wait to try this on a project I will be doing this weekend.
1/22/09 6:57 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Vintage Pattern Lending Library 1251
photo
Review by lauramae on 4/23/14
Read Review

You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern
SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Bag Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Bag Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3276
photo
Review by Learn To S... on 8/7/06
Read Review

Vogue 8862 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8862 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6917 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6917 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us