Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 7635 (Aline dress from 1968) - Type:Out of Print Classics    printable version
Viewed 286 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 295
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 295
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/7/08 2:23 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Em's Summer said...
What a great dress! And even if Hollywood types get their thin figures back quickly, what they go though to get there is not worth it. I'd rather eat and be happy at a normal size than starve, work out like crazy and be thin. You're normal size and look great in that dress!
12/7/08 2:37 PM
Michelle L said...
Very cute!! I love the pattern, and with or without the scallops it is adorable!
12/7/08 2:41 PM
Riordan said...
Dress is very cute!! (I remember this original pattern from my early 20's--gulp!) You and your daughter look wonderful--dress shows your great legs, too!
12/7/08 3:03 PM
persevering said...
Congratulations on losing a few pounds and looking so good in this dress. You've figured out what works for you! Keep doing it. (It took me about 6 years to lose an average of 6 pounds a year - and I am maintaining it the same way I lost it - physical activity that works for me (swimming, biking, walking) and NO junk food (no processed foods, healthy diet). I'm a 56 year old mother with 2 kids, 35 & 29, and have to work hard at everything.
12/7/08 3:30 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
I have this pattern!!! My grandma recently gave me this pattern!!! HOW FUNNY!!! I just LOVE your dress!!! It is just FABULOUS!!!
12/7/08 3:37 PM
marec said...
I really like this dress-thanks for the trip down memory lane. I even had a pink paisley A line very similar to this pattern in the late 60s. gack, I wore it with white boots! Again, a cute look for you-keep focusing on your beautiful face and figure, not Jessica Alba!! :-)
12/7/08 3:38 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Cute dress! Heather is adorable.
12/7/08 4:24 PM
ITAdmin said...
You may not believe it, but I had a dress made from this pattern in 1968. I was in 9th grade and thought it was the cutest dress ever. Mine was red as well, but it was the view with the scalloped neckline and hem. One of my classmates had a dress from a similar pattern with long scalloped "bell" sleeves. Yours is really cute; thanks for the memories.
12/7/08 5:24 PM
HLT said...
It's so groovy baby! LOL! Love vintage patterns. Good update!
12/7/08 6:14 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I can certainly see why this is such a popular pattern. This dress looks SO nice on you AND very flattering, I might add, even with the buckaroo fabric from le Wal Marche! (By the way, I didn't know ITY knits were flattering and forgiving, or I would have replaced everything in my sewing room with ITY!) I can just see this dress made up in so many different fabrics, and every one of them would look great! Heather's little outfit is SO cute, too! I can't get over y'all standing there in short sleeves and sandals. It's 34 degrees here, and that's actually the high spot for the week. :o) Beautiful dress!
12/7/08 7:00 PM
Beek said...
Congratulations! You look great in your red dress!
12/7/08 7:50 PM
Twinset said...
This is a great look on you and red is definitely a color made for you!
12/7/08 10:08 PM
katlew03 said...
When ITAdmin mentioned the scallops, I checked the pattern picture. Sure enough, I made this dress with scallops in 1968 out of bright yellow linen. It's funny, but I was thinking about that dress a few days ago, and now you post another version of it. Strange things happen. Anyway, love the dress, it was a favorite. You look great in yours.
12/7/08 11:22 PM
pterion said...
This cute dress looks great on you! I'm inspired to comb through my MIL's pattern stash to see if I can find this one!
12/8/08 1:31 PM
kim*brown said...
Very nice!! Adorable little girl too!
12/8/08 2:22 PM
Christas said...
Your dress turned out so nice! I have this pattern and was thrilled to see your review. Yours looks GREAT!
12/8/08 6:26 PM
shesflipped said...
Beautiful dress, very flattering on you! I enjoyed your link to 1968~what a great music year...the Bee Gees's were so cute! Enjoy wearing your dress, it's a very festive color which looks fabulous on you!
12/9/08 9:04 AM
Karen8320 said...
Louella, you look great in this style of dress and well done on losing a bit of weight. Who cares about Jessica Alba? I'm sure she knows nothing about sewing and certainly not as much as you. You are a REAL woman, you have a FABULOUS personality and you always look great in your lovely creations. This pattern would look great in other fabrics. Well done!
1/26/09 7:44 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Other 2321B
photo
Review by CA Eisenho... on 6/6/08
Read Review

Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size birth - 24m )
Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size birth - 24m )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Beach Bum Bermuda Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Beach Bum Bermuda Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7579 PANTSUIT
photo
Review by tiadia on 9/13/12
Read Review

Petite Plus 605 Pattern
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1413 Pattern ( Size S )
Simplicity 1413 Pattern ( Size S )

Details
Price: $2.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4213 Pattern( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )
Simplicity 4213 Pattern( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us