Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7277 (Wrap Halter Dress) - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 2371 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:monahan
photo
About monahanstar
SC USA
Member since: 7/9/03
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/29/03 10:50 AM
Last Updated:9/29/03 11:03 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Georgene said...
It must have been great with the matching wrap and bag that you reviewed previously! Do you have a photo with you all dolled up in the whole ensemble? I'm sure no one else noticed the fitting flaws that were so apparent to you, as the effect is quite wonderful.
9/29/03 12:16 PM
monahan said...
Thanks, Georgene. I'll try to get a photo from the ball to post.
9/29/03 12:38 PM
Skymom said...
You look great in the dress, and I really enjoyed the edge-of-the-tub photo. I usually stand on the toilet lid to get a good full=length view of my creations. We sure are glamourous!
9/29/03 12:53 PM
Evatgirl73 said...
What a pretty dress! It looks like it fits you really well, I can't notice the flaws you see... but we are all our toughest critics. It looks really nice!!
9/29/03 1:44 PM
AnneM said...
I love the photo - and the candles in the bath! As for the dress, it does look lovely and luckily most people don't notice the contruction details.
9/29/03 1:56 PM
Ann B. said...
It's a beautiful, nicely fitted dress monahan. I agree with Eva, don't be too hard on yourself. I for one like the rubber duckie companion.
9/29/03 2:26 PM
Georgene said...
I just had to note the pose similar to the Winged Victory af Samothraki statue in the Louvre Museum, Paris....a great acheivement on the edge of the tub!
9/29/03 2:33 PM
Tee Jay said...
I am so stupid sometimes, when I first saw the pic I thought, why would you stand in a tub for a picture? I always grab a family member, so haven't done the mirror for self-portrait trick yet. I think the dress looks great, rather va-va-va-voomish don't you think? Lovely buttons at the waist. Hope you had a good time at the event. This dress is far more advanced than I could try.
9/29/03 5:43 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very impressive bathtub acrobatics! I appreciate the lengths you went to allow your fellow sewists to view your creation. The dress is lovely, and the red under white gives a very nice effect. Georgene, I think there may also be a slight resemblance to Venus de Milo as well -- no head, no arms!
9/29/03 5:49 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Monahan you look absolutely gorgeous! A very beautiful gown, we tend to see our own mistakes 'cos we deal with them , but I'm pretty sure noone else did, you looked so stunning, congrats!!!!!
9/30/03 1:24 AM
monahan said...
Thanks for all the encouragement everyone. Tee Jay, this is a very simple pattern (Rated Very Easy on the pattern). Bet you'd have no problem with it.
9/30/03 9:18 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Monahan, just like everyone else I ddidn't see any construction flaws! It's a beautiful dress. Your tub photo has inspired me to give the candle holder to D(almost)MIL, who takes candlelight baths with a book every night. Ahh! Thanks for an unwitting tip. :)
9/30/03 11:05 AM
Annette H said...
This is a stunner - wear it to the Oscars!
3/8/04 6:00 AM
venetus said...
I loved your choice of fabric! It looks great on you!
4/2/07 10:38 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Kwik Sew 2935 Kwik Sew
photo
Review by Gladys on 8/6/06
Read Review

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern
SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Full Bust DVD
Full Bust DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Little Bow Pleat Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Little Bow Pleat Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things A Pretty Good Bag Digital Pattern (005)
Simple Things A Pretty Good Bag Digital Pattern (005)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6674 Wrap Dress
photo
Review by reethi on 9/7/10
Read Review

McCalls 6548 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6548 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1691 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1691 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us