SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7277 (Wrap Halter Dress)

1 more reviews
Viewed 2375 times 
Reviewed by:monahan
photo

 
 
About monahanstar
SC USA
Member since: 7/9/03
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/29/03 10:50 AM
Last Updated:9/29/03 11:03 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
venetus said...
I loved your choice of fabric! It looks great on you!
4/2/07 10:38 AM
Annette H said...
This is a stunner - wear it to the Oscars!
3/8/04 6:00 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Monahan, just like everyone else I ddidn't see any construction flaws! It's a beautiful dress. Your tub photo has inspired me to give the candle holder to D(almost)MIL, who takes candlelight baths with a book every night. Ahh! Thanks for an unwitting tip. :)
9/30/03 11:05 AM
monahan said...
Thanks for all the encouragement everyone. Tee Jay, this is a very simple pattern (Rated Very Easy on the pattern). Bet you'd have no problem with it.
9/30/03 9:18 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
Monahan you look absolutely gorgeous! A very beautiful gown, we tend to see our own mistakes 'cos we deal with them , but I'm pretty sure noone else did, you looked so stunning, congrats!!!!!
9/30/03 1:24 AM
CarolynGM said...
Very impressive bathtub acrobatics! I appreciate the lengths you went to allow your fellow sewists to view your creation. The dress is lovely, and the red under white gives a very nice effect. Georgene, I think there may also be a slight resemblance to Venus de Milo as well -- no head, no arms!
9/29/03 5:49 PM
Tee Jay said...
I am so stupid sometimes, when I first saw the pic I thought, why would you stand in a tub for a picture? I always grab a family member, so haven't done the mirror for self-portrait trick yet. I think the dress looks great, rather va-va-va-voomish don't you think? Lovely buttons at the waist. Hope you had a good time at the event. This dress is far more advanced than I could try.
9/29/03 5:43 PM
Georgene said...
I just had to note the pose similar to the Winged Victory af Samothraki statue in the Louvre Museum, Paris....a great acheivement on the edge of the tub!
9/29/03 2:33 PM
Ann B. said...
It's a beautiful, nicely fitted dress monahan. I agree with Eva, don't be too hard on yourself. I for one like the rubber duckie companion.
9/29/03 2:26 PM
AnneM said...
I love the photo - and the candles in the bath! As for the dress, it does look lovely and luckily most people don't notice the contruction details.
9/29/03 1:56 PM
Evatgirl73 said...
What a pretty dress! It looks like it fits you really well, I can't notice the flaws you see... but we are all our toughest critics. It looks really nice!!
9/29/03 1:44 PM
Skymom said...
You look great in the dress, and I really enjoyed the edge-of-the-tub photo. I usually stand on the toilet lid to get a good full=length view of my creations. We sure are glamourous!
9/29/03 12:53 PM
monahan said...
Thanks, Georgene. I'll try to get a photo from the ball to post.
9/29/03 12:38 PM
Georgene said...
It must have been great with the matching wrap and bag that you reviewed previously! Do you have a photo with you all dolled up in the whole ensemble? I'm sure no one else noticed the fitting flaws that were so apparent to you, as the effect is quite wonderful.
9/29/03 12:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2011-140

photo
by: nowak

Review
SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

More Info
Sew Liberated Bohemian Carpet Bag Pattern

Sew Liberated Bohemian  Carpet Bag Pattern

More Info
BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2013-104A

photo
by: Kemish

Review