SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Christine Jonson> 1025 (BaseWearTwo)

38 more reviews
Viewed 1484 times 
Reviewed by:nancy2001
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About nancy2001starstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 12/3/05
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 132 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/18/08 6:35 PM
Last Updated:9/30/12 6:10 AM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 33 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewtime said...
Fantastic tops!! Love the color! Love your review!
12/18/08 7:36 PM
Bobbie K said...
I am as excited as you are. I have been on a Tshirt search for years but I've bee so disappointed and thought it's my 50+overweight body. I just made the BW2 tee size L and it fits like a dream....skims,not too tight and very flattering. I thing it knocks off 10 lbs.! Bobbie
12/18/08 7:54 PM
Amanda S. said...
This looks perfect. Love the color as well.
12/18/08 8:40 PM
chacha45 said...
I'm buying it! Thanks for the very,very helpful review.
12/18/08 8:52 PM
Lori V said...
Looks fantastic. Thanks for the very informative review.
12/18/08 9:19 PM
strongnow said...
Wow! I have just begun the great tee pattern search, so this information is invaluable. Thank you very much. Also I looked at the Christine Jonson site and fell in love with the designs and fabrics. Thank you so much for this review.
12/18/08 9:45 PM
marec said...
Nice, nice, nice! Is the turtleneck on the original pattern too loose? I also like a snug turtleneck. Off to buy this pattern.
12/18/08 9:50 PM
Barbara3 said...
Absolutely wonderful review, Nancy. Thanks very much! I have and really like this pattern. I noticed that fabric.com has it on sale right now for $14.38 - if anyone is interested. You can find it HERE
12/18/08 10:24 PM
okie2thdoc said...
Wow, this the best review I've seen in a long time. Thanks for being so particular on how you displayed this for us.
12/18/08 11:43 PM
Barbara3 said...

12/18/08 11:44 PM
Em's Summer said...
Perfect! Just a perfect review for a beautiful top!
12/18/08 11:45 PM
Gelbean said...
Another great top Nancy. I always enjoy reading your very detailed reviews.
12/19/08 6:25 AM
Karine said...
Thanks for the great review. I have CJ's BW2 pattern and have never used it - I will now after reading about your experience. Thanks, also for the helpful tips on the clear plastic template and also your fav t-shirt fabric!
12/19/08 7:27 AM
shesflipped said...
Thank you for your very informative review. All of the tops you've shown are beautifully crafted and elegant. I can't wait to try this pattern!
12/19/08 7:30 AM
Bobbie K said...
I meant to add in my review how fabulous YOUR tees look!Great job and thanks for the informative review!
12/19/08 9:04 AM
nancy2001 said...
Thank you all for your kind compliments. Marec, my neck is so long and skinny I didn't even try the BW2 turtleneck pattern piece. I simply made my own using a 6" by 15" strip and a 1/4" seam allowance. Then I sewed four 3/4" darts to tighten it further.
12/19/08 9:50 AM
Darla in PA said...
Your tops are fantasic. I just purchased this pattern to try. Hope when I get around to making a top it looks as good as yours.
12/19/08 9:51 AM
Sewing Chick said...
Thanks for the great review. I have been contemplating this pattern, but hesitated because it's such a basic. However, I think I'll order it when I order the other new top pattern Christine has.
12/19/08 10:01 AM
carolynw said...
This is perfect - have you been reading the current topic on men preferrign red LOL - you will certainly be turnign heads with this on. Must get this pattern!! Very helpfull review
12/19/08 10:23 AM
CSM--Carla said...
Love your top--great review, Nancy!! Clever use of darts in the turtle neck. Great tip about the acrylic templates! Thank you for sharing!! Carla
12/19/08 2:56 PM
Judy Wentz said...
I just bought this pattern, now I can hardly wait for it to get here.
12/19/08 4:45 PM
tlmck3 said...
Thanks for the extra pictures and tips. Your topstitching at the neckline of the turtleneck and the hem are both perfect. This is such a great pattern and you have taken it to new levels with your pattern morphing skills and your careful attention to construction details.
12/19/08 4:57 PM
Beek said...
Thanks for sharing this fabulous discovery! What a valuble review you've provided all of us.
12/20/08 9:30 AM
Heatherrique said...
Wow, Nancy! Big KUDOS to you! Great looking top! I would love to see you modeling it for us. Thanks for sharing your fitting and sewing journey! Hmmm...looks like you need to upgrade your rating on your profile!
12/20/08 10:22 AM
Debbie S said...
Great shirt and info. Thanks for the fabric sites and choices Deb
12/20/08 1:51 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
You are one thorough woman! Love your detailed review.. perfection along with a perfection T-top. I hope Sewing Santa rewards you well this year!
12/21/08 9:20 AM
DorothyK said...
Thanks for this marvelous review. I'm going to buy this pattern today, and will reread your review when I make it. Your t-shirt looks beautiful. It's so wonderful to find the perfect pattern and use it many times.
12/21/08 10:34 AM
Cultured Purl said...
Thank you for the excellant review! I am searching for THE perfet TNT shirt and have Cj's patterns now ~ that said, after looking into my old ( yet lovely ) stash I realize that I may not be able to get the shirt I want b/c many of these fabrics have only about a 35-40% stretch no lycra,so I am somewhat confused if this pattern limits me to only using the very new and updated CJ fabrics ( or others) but CJ does have fabric to die for! MY problem is this,,,,does this pattern really restrict me so as not to use other very high quality fabric but w/o lycra? I know it clearly says on the envelope developed for Lycra ony fabrics,so that mean purchasing lots of new fabric,when I DO want to use some of the fantastic fabrics I have when an lovely shop that stocked high end knits went out of business. I am afraid I will have to resort to using only Kwik Sew to use these fabrics tho the pattern percentage in the envelope IS encouraging, but seriously I do not want to cut up " good fabric" when I can for certain get a kwik sew out of it and make adustments ~I guess I feel very restricted to fabrics in using this pattern in terms of fabric,,,do you have ANY suggestions? I have contacted Cj for info and have not received an email back and DO want to cut out fabrics for spring time wear Upsizing, is that the plan? Help would be greatly appreciated tho I do not know if anyone re reads their own posts , so I feel kind of out there on my own in figuring it out and am not getting much help from the designer on this one. THANKS for any help you may offer me,it helps me re enter knit sewing but boy oh boy have the knits changed! ANYONE, help please!!!!!!!!! thanks to PR for ANY help getting this squared away,,,,I So want to use the independant pattern companies but have found return emails non existent,,,,( just noting something that is NO help to someone venturing into this world of knits again,,,,,,) Thanks so much and I do hope to get some help from someone so I can get cutting!
3/12/10 0:29 AM
nancy2001 said...
I just saw your comment on my review. To answer your question, you can use what ever knit you like for the CJ BW2 pattern. I disregard her instructions completely and just use the patterrn. My advice to you is to give yourself permission to freely experiment with inexpensive fabrics. Remember many of the "rules" in sewing are meant to be broken.
5/21/10 6:53 AM
JDpenelope said...
Nancy, Great review and top! Can't believe that I missed it until now. Like Cultured Purl, I was apprehensive about the 100% lycra stretch fabric that was recommended. Lycra tends to be hot, even at much lower percentages. But, thanks to your recommendation, I will throw caution to the wind, test on a cheap fabric, and hope to get something approaching your excellent results. My pattern has been shipped. Thanks, again.
4/18/12 8:15 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Thanks for such an informative review. I will RUN to buy this pattern.
9/30/12 12:48 PM
annakeeton said...
Great turtlenecks for layering or by themselves.
9/30/12 5:08 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Enlightening! Many thanks.
9/30/12 9:23 PM
Baja Susana said...
Nancy, dare I repeat myself and say Gorgeous, Beautiful and stylish? Your in-depth review makes me want to order this pattern as well. And I am glad to hear that Lycra is not a required fabric, simply too hot for my climate. I have been hankering after animal prints in knit. Wonderful review, lovely fabric choices, and excellent construction.
9/30/12 10:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

McCall's 5975

photo
by: tigergirl

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2012-115

photo
by: Sewingelle

Review
Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Buy Now
Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Buy Now