SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8409 (MISSES' DRESS)

19 more reviews
Viewed 949 times 
Reviewed by:cindyann
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About cindyannstarstar
FL USA
Member since: 8/5/02
Reviews written: 42
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/22/08 10:25 AM
Last Updated:12/22/08 10:31 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
HLT said...
A lovely classic looking dress. Nice job!
12/24/08 0:38 AM
DivaQ said...
This is a nice dress!
12/23/08 9:47 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Great dress Cindy Ann!
12/23/08 8:58 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I think your dress looks good on you. I can appreciate and have felt the not wanting to deal with it feeling when several fitting issues keep cropping up. Again I think your dress looks great,but we all know that the wearer is the one that has the final feeling/say.
12/23/08 5:34 AM
Dei said...
This is a polished piece and you look wonderful.
12/22/08 11:15 PM
Heatherrique said...
Electrifying dress on you, CindyAnn!
12/22/08 7:50 PM
Sew4Fun said...
The dress turned out lovely depite your sewing issues. Thanks for the helpful review. I have the See&Sew Butterick version (which is the same pattern) on my to-sew list.
12/22/08 7:10 PM
nancy2001 said...
Lovely dress.
12/22/08 6:33 PM
Re Becca said...
That looks so good on you... Thanks for the thorough review.
12/22/08 6:10 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Your dress turned out beautifully and it fits you really nicely! I'm sorry that the pattern gave you conniptions and that you don't like the finished product. Maybe with a little time you'll forget the pain of its creation (like childbirth?). I made your dress's twin sister (in a slightly different colorway) a few weeks ago--suppose I should get it hemmed and reviewed!
12/22/08 5:11 PM
Lori V said...
Thanks for the review. The dress looks fantastic.
12/22/08 4:55 PM
EleanorSews said...
In spite of the issues you had along the way, the dress appears to fit beutifully and it certainly has a nice range of flexibility from work thru dress occasions.
12/22/08 4:22 PM
Birgitte said...
You look very elegant, a beautiful design on you. Great review.
12/22/08 3:15 PM
carolynw said...
I think you look totally fab in this dress - even tho you had some issues you can be sure you will look elegant and lovely in thsi dress!
12/22/08 2:21 PM
loohoo44 said...
I also can't see any of the issues you're talking about, it looks fabulous!
12/22/08 1:45 PM
Karen6790 said...
Elegant is definitely the word for this dress. The fit is beautiful and the style itself is classic. You'll get years of wear out of this, and your fitting issues don't show at all. Beautiful.
12/22/08 1:38 PM
Mahler said...
Excellent review. This issues you mention do not show up on pictures. Your dress is gorgeous. I love the fit on you. You did great !!! to answer your question, yes sometimes I live with little misfit issues because I just do not fill like unstitch difficult parts of garment. You will see in an upcoming review. I recently had problem with a skirt and decided on finishing it and wearing it anyway. With time, you will forget those little, little flaws. ;-)
12/22/08 1:29 PM
nannykk said...
Lovely dress. A perfect fit. Congratulations!
12/22/08 12:28 PM
Karendee said...
I'm sorry you're not totally satisfied with your finished product, but you look smashing in your dress. The fit is most flattering, and the workmanship is lovely.
12/22/08 12:27 PM
Bernadette W said...
Your dress is fabulous! Your post muslin fitting issues with the tight armseye et al may be a function of 1). adding the lining and 2). muslin may be more "forgiving" (stretchy) than your fashion fabric. I have had this problem in the past--even knit "muslins" for knit garments have failed to predict success if the stretch factor is not comparable.
12/22/08 12:21 PM
Erica B. said...
The dress looks beautiful on you! The fit is impeccable!
12/22/08 11:22 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Butterick 5185

photo
by: mochimo

Review
Beginner Sewing Lab 102 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 102  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

Buy Now