Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Ottobre Woman Magazine: 02-2006-13 (Basic Pants) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 482 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 29 people   
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR
About Annette1starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 151
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 147
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/27/08 2:33 AM
Last Updated:12/27/08 2:49 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
2BSewing said...
Wow!! Beautiful pants. The fit is perfect. You are a great enabler...I need to check out OTTOBRE. LOL!!!...about not reading the general instructions. I did the same with my first BWOF garment. I had a light-bulb moment, thinking I figured out the "mapping" on my own. Duh...general information...located at the beginning of the instructions. I think I'm wired like that. Just sew it, then read the instructions later. Great review and thanks for including the many detailed pictures.
12/27/08 6:21 AM
Peggy L said...
Great review and wonderful pants. I bought my first Ottobre a few months ago so you've encouraged me to get it out.
12/27/08 7:10 AM
tomed said...
Extremely helpful review and lovely pants! Thanks so much - I'm sure I will refer to this review many times.
12/27/08 9:05 AM
Mahler said...
What a wonderful pair of pants !!!!!!! They look great without the pockets and your striped muslin was nice as well. Oh My ! You have been sewing lately !!!
12/27/08 9:09 AM
Christas said...
Annette, these turned out so nicely! I love your thorough reviews. You have been sewing up a storm and you did such a beautiful job on BOTH pairs ( I have been wanting to make just ONE pair for a long time)!
12/27/08 9:45 AM
Dei said...
Never have used the pattern company, but can see that they produce excellent results! Love how well you fitted the pants. The look so flattering!
12/27/08 9:47 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
Annette, your pants look AWESOME!!! The fit is GREAT, BOTH fabrics are GREAT, EVERYTHING about these pants is just PERFECT!! You always make such PRETTY garments!! BTW, you're very welcome!! Mom and I enjoy sending you Ottobres!! AND welcome to the TRACING WORLD!!!
12/27/08 10:27 AM
annie11 said...
What a great fitting pair of pants! Good to know about the length too! I'm going to have to try this one.
12/27/08 10:49 AM
Grammy Gin said...
What a great fit!!! I told you to try the Burda! I think Burda is easier to trace off than Ottobre. You did a great job. Very informative & helpful review as always. Thanks!!
12/27/08 11:07 AM
QuiltersFan said...
Great looking and fitting pants. Nice review.
12/27/08 11:20 AM
TC Sew What said...
I think you will like the lower contoured waistband once you get used to it. I think it looks very good on you. I was reluctant to try it until some younger friends pushed me. I think it is flattering if you get it right- and you did. Great job with the pants!
12/27/08 11:22 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
I love Ottobre - but haven't tried any pants. I think I may have to now. Thanks for all the excellent info on your construction and I just think your pants are fabulous!
12/27/08 11:28 AM
Vintage Joan said...
These are great!! Wonderful review, and hey, I know what you mean about those dotty mirrors! :D Thanks, too, for the very helpful tip about writing all the flat measurements on the pattern.
12/27/08 12:28 PM
Sigrid. said...
Great pair of pants. I know the Ottobre patterns, but have not yet tried a pants pattern. You convinced me to do that in the near future.
12/27/08 1:37 PM
Karendee said...
Great! You have finally sewn something for yourself; I was about to have A1 pattern review withdrawal. Anyway, the pants look great and I'm impressed with the tracing. I've had BWOF for 8 months and Ottobre's last issue, but I've never traced off a pattern. Perhaps I'll try one soon. This pattern is a great one and the pants are quite smart looking. Thanks for the good review.
12/27/08 3:43 PM
Izzie said...
Nice looking pants! I think the model's pants look wider because her legs are shorter than yours...the style looks much better on you.
12/27/08 3:46 PM
janet said...
You look absolutely fabulous! Keep those Ottobre pants coming...
12/27/08 7:38 PM
cmarie12 said...
I love these pants on you! Fabulous!
12/27/08 10:09 PM
Rustybobn said...
Enjoyed your review. Thanks! Too bad the striped pants didn't work out.
12/28/08 8:39 AM
kellymailinglist said...
Thank you so much for such a thorough review, including the Ottobre tour. Your pants are absolutely terrific and your review makes it seem possible for newbies such as myself to try Ottobre or Burda WoF!
12/28/08 8:59 AM
angie.a said...
Annette these are fabulous!! I need to get my tracing out and do a muslin. I've been procrastinating because pants are usually a huge disappointment to me. But yours are fabulous! Edit to say...can I say fabulous one more time? :P
12/28/08 11:02 AM
Diane333 said...
they look great on you and beautifully done
12/28/08 11:08 AM
Diane E said...
Annette, these pants are gorgeous and fit you so beautifully. Thank you for your joyous and detailed review!
12/28/08 11:44 AM
Obrooks770 said...
Awesome review, thanks for the detail! I love the pants on you, the fit looks great on you. Nice job! I have yet to trace & sew a pattern, that's on my list for 2009.
12/28/08 9:07 PM
Karen8320 said...
Annette, what a fabulous pair of pants these are! The fit looks great and those pressed creases give them a really sharp and stylish look. There is absolutely nothing wrong with that waistband. It's position looks to be perfect. Impressive work and these look great on you!
1/27/09 1:02 AM
sewmanygirls said...
The pants look wonderful on you.
3/3/09 7:24 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

No Pattern Used 509-1016
photo
Review by Miss Fairc... on 4/9/13
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Bibury Capelet Digital Pattern (JC302BC)
Jamie Christina Bibury Capelet Digital Pattern (JC302BC)

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Late lunch tunic Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Late lunch tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

KnipMode Magazine 03-2011-106 Pants
photo
Review by treefrog on 2/22/11
Read Review

Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )
Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6450 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6450 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us