Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8906 (Boat neck top) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2140 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 337
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 283 people
patterns reviewed: 238
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/28/02 2:12 AM
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Such a pretty color. Don't block out your pretty face!
3/28/02 9:39 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
thanks catherine. I just don't feel too comfortable posting my face on the internet :-)
3/28/02 9:07 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks Deepika I've been wondering about a boat neck top to make with Vogue 7546. Looks like this is the one!
3/28/02 9:10 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
"The nice thing about this pattern was that it had shorten and lengthen lines above the bust as well as in the waistline." Doesn't this make a big difference? So much more sensible than the Big 4 lengthen/shorten one line across the midriff. This top looks great. We should all feel grateful that you didn't give up on blouses; look where we are now!
3/28/02 9:26 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Beautiful! I must go out and get this pattern right away.
3/28/02 1:45 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika, meant to ask you: does the top sufficiently cover your bra straps? I refuse to wear any more strapless bras!
3/28/02 6:35 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Sadly Gigi, no it does not. I had to adjust them so that they don't show in the photo. That is why in my review I said that I will definitely alter the neckline to be not so wide. As is, its pretty wide. Actually with this top, I had pretty much decided that it will not be wearable looking at the neckline but I still finished it regardless but when I tried it on! oh boy! I loved the fit, and I have already decided on my next version of this top :-) Hope this works for you. I think our tastes are quite similar in clothes and I am sure you will love this. For this top however I am thinking of buying one of those invisible strap bras ;-)
3/28/02 6:43 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Gorgeous color! Hey, what about the lovely skirt? Also, you might add a little triangle to the "too wide" opening so you can wear this top.
3/29/02 0:02 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Another thought would be to add lingerie straps. Sew a socket of a small snap unit to the inside shoulder seam and a ball unit to a piece of sewn in twill tape. I double fold my twill tape and sew the raw edges into the seam. Bra strap goes inside the snapped unit to make it lie where you want it to. This is an easy couture method that Threads Magazine did an article several issues ago.
3/29/02 10:06 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Vogue Patterns 8380 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by DeniseAnge... on 9/28/12
Read Review

Blank Slate A-Line A La Mode Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate A-Line A La Mode Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2805
photo
Review by Mahler on 5/17/09
Read Review

SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern
SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6879 Pattern
New Look 6879 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 3889 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
Butterick 3889 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us