SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8906 (Boat neck top)

1 more reviews
Viewed 2145 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 360
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 295 people
patterns reviewed: 260
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/28/02 2:12 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Such a pretty color. Don't block out your pretty face!
3/28/02 9:39 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
thanks catherine. I just don't feel too comfortable posting my face on the internet :-)
3/28/02 9:07 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks Deepika I've been wondering about a boat neck top to make with Vogue 7546. Looks like this is the one!
3/28/02 9:10 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
"The nice thing about this pattern was that it had shorten and lengthen lines above the bust as well as in the waistline." Doesn't this make a big difference? So much more sensible than the Big 4 lengthen/shorten one line across the midriff. This top looks great. We should all feel grateful that you didn't give up on blouses; look where we are now!
3/28/02 9:26 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Beautiful! I must go out and get this pattern right away.
3/28/02 1:45 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika, meant to ask you: does the top sufficiently cover your bra straps? I refuse to wear any more strapless bras!
3/28/02 6:35 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Sadly Gigi, no it does not. I had to adjust them so that they don't show in the photo. That is why in my review I said that I will definitely alter the neckline to be not so wide. As is, its pretty wide. Actually with this top, I had pretty much decided that it will not be wearable looking at the neckline but I still finished it regardless but when I tried it on! oh boy! I loved the fit, and I have already decided on my next version of this top :-) Hope this works for you. I think our tastes are quite similar in clothes and I am sure you will love this. For this top however I am thinking of buying one of those invisible strap bras ;-)
3/28/02 6:43 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Gorgeous color! Hey, what about the lovely skirt? Also, you might add a little triangle to the "too wide" opening so you can wear this top.
3/29/02 0:02 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Another thought would be to add lingerie straps. Sew a socket of a small snap unit to the inside shoulder seam and a ball unit to a piece of sewn in twill tape. I double fold my twill tape and sew the raw edges into the seam. Bra strap goes inside the snapped unit to make it lie where you want it to. This is an easy couture method that Threads Magazine did an article several issues ago.
3/29/02 10:06 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2008-7

photo
by: 21wale

Review
Vogue Patterns 1252

photo
by: MissCelie

Review
Couch Caddy

Couch Caddy

Buy Now
SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

Buy Now