Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1024 Coat (Sandra Betzina Wide Collar Coa) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 606 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 267
Favored by: 121 people
patterns reviewed: 224
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/30/08 11:16 AM
Last Updated:1/1/09 1:38 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
moushka said...
Nancy, I totally agree with you about coats being far easier to make than jackets. Your version is beautiful, the details are great. Thanks for a terrific review. Sue
12/30/08 11:26 AM
squirrellypoo said...
It looks fabulous! I love that you've essentially made the reverse of the one in the pattern photo...
12/30/08 11:33 AM
QuiltersFan said...
I tried this on at one of SB workshops and it was a great coat - very flattering. Yours is terrific!
12/30/08 11:46 AM
Em's Summer said...
What a beautiful coat!!!
12/30/08 12:08 PM
blue mooney said...
You inspire me to try a coat again! Love that dramatic collar with the fur. Thanks for the heads-up on the fine points of the pattern.
12/30/08 12:24 PM
Karendee said...
I am so impressed with your fantastiic looking coat.
12/30/08 12:31 PM
marec said...
Nancy, this is so great. I love the fabrics you chose. And, how clever to reverse the pattern photo. I think this will really suit you.
12/30/08 12:42 PM
Izzie said...
Beautiful! It looks so cozy!
12/30/08 2:09 PM
Birgitte said...
I love this coat- just perfect choice of fabrics and style. You'll look fantastic!
12/30/08 2:37 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful coat - inspires me to get my pattern out and give it a go!!
12/30/08 3:24 PM
nellc said...
Beautiful coat, I love the fur on the collar.
12/30/08 4:31 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Wow. I'm wooping it up over this one! You look great! the leopard print is a total eye-catcher without being overstated. The whole coat is stunning. The lining is really classy too.
12/30/08 6:11 PM
Michelle L said...
This is beautiful!! I love your coat!
12/30/08 7:31 PM
Heatherrique said...
Fun and fabulous!
12/30/08 8:38 PM
ButtonFaith said...
wowwee...what a snappy coat! great job on your first coat!
12/30/08 9:05 PM
Christas said...
Wow!!! What a very classy coat! The inside looks beautiful too!
12/30/08 9:25 PM
Athene said...
A gorgeous coat and such a great addition to your endless combinations wardrobe.
12/30/08 10:50 PM
sewtime said...
All I can say is wow!! Everyone else has already said it!! WOW!
12/30/08 11:58 PM
cindy-lou said...
Beautiful, Nancy! As usual, your review is fantastically thorough and very helpful. I am in the middle of a different Vogue coat, but will read Sandra's bagging technique before I get to that point and see if it's helpful for me. Gorgeous coat!
12/31/08 0:03 AM
angie.a said...
Beautiful coat, Nancy!
12/31/08 9:17 AM
Karen6790 said...
Beautiful job. I made a raglan-sleeve coat recently, too, and I love the look (and how much easier they are to do). SB's instructions for hemming and bagging the lining are great, I use them on everything now. Great result, wear this one with pride.
12/31/08 9:27 AM
Obrooks770 said...
Your coat is beautiful, nice job. I have this pattern so now I'm inspired to sew it.
12/31/08 12:01 PM
said...
This looks awesome on you! What a gorgeous coat!
1/1/09 2:37 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Rhoda K said...
I always look forward to your reviews and your helpful tips. I agree with all comments above and love your coat!
1/1/09 4:08 PM
Liana said...
Ooh! How chic are you? I love the collar. You look fabulous!
1/1/09 4:20 PM
Annette1 said...
You look so pretty in your new coat, Nancy. I think it's PERFECT. Look how nicely it falls in the picture where you're wearing it open: PERFECT. I'm so glad you included that picture, too, because I'm ALWAYS tempted by this pattern, but I don't care for the real full swing style coats on me, and I was unsure about this one. As I see it on you, now I think I've GOT to have it! The collar frames your face beautifully, and I love your mix of fabrics!
1/1/09 7:26 PM
Schnauzer said...
I love it! Very, very nice!
1/1/09 7:58 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful coat.
1/1/09 11:34 PM
katie lynne said...
Oh my, this is so lovely. You've done beautiful work and selection of fabrics. Your review and comments are very helpful. Thanks so much...
1/5/09 3:17 PM
SheBear0320 said...
Great review -- I picked up this pattern the other day based on your review and the tips that you gave. I have never made a coat for myself and this was the one I liked for next winter's coat. Going to work on a muslin and then will go looking for fabric. Thanks again for a thorough review
6/16/09 6:34 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Vogue Patterns 8663 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by DD1104 on 3/18/11
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3805 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3805 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3809 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8 )
Simplicity 3809 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5522 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by divabuddha on 5/20/12
Read Review

Pattern Runway Drop Waisted Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Drop Waisted Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sailor shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sailor shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Wrap Dress
Christine Jonson Wrap Dress

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern
Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us