SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 03-2005-122 (Jacket)

2 more reviews
Viewed 372 times 
Reviewed by:blue mooney
photo

 
 
About blue mooneystarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 12/21/02
Reviews written: 96
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 37 people
patterns reviewed: 93
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/30/08 10:44 AM
Last Updated:12/30/08 12:11 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 14 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful, the fabric is a very good choice for a jacket like this. Love the welt pockets.
12/30/08 10:49 AM
Dei said...
Fantastic. Your alterations look great and the fabric is killer!
12/30/08 10:54 AM
Christas said...
Very stylish jacket. The fabric is such a wonderful choice!
12/30/08 11:12 AM
Mahler said...
What a wonderful jacket !!! Your are so skillful. The fabric is gorgeous and so original.
12/30/08 11:31 AM
Nancywin said...
Great looking jacket! I love the contrast of the welt pockets - it really makes it look special!
12/30/08 11:31 AM
figtree said...
Very nicely made jacket, I can see why you would want more than one. I wonder if i have this issue?
12/30/08 11:32 AM
ruth219 said...
how did you learn to do welt pockets? it's on my to learn list this year. the ones i make are completely unpredictable and a mess. your jacket looks great, and i love the idea of using different fabric for the welts.
12/30/08 11:53 AM
Amanda S. said...
Just gorgeous! I love the fabric, the contrasting welts, the design. Great job!
12/30/08 12:10 PM
blue mooney said...
ruth219, I put a link in the review to Ann Rowley's welt pocket tutorial. There are LOTS of steps, but the results are great. Thanks, everyone for the nice comments!
12/30/08 12:12 PM
Karendee said...
Wonderful jacket!
12/30/08 12:21 PM
marec said...
This is so sharp!
12/30/08 12:36 PM
Re Becca said...
I really like the shape of the collar, and those standout welt pockets! and the shorter length... Isn't Kay Y the greatest!
12/30/08 2:04 PM
Nancy K said...
Terrific jacket! I remember the knit top under this, but not the jacket. You've made it memorable. I love your changes and those really great welt pockets!
12/30/08 3:47 PM
Beek said...
Beautiful jacket! I like the shortened look you've created and that fabric is fun!
12/30/08 4:54 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous !!
12/30/08 6:27 PM
Becky Coleman said...
I've never made this jacket, but I've certainly thought about doing so. What a lovely version this is. Great work.
12/30/08 6:30 PM
Winifred said...
Wonderful - fabulous.Great matching of the pattern - WOW !!!
12/30/08 7:34 PM
Kay Y said...
Gosh Blue Mooney, it's nice to see this jacket made up again. Nice pockets! So glad you found the buttonhole instructions to your liking. Share the knowledge, I say!
12/30/08 8:08 PM
kerrynw said...
I love your jacket! It looks very smart.
12/31/08 5:40 AM
Fran G said...
Beautiful jacket..I love the fabric, bold but not too bold! Great BWOF styling; the half collar stand and "proto lapels!" This link to Best Buttonholes brings me to a PR sale of Kenneth Kings book...is Kayethod in there? Thanks for the review!
12/31/08 7:21 AM
Kay Y said...
I didn't check the link to the thread re the buttonholes yesterday but did just now and that's not it - I posted my comment in a thread called "Threads Magazine - current issue". Click Here for the link to the bound buttonhole method pictures.
12/31/08 9:55 AM
Peggy L said...
Gorgeous! You did a fabulous job on this. Wonderful review as well. Thanks for all the links to the techniques you used.
12/31/08 11:09 AM
Obrooks770 said...
Great looking jacket, I really like it in this fabric!
12/31/08 12:06 PM
BettyMike said...
Robyn, What a beautiful jacket. I think you make the greatest jackets! Thanks for the very helpful review. and Happy 2009 to you too!
12/31/08 1:04 PM
nancy2001 said...
Beautiful jacket. Looks like a million bucks.
1/1/09 8:03 AM
Heatherrique said...
Mesmerizing jacket! Wonderfully crafted!
1/1/09 1:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

McCall's 6532

photo
by: MonalisaLo...

Review

Pattern

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern

Buy Now