Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 03-2005-122 (Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 370 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:blue mooney
photo
About blue mooneystarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 12/21/02
Reviews written: 96
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 37 people
patterns reviewed: 93
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/30/08 10:44 AM
Last Updated:12/30/08 12:11 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful, the fabric is a very good choice for a jacket like this. Love the welt pockets.
12/30/08 10:49 AM
Dei said...
Fantastic. Your alterations look great and the fabric is killer!
12/30/08 10:54 AM
Christas said...
Very stylish jacket. The fabric is such a wonderful choice!
12/30/08 11:12 AM
Mahler said...
What a wonderful jacket !!! Your are so skillful. The fabric is gorgeous and so original.
12/30/08 11:31 AM
Nancywin said...
Great looking jacket! I love the contrast of the welt pockets - it really makes it look special!
12/30/08 11:31 AM
figtree said...
Very nicely made jacket, I can see why you would want more than one. I wonder if i have this issue?
12/30/08 11:32 AM
ruth219 said...
how did you learn to do welt pockets? it's on my to learn list this year. the ones i make are completely unpredictable and a mess. your jacket looks great, and i love the idea of using different fabric for the welts.
12/30/08 11:53 AM
Amanda S. said...
Just gorgeous! I love the fabric, the contrasting welts, the design. Great job!
12/30/08 12:10 PM
blue mooney said...
ruth219, I put a link in the review to Ann Rowley's welt pocket tutorial. There are LOTS of steps, but the results are great. Thanks, everyone for the nice comments!
12/30/08 12:12 PM
Karendee said...
Wonderful jacket!
12/30/08 12:21 PM
marec said...
This is so sharp!
12/30/08 12:36 PM
Re Becca said...
I really like the shape of the collar, and those standout welt pockets! and the shorter length... Isn't Kay Y the greatest!
12/30/08 2:04 PM
Nancy K said...
Terrific jacket! I remember the knit top under this, but not the jacket. You've made it memorable. I love your changes and those really great welt pockets!
12/30/08 3:47 PM
Beek said...
Beautiful jacket! I like the shortened look you've created and that fabric is fun!
12/30/08 4:54 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous !!
12/30/08 6:27 PM
Becky Coleman said...
I've never made this jacket, but I've certainly thought about doing so. What a lovely version this is. Great work.
12/30/08 6:30 PM
Winifred said...
Wonderful - fabulous.Great matching of the pattern - WOW !!!
12/30/08 7:34 PM
Kay Y said...
Gosh Blue Mooney, it's nice to see this jacket made up again. Nice pockets! So glad you found the buttonhole instructions to your liking. Share the knowledge, I say!
12/30/08 8:08 PM
kerrynw said...
I love your jacket! It looks very smart.
12/31/08 5:40 AM
Fran G said...
Beautiful jacket..I love the fabric, bold but not too bold! Great BWOF styling; the half collar stand and "proto lapels!" This link to Best Buttonholes brings me to a PR sale of Kenneth Kings book...is Kayethod in there? Thanks for the review!
12/31/08 7:21 AM
Kay Y said...
I didn't check the link to the thread re the buttonholes yesterday but did just now and that's not it - I posted my comment in a thread called "Threads Magazine - current issue". Click Here for the link to the bound buttonhole method pictures.
12/31/08 9:55 AM
Peggy L said...
Gorgeous! You did a fabulous job on this. Wonderful review as well. Thanks for all the links to the techniques you used.
12/31/08 11:09 AM
Obrooks770 said...
Great looking jacket, I really like it in this fabric!
12/31/08 12:06 PM
BettyMike said...
Robyn, What a beautiful jacket. I think you make the greatest jackets! Thanks for the very helpful review. and Happy 2009 to you too!
12/31/08 1:04 PM
nancy2001 said...
Beautiful jacket. Looks like a million bucks.
1/1/09 8:03 AM
Heatherrique said...
Mesmerizing jacket! Wonderfully crafted!
1/1/09 1:34 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Simplicity 4099
photo
Review by Cation Des... on 5/1/13
Read Review

Vogue 2810 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )
Vogue 2810 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1486 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1486 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5386 Fitted Top
photo
Review by Elizabeth ... on 11/16/09
Read Review

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Juliette's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Juliette's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Lola and Lolita Aprons
Sew Liberated Lola and Lolita Aprons

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us