SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Revisions> 111 (Plus Size Vest version)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1676 times 
Reviewed by:ShereeSews
photo

 
 
About ShereeSewsstar
MI USA
Member since: 5/12/03
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/3/03 6:32 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
GrannyT said...
9 years later - I think this vest looks much better than you think it does. I hope you were able to redo the sides, as the middle section is actually very flattering - less distraction on the sides would help. I've owned this pattern forever, and have pulled it out and put it back many times - you have definitely given excellent information, and I thank you very much - even if it's so long after you wrote it.
12/5/12 4:45 PM
Ody said...
Well, here comes the comment three years late and a dollar short, but I think the vest looks fantastic, minus the floppies on the side. I really hope you did some cutting and fashioned some kind of seam up the side to remove the excess fabric, because the front closure is very attractive and looks well sewn. Surely you did not decide to wad this project with great potential.
12/17/06 11:03 PM
ZeldaDC said...
This vest is beautiful! I am considering giving the Revisions pattern Skye Lines a try (it looks as if no one has reviewed it here) and stumbled across this review. I am also plus-sized, so I appreciate your comments on how the garment looks on. I know how frustrating it is to do all that work and then not feel you can wear your creation. But still, the vest is fantastic and I love your touches. Thanks for the very helpful review.
1/26/06 2:21 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Sheree, I think you have a point - I don't believe -any- vest looks good on real breasts :-). Or I should specify on the common female figure of med/small shoulders with breasts. I really like the drapey sides of the pattern though, and I think you did a great job of this vest. How about trying it on with a shirt that's close (in value, if not in hue) to the center body? That's usually a much more flattering look, closer to what a shirt would be like, only so much more interesting in this case!
9/18/05 12:32 PM
Catmama said...
Sheree, I'm a zaftig size also and here's my .02--I would have made the vest longer and also I'm not sure that the back in a light color is all that flattering on larger sizes. Maybe you can sell this garment on consignment or hang it as a sample in a sewing store--it's really quite beautiful. What a shame you feel it doesn't flatter you. Robin
2/27/04 11:48 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Gosh, I'm missing a lot of reviews lately. :-( Sheree, your sewing and fabric choices are wonderful! I've been watching a lot of WNTW too and have learnt to avoid garments that put emphasis on the middle of the body (good only, I think, on a supermodel). I think having the sleeves would shift some of the emphasis to the upper body - I think you should go for it!
11/10/03 7:46 AM
Sew it seams said...
I, too love your fabric choices and your detailed work is just beautiful. I think adding the sleeve would make the difference for you. It would be such a shame not to wear this, after all the work you put into it.
10/6/03 8:34 AM
Shona said...
I agree with the other comments - disappointing results but you did a beautiful job. I was really happy with the short kimono sleeves - the longer version would be quite flattering I think. I loved your ideas - I never even thought about using hidden snaps under those closures! - I'm looking forward to trying this one again in the longer version myself.
10/4/03 9:29 PM
ShereeSews said...
Thanks everyone, for all the great suggestions. You've got me considering whether to just ripout the side panels and replace them with the full kimono sleeves instead, and of course, I will get rid of the striped geometric fabric, and use a softer, more subtle print.
10/4/03 3:53 PM
Tee Jay said...
I absolutely love the design element in the back (and have plans to copy it, too), and you're color choices are so good! You're such a good sewer, do you think changing the side panels to black (but keepingthat neat black and white binding) would put more emphasis on the center panel? If you wear it with black pants, the drapiness of the sides would blend well. Oh, my husband always tries to "fix" my problems, when I just want some sympathy and understanding! so I'll just end with a sorry it didn't end up like you wanted it to.
10/4/03 9:17 AM
cindyann said...
I think Georgene is onto something. The center panels are very attractive and replacing the side panels with something narrow might just do the trick. Excellent workmanship! I'm not sure that drapy side would be flattering on any body shape but you are right, it's looks very interesting on the hanger.
10/4/03 9:07 AM
kathi s said...
I think you did a beautiful job- how sad you are disappointed. Perhaps if you lengthened it into a tunic shape. I have been watching "What Not To Wear" (British version) and have been picking up tips on shapes for my own body type. It seems that your vest hits you at an awkward place - right over the middle of the hips and kind of cuts you off in the middle. Actually, I find that vests make me look like a fire hydrant!
10/3/03 11:27 PM
Janet D said...
An excellent review even if you were not happy with the result. You are extremely talented and I do hope you try the jacket.
10/3/03 10:47 PM
Georgene said...
Sheree your fabric combo and details are great. Can you swap out the sides for a narrower panel? Probably too much work to take it apart. Thanks for sharing your lesson with us.
10/3/03 10:04 PM
AnneM said...
It's a beautiful vest that you made. It looks great from the back, but really doesn't work for you from the front. The sides are a bit bulky and add extra width and hides your shape. It does make you wonder if you could do something w/ the center sections. Dolman sleeves? Same fabric for sides & arms.
10/3/03 8:09 PM
jlg said...
Sheree, even though you are not happy with the garment on you, your workmanship and fabric choices are beautiful.
10/3/03 7:53 PM
Linda E. said...
Sheree, I have this pattern but not sure I like it. I am sorry you put so much work into it and it not turning out.
10/3/03 7:49 PM
KMangum said...
You put so much work into creating a wonderful garment, but how disappointing to have it not be flattering. Having looked at your photos, I'd be tempted to just take in the sides (yes, I know they're bias) and remove the drape effect. -- the CF and Back are lovely.
10/3/03 7:43 PM
ShereeSews said...
Katy, the jacket view contains kimono sleeves, and I may try that view the next time. I believe the "dragonfly" inspiration is one of wide flowing wings, hence the loose fit as seen on the pattern pictures. Thanks for the suggestion.
10/3/03 7:32 PM
katynairn said...
Could you add a wide binding to the "armholes" so that the shoulders were widened and hence remove the odd shaped silhouette? It's such a gorgeous garment on the hanger! Or is there a way to add actual sleeves?
10/3/03 6:53 PM
Ruth C said...
Thanks so much for reviewing this pattern and showing us how it did not work. I also am plus sized and have been thinking about making this pattern. I am so sorry that after all your work, it is not flattering on you. Seems to me that to make it flattering, I would lower the neckline as you say, maybe make the center panel longer and make the center panel be what stands out--de-emphasis the side panels. Even then I am not sure that it would work.
10/3/03 6:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

More Info
You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

More Info