Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: Kelly's Caps (Welding Cap Pattern) - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 776 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Seamingly Simple
photo
About Seamingly Simplestarstarstarstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 12/23/03
Reviews written: 133
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 61 people
patterns reviewed: 100
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/4/09 5:12 PM
Last Updated:1/5/09 10:16 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sarahb said...
darn, that all sounds so frustrating! But your hat does look cute!
1/5/09 8:07 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Too bad that the effort was all for not, I love the fabric and the hat looks RTW. There's got to be a welder out there somewhere with a big head; of course, not your welder ;)
1/5/09 10:45 AM
mimisatin said...
I quite understand your situation. It is frustrating to have to re-construct something that simple to make. I am an advanced beginner and would be highly tempered if I had to do that. Thanks for the review and sorry you had to endure that frustration.
1/5/09 11:06 AM
Ody said...
The seller blocked you because you gave a negative response??? When their product was not up to par???? Did you say anything Ebay, bc the buyer should be able to make a comment with out fear of reprisal from the sellar. That is just tough luck, and they should improve the instructions. Sorry you had to go through that.
1/5/09 12:32 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
Ody, yes I was blocked for submitting a negative response, despite politely explaining that the pattern has sizing issues. I've offered to mail back the pattern to the seller so they can compare it to the original. I suspect that their printer settings were off the day they printed mine and the other "hundreds" who successfully made the cap received properly printed patterns.
1/5/09 1:07 PM
sew42mom said...
I'll make sure NOT to buy this pattern simply because of the response you received. My husband had recently asked me to make him some welding caps, but I think I'll just take apart the most ragged one he has and trace those pieces.
1/6/09 5:27 PM
shleia said...
I have order the same pattern and I am having the same problem... everything is correct in the review... the patterns are way too big and needs to be ajusted and resent to the ones who have purched this pattern or the money should be refunded.. pattern sizes are incorrect....
1/20/09 7:06 PM
shastababy said...
I also bought this pattern and was very disappointed. It was HUGE, even the baby size! The seller didn't send it until several weeks (and more than one email reminder) after I bought it-and I did a Buy It Now, so she was paid immediately. I didn't bother asking for a refund, but didn't leave a glowing feedback either. I took a friend's hat and make my own pattern. It fits him, it was easy to grade for other sizes and more importantly, I'm happier with the finished product!
4/1/09 8:41 AM
Ard46 said...
I too bought this pattern from the seller on ebay. I would not recommend it to anyone other than an experienced sewer as you have to do some revamping to make it work properly. The instructions that came with it were not done properly hence a poor result. Sizing was definitely off. There was certainly no reason for the copyright warning as there is no way I would sell this pattern to anyone.
8/16/09 0:26 AM
pebbs said...
need to put pattern into inches also. alots if us go by hat size. not circumference, But yes i like he pattern
10/31/09 9:41 AM
ArcanaJ said...
As someone who tried a different (but really lousy) home-spun welder's cap pattern, I thank you for making a better one. I'll be giving this a try.
3/1/10 1:23 PM
kcfan23 said...
I too had bought one off ebay and I think it may be the same one. I had some horrible issues with reading the instructions. I even had my grandmother, whom is 87 yrs old and been sewing since she was 14 give it a try... no luck. I LOVE LOVE LOVE this Seamingly Simple pattern that you had done!!!! I am a beginner sewer and I am curious if you have photos of the steps? I am stuck on step 3 and I am getting frustrated. I have ripped stitches out 3 times already cause I am not doing something right.... could you advise? Thanks sooo much!
5/5/10 1:52 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
kcfan23, try the beginner's method first: make two "bowls" and join them at the band. The instructions are aimed at more experienced sewers.
5/8/10 3:44 PM
SuzanE said...
Great review and resulting revised pattern. It sewed up perfectly for me! Thanks!
2/17/11 9:58 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

StyleArc Anita Peasant Blouse
photo
Review by jannw on 5/8/12
Read Review

McCalls 6006 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 6006 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6179 Pattern
New Look 6179 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Australian Smocking & Embroidery Magazine 74-2006-emilee Emilee
photo
Review by solosmocke... on 3/2/11
Read Review

You Sew Girl Belle Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Belle Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris
Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern
Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us