SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Other> Kelly's Caps (Welding Cap Pattern)

Viewed 787 times 
Reviewed by:Seamingly Simple
photo

 
 
About Seamingly Simplestarstarstarstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 12/23/03
Reviews written: 133
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 61 people
patterns reviewed: 100
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/4/09 5:12 PM
Last Updated:1/5/09 10:16 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sarahb said...
darn, that all sounds so frustrating! But your hat does look cute!
1/5/09 8:07 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Too bad that the effort was all for not, I love the fabric and the hat looks RTW. There's got to be a welder out there somewhere with a big head; of course, not your welder ;)
1/5/09 10:45 AM
mimisatin said...
I quite understand your situation. It is frustrating to have to re-construct something that simple to make. I am an advanced beginner and would be highly tempered if I had to do that. Thanks for the review and sorry you had to endure that frustration.
1/5/09 11:06 AM
Ody said...
The seller blocked you because you gave a negative response??? When their product was not up to par???? Did you say anything Ebay, bc the buyer should be able to make a comment with out fear of reprisal from the sellar. That is just tough luck, and they should improve the instructions. Sorry you had to go through that.
1/5/09 12:32 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
Ody, yes I was blocked for submitting a negative response, despite politely explaining that the pattern has sizing issues. I've offered to mail back the pattern to the seller so they can compare it to the original. I suspect that their printer settings were off the day they printed mine and the other "hundreds" who successfully made the cap received properly printed patterns.
1/5/09 1:07 PM
sew42mom said...
I'll make sure NOT to buy this pattern simply because of the response you received. My husband had recently asked me to make him some welding caps, but I think I'll just take apart the most ragged one he has and trace those pieces.
1/6/09 5:27 PM
shleia said...
I have order the same pattern and I am having the same problem... everything is correct in the review... the patterns are way too big and needs to be ajusted and resent to the ones who have purched this pattern or the money should be refunded.. pattern sizes are incorrect....
1/20/09 7:06 PM
shastababy said...
I also bought this pattern and was very disappointed. It was HUGE, even the baby size! The seller didn't send it until several weeks (and more than one email reminder) after I bought it-and I did a Buy It Now, so she was paid immediately. I didn't bother asking for a refund, but didn't leave a glowing feedback either. I took a friend's hat and make my own pattern. It fits him, it was easy to grade for other sizes and more importantly, I'm happier with the finished product!
4/1/09 8:41 AM
Ard46 said...
I too bought this pattern from the seller on ebay. I would not recommend it to anyone other than an experienced sewer as you have to do some revamping to make it work properly. The instructions that came with it were not done properly hence a poor result. Sizing was definitely off. There was certainly no reason for the copyright warning as there is no way I would sell this pattern to anyone.
8/16/09 0:26 AM
pebbs said...
need to put pattern into inches also. alots if us go by hat size. not circumference, But yes i like he pattern
10/31/09 9:41 AM
ArcanaJ said...
As someone who tried a different (but really lousy) home-spun welder's cap pattern, I thank you for making a better one. I'll be giving this a try.
3/1/10 1:23 PM
kcfan23 said...
I too had bought one off ebay and I think it may be the same one. I had some horrible issues with reading the instructions. I even had my grandmother, whom is 87 yrs old and been sewing since she was 14 give it a try... no luck. I LOVE LOVE LOVE this Seamingly Simple pattern that you had done!!!! I am a beginner sewer and I am curious if you have photos of the steps? I am stuck on step 3 and I am getting frustrated. I have ripped stitches out 3 times already cause I am not doing something right.... could you advise? Thanks sooo much!
5/5/10 1:52 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
kcfan23, try the beginner's method first: make two "bowls" and join them at the band. The instructions are aimed at more experienced sewers.
5/8/10 3:44 PM
SuzanE said...
Great review and resulting revised pattern. It sewed up perfectly for me! Thanks!
2/17/11 9:58 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Buy Now