Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5108 (Piazza Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 2943 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:jlg
photo
Friend of PR
About jlgstarstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/03
Reviews written: 187
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 154 people
patterns reviewed: 171
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/7/03 3:00 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
Great review; good information. Look forward to seeing a picture.
10/7/03 3:08 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Really nice jacket! Love that fabric. So glad you had a good result.
10/7/03 3:45 PM
Georgene said...
Wow that sure does look great! I love the way you used both sides of the fabric. What did you use to interline the facing? (Or did you?) P.S. Did you use shoulder pads, as most people do with LH jackets?
10/7/03 3:51 PM
KristenI said...
Looks so nice! I love the fabric too. Looks like you will get a lot of wear out of it. I'll have to check out Waechter’s Silk Shop!
10/7/03 4:42 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Your jacket is spectacular - I LOVE the fabric you chose! You know, this is the only LH jacket pattern that I do not own - guess that will be changing soon....
10/7/03 5:03 PM
Gigi Louis said...
A little off-topic (just a little!): what variety of elephant ears are those behind you? They look almost black - just beautiful!
10/7/03 5:04 PM
jlg said...
Georgene, no interlining and no shoulder pads (although the pattern has shoulder pads, I just hate the things on me in casual jackets.) The pattern pieces are (1) upper collar, (2) under collar, (3) side front, (4) back, (5) sleeve, (6) neck facing and (7) shoulder facing. Gigi, it's only fair; you made me buy the Portofino today. The elephant ears are Black Magic, I think. We have to replace them every year here in Memphis (at least where we have them; I have seen elephant ears overwinter when they are up against a house.)
10/7/03 5:23 PM
jlg said...
That's supposed to be (7) shoulder pads.
10/7/03 5:25 PM
Gigi Louis said...
The Portofino will look fab on you! Think I'll ask DMIL about those elephant ears (she is my gardener).
10/7/03 5:45 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
This jacket looks just wonderful on you. The fabric and scale of the jacket both suit you very well. Another beautiful project! You and Gigi are both going to cost me $. Now I want a Piazza jacket AND a Portofino dress :)
10/7/03 6:09 PM
Tonia Van Dyk said...
Wow, I love the fabric in this style, it looks beautiful. I have this pattern, but for some reason, I haven't made it up yet. I'll be tracing it out first chance I get!
10/7/03 6:16 PM
Elona said...
Gosh, it's nice to see this one made up! It looks just great on you. Nice job.
10/7/03 6:21 PM
Skymom said...
Wow! Between you and the Piazza, and Gigi's Portofino, I think I'm going to have to place a LHinse order soon. THis looks even better than the jacket envelope. What an excellent fabric choice.
10/7/03 6:25 PM
Pam Z said...
You look wonderful in your new jacket. Great lines & beautiful fabric. Thanks for the new fabric source.
10/7/03 6:39 PM
Georgene said...
This looks great on you without shoulder pads, it must be the nice heavy structured fabric.
10/7/03 6:59 PM
Irene said...
This is a gorgeous jacket and very helpful review. Your fabric selection makes this a nice jacket to wear over a simple dress, as well as with casual pants.
10/7/03 7:01 PM
Tee Jay said...
So, so cute! I am glad I just bought this pattern. I love the two fabrics. How drapey or not drapey do you think this pattern calls for? I am thinking less drapey would be better.
10/7/03 8:35 PM
jlg said...
Tee Jay, I'm not sure. I think it would work with fabrics that are drapey or not. My fabric had very little drape. Thanks everyone for the encouraging comments.
10/7/03 10:32 PM
Diane E said...
This is a beautiful jacket. The fabric is wonderful! I agree that the jacket is close-fitting. In my initial test of this jacket I tried to get away with the XS and just couldn't. My "real" one will be bigger, even thought my bust measurement is 34" and as you said, the XS indicates 35".
10/7/03 11:13 PM
sewnew said...
the fabric and your jacket look great.
10/8/03 10:04 AM
Neefer said...
Just beautiful!
10/8/03 1:56 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
JLG, this pattern compliments you, the fabric choice was wonderful. I love that garden(green with envy for not having one).
10/8/03 2:25 PM
Janet D said...
Awesome.
10/8/03 11:41 PM
Deepika said...
This is a great review. I will refer to it when I do decide to make this pattern (I've been thinking about it). Love your jacket!
10/9/03 6:35 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Colette Patterns 1021 Hazel
photo
Review by SusanMenta on 9/6/12
Read Review

Salme Kimono Sleeve Dress Digital Pattern
Salme Kimono Sleeve Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Drop Waisted Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Drop Waisted Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2007-8
photo
Review by AmyG on 7/27/08
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern
Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern
Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2074 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 2074 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 0114 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0114 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us