SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 01-2009-106 (Flounce-sleeve dress)

12 more reviews
Viewed 702 times 
Reviewed by:cindy-lou
photo

 
 
About cindy-loustarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/21/06
Reviews written: 118
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 68 people
patterns reviewed: 100
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/5/09 1:26 PM
Last Updated:1/5/09 7:55 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 24 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Wow, that is a really cute dress Cindy and a GREAT REVIEW! But I swear, I had that dress in high school :D
1/7/09 1:04 PM
Nancy K said...
Nice dress!
1/7/09 12:02 PM
Annette1 said...
Super cute little dress! It looks great on you. :o)
1/6/09 10:50 PM
Sharon M said...
Groovy dress! Great review with lots of details. Since we're close to the same size I'm printing this out since you've done the fit work for me Thanks for noting the waist length. I admit to never ever checking that measurement but I'll be sure to do it this time
1/6/09 10:33 PM
Meredith P said...
You're so fast! I have the shirt version cut out, and partially completed. I automatically shorten waists by 1" in everything. Hope that's enough in this one. I think it turned out really great. When did you get a coverstitch? Congrats!
1/6/09 12:29 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Groovalicious baby!
1/6/09 11:11 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
The other knit tee in this issue has the same flat pattern measured BWL, so I'm doubting its a drafting error. Just wondering if I'm missing something....
1/6/09 10:46 AM
Karen6790 said...
Okay, since we made the same dress in the same size, maybe we can swap occasionally? I love your fabric - I'd have carried that home in a heartbeat. I didn't really notice the waist length issue, but I'm short waisted and lots of BWOF patterns seem longer to me. I did automatically decide to put a belt on this dress, so maybe that was just my instinctive way of dealing with it.
1/6/09 10:35 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
I love your version of this dress - you look super cute in it too!
1/6/09 9:51 AM
donna mel said...
this cinches it...i'm making this dress!
1/6/09 8:12 AM
patsijean said...
I've seen a couple of reviews of this pattern, and I must say, it looks like it is a winner. Your dress is.
1/6/09 1:50 AM
Ody said...
Cindy Lou--you go girl! Super dress!
1/6/09 0:20 AM
EleanorSews said...
That is one very cute pattern and your print is perfect! It is a pick-me-up! Thanks for doing such a thorough review.
1/5/09 9:12 PM
angie.a said...
Super cute cindylou!!
1/5/09 8:57 PM
Vintage Joan said...
LOVE the fabric and the groovy sleeves! :)
1/5/09 8:57 PM
CarolynGM said...
That print really takes me back -- it looks just like something I made when I was a 20-something. Very cute pattern too.
1/5/09 7:41 PM
nellc said...
Really nice dress, I love your fabric.
1/5/09 6:02 PM
michellep74 said...
Very groovy and very cute! I love your placement with the large print!
1/5/09 5:58 PM
cindyann said...
How cool and oh so retro!
1/5/09 5:18 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Cute dress! Nice review. I just got my first issue of my BWOF subscription from my Mom who used the German Burda when I was a kid. I may have to try this dress out, it is supre cute!
1/5/09 5:18 PM
inkstain said...
I was wondering whether it was fast or pick-me-up enough, and now you've got me convinced enough to put it on my "once the Tree is down and the kids are back in school and the book is edited and the cards are answered" list. Very useful review and lively dress.
1/5/09 3:09 PM
Birgitte said...
This dress makes you one hot mama!! Watch out for screeching wheels- and stay away from construction sites ;)
1/5/09 2:43 PM
cindy-lou said...
Renee, it was *buried* on the sale table-- you know, the one with all the c%$p on it? Sometimes stuff on that sale table looks really raunchy till you carry it over to another area. I almost didn't buy this.
1/5/09 2:37 PM
nglalala said...
Your dress looks fabulous! Great job!
1/5/09 2:30 PM
Deepika said...
So I just got my January Burda and this is the one pattern which caught my eye. How cool that you've already made it. I love love love the dress. Fabric is so cool too!
1/5/09 2:29 PM
Christina Sonja said...
So cute - I love it!
1/5/09 2:25 PM
MissCelie said...
How did I not see this fabric at G Street?? This is SUPER adorable. Way better than the magazine edition!
1/5/09 2:20 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
How cute! I actually plan to make the top asap, I'm just doing some lovely home painting right now so I must get that stuff done before I sew.
1/5/09 2:17 PM
21wale said...
I love the fabric choice - much more interesting than the original!
1/5/09 1:54 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Butterick B5201

photo
by: material e...

Review
Deer&Doe Robe Sureau

photo
by: Kathhhhhy

Review
Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

More Info
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

More Info