Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 07-2003-137 (Dress) - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 5268 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 337
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 283 people
patterns reviewed: 238
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/8/03 7:08 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
58 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lou. said...
OH my, that is fantastic!!
10/8/03 7:14 AM
Gigi Louis said...
D, your outfit is absolutely stunning! I hope you've sent your mom a photo - she will be sooo impressed! When you cut bias to use in the bias-tape makers you do have to cut it wider - as you've already found out, bias stretches when you pull it.
10/8/03 7:23 AM
Ann B. said...
Wow, your outfit is so beautiful! It was worth all the work. The colors flatter you so well, and your outfit is much prettier than the pattern photo. Nice photo styling in front of the complementary window, also.
10/8/03 7:23 AM
monahan said...
Fantastic!
10/8/03 7:29 AM
cindyann said...
Deepika, that is just beautiful. So graceful! Thank you for this review. I love this design. I hear you about the bias tape maker, although I'm sure a sturdy cotton or linen would be much easier to use the gadget on. LOL Kudos for working with such a difficult fabric.
10/8/03 7:35 AM
AnneM said...
Yeah! Looks great, Deepika. I cut the bias binding to 2" also; I was hoping those little tape makers would help make it easier! I agree w/ Ann - good location for the photo. I really like the pants. I've been uncertain what pants like that would look like on someone w/ our build, and it certainly looks lovely on you.
10/8/03 7:58 AM
Rennie Ashby said...
More than a formal outfit this is a work of art!
10/8/03 8:14 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Beautiful beautiful beautiful!!!!
10/8/03 8:37 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Deepika I am so impressed. You have inspired me to try a silky fabric soon! Your outfit is fabulous!
10/8/03 8:59 AM
Skymom said...
Just gorgeous, Deepika. You used the print well in this outfit. What a great-looking, contemporary salwar kameez.
10/8/03 9:14 AM
Diane E said...
Deepika, I am stunned. This is absolutely fabulous. Love the photo styling, too. Great review with some wonderful ideas for any garment with like details. Thanks so much for inspiring me to take additional looks at those magazines.
10/8/03 9:19 AM
MaryBeth said...
Deepika: that fabric is toooo wonderful and your outfit overall, with and without the dupatta, is stunning. Your review was charming and the detail of the tie ingenious.
10/8/03 9:27 AM
Pam Z said...
Congratulations! You look so beautiful in your new outfit. Very complimentary colors.
10/8/03 9:44 AM
jlg said...
Deepika, your outfit is absolutely beautiful, and you look fabulous in it. I love the fabric.
10/8/03 9:46 AM
Teri said...
Wow, that is just beautiful!
10/8/03 9:49 AM
sewnew said...
Deepika, your work is so beautiful.
10/8/03 10:01 AM
els said...
Deepika thumbs up for you, it's gorgeous,and suits you perfect .You can be proud of yourself.Further all I agree with all the comments already made from the other members.
10/8/03 10:23 AM
Georgene said...
Hooray! Looks great (and aren't you glad it's over?) You will have an excellent Diwali in this beautiful outfit you made yourself. Great results for the first trip out. Congratulations and Happy Diwali.
10/8/03 10:40 AM
stripey said...
Deepika, in my opinion, your version of the outfit is prettier and more elegant than the original in the magazine! Well done! Your mom chose a good fabric for you, too. And I also really like your idea of using tie bands to retrospectively "alter" your fit! (Very clever, and very pretty design element, too -- I'll file that away for future reference.) I'm glad you've fallen in love with Burda Magazine -- I've always found it interesting that so many of the patterns in Burda (especially the issues from the late 90s) are based on classic shapes and on traditional ethnic wear. To recreate these traditional styles, it's usually just a matter of eliminating a few details, changing the hems (lowering them, most often!) and finding the right fabric -- just as you've done here with this pattern. I've also seen patterns in Burda magazine that echo the lines of kaftans, kimonos, saris, hanboks, dirndls, Tyrol-style jackets -- just about every sort of ethnic/folkloric costume that's out there. Oh, this reminds me : anyone interested in folkloric costumes from Asia will want to check this website out. This is an online version of the famous Tilke folk-costume book: http://www.indiana.edu/~librcsd/etext/tilke/
10/8/03 10:45 AM
Deepika said...
Thank you so much for your nice comments. It's really thrilling to be able to share my love of sewing with so many. I have to give the credit for photography to my Brother in law who took all the pictures. He is really good isn't he? He he... now I wont have to beg and pester DH for taking my photos for reviews. Georgene oh boy yes I am glad its over and that I can wear it. I might even wear to the PR Weekend actually ;-) Not sure if the empire waist style is for me though. Does it make me look a little heavier in the middle? Can you guys help me with the fit? What could I have done to make the bodice fit a little better so that the horizontal seam under the bust actually sits under the bust.
10/8/03 11:13 AM
msbillie said...
Wow, your outfit is stunning!
10/8/03 11:44 AM
CarolynGM said...
Deepika -- It might be time to consider changing your sewing skills rating to advanced! And where can I get my hands on the Burda magazine? Your outfit is stunning and extremely flattering. It must have been quite a challenge to sew it and fit it.
10/8/03 11:49 AM
Lisette said...
Just wonderful!! I was following your progress on sewing world so I'm very happy to know you finished it. Lots of work but worth it!
10/8/03 12:09 PM
PattiA said...
Deepika, I am remembering not too long ago when you first posted on Sewingworld. You were just beginning your sewing adventures; Patternreview wasn't even a gleam in your eye. Your outfit is absolutely stunning! You will be a shining light yourself at Divali. I'd also like to take this opportunity to thank you for Patternreview--what a wonderful resource for those of us who love to sew. I don't know how you find the time to keep a home, hold a job, do what is required to maintain Patternreview, and sew such stunning garments!
10/8/03 12:44 PM
Neefer said...
Oh, it came out so cool! I'm so glad. I love that outfit, too. It looks fantastic on you.
10/8/03 2:51 PM
Jennie Pakula said...
That really is great - it looks fantastic, you did so much work to make it 'yours' and you did it in a fabric I'd run a mile to avoid! Well done!
10/8/03 5:36 PM
gabrielle said...
Oh, gorgeous! I think that style looks great on you, too. it's so graceful, I love the light layers. It must look really pretty when walking, too. Just got my first Burda WOF--what a great mag!
10/8/03 6:03 PM
Mel.J said...
Lovely. Great colours & style. You can be proud that you completed such a difficult project (we know you wanted to give up sometimes). Have lots of fun at Diwali. Also, thanks for the tip about hemming the panels... I had awful trouble when I tried something similar with chiffon.
10/8/03 6:40 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Gorgeous, Deepika, simply gorgeous.
10/8/03 6:45 PM
Elona said...
Deepika, that really is a spectacular ensemble. All the care you took paid off handsomely. Congratulations.
10/8/03 7:18 PM
Mbarkle said...
Wow, what a gorgeous outfit. Your work is beautiful.
10/8/03 9:14 PM
Tonia Van Dyk said...
I simply will echo the others that have left their opinions here - well done. What a beautiful outfit. You look gorgeous in it!
10/8/03 9:44 PM
Joos said...
Wow, this is truly an inspiration for those who love to sew!
10/8/03 10:04 PM
Irene said...
What a great job! Well worth the effort, having followed the story on the message boards. Your mother will be so proud!
10/9/03 0:48 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
What a beautiful outfit for Diwali! You can see even in the picture the quality of the silk. Stunning! Thank you Stripey for that website! I love it!Referred friends to it already.
10/9/03 6:07 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Unbelievable! It's fantastic, and you are being overly critical of the fit. There might be things you would change next time, but this outfit looks wonderful. Use "my" thought process to evaluate the fit: if you had found this outfit in RTW and tried it on, would you have bought it if it fit like this one? I'll bet the answer is YES - but you couldn't have found something so unique and stunning at an affordable price. I am VERY impressed!
10/9/03 6:25 AM
Deepika said...
You all are so nice :) Irina You can find back issues of Burda Magazine from the GLP News website. Call them up. They might have some. Otherwise I am sure they can get it for you. There are a lot of good patterns in the July issue. Monahan reviewed pants which I want to make also. I've seen the only thing which slows me down is the tracing process but once you get down to it, its not really that different from tracing regular patterns. Karla I think you are right. But you know how we all want things to be perfect? I just wish I could get the fit right but it doesnt matter. When I came out of my room wearing this dress so that my BIL can take the photo, he gasped out loud! So I guess the dress is now teenage approved also ;-) I wish my mom could come here for Diwali but this year I'll just have to show the photos. I couldn't catch her online yesterday, hoping to show it to her today. Can't wait to see what she thinks.
10/9/03 6:45 AM
Maria Hatfield said...
Deepika ! this outfit is beautiful ! you really out did yourself this time. no wonder your so proud of it. its beautiful.
10/9/03 8:50 AM
Deepika said...
Patti I am so touched by your lovely comment. Thank you so much! As far as time is concerned, I learnt this from you guys only! MaryT suggests that if I do something sewing related even if it means tidying up my sewing area, or tracing a pattern or even sewing one seam a day thats good enough. Thats how I finished this dress actually. It took me a month to do it but I enjoyed every moment of it (except the binding! I was ready to pull my hair out :) ).
10/9/03 9:28 AM
stripey said...
katherine -- glad you enjoyed the site! For years, borrowed the Tilke book from the library -- a back-breaking TOME of several hundred pages! When I found out that it was available online, I jumped for joy! No more backaches! Anyone who has even the remotest interest in ethnic costume ought to check it out. It's one of the few ethnic-costume books where the seams are drawn so clearly that you can fake a pattern from them if you know how to draft your own. It's also a good companion to the "Folkwear" patterns,-- an excellent source for embellishment ideas.
10/9/03 11:36 AM
Georgene said...
Stripey, you should do a website review for the Tilke book. I am so glad its online. My interest has been renewed in ethnic dress and I was pining for this book. I am so glad I don't have to buy it now!
10/9/03 12:19 PM
stripey said...
Gigi -- thanks for the reminder. Since I don't have much time online, I often forget about the website reviews! I'll try to do that soon.
10/9/03 4:10 PM
Kathryn said...
Deepika, I love your review. I think that only you will even notice any small imperfections...the outfit looks so wonderful, and so classy! You are an inspiration to make each of us reach just a bit higher in our sewing skills, and you have the great results to show for it. Your Mom will be sooo proud of her pretty, intelligent, and talented daughter, and you'll be the "bell of the ball" at the festival of lights, for sure!
10/10/03 8:45 AM
KarenP said...
Wow!!! I just caught up to your review today...your outfit is beautiful and inspiring!
10/10/03 3:08 PM
Dale C said...
Wow Deepika, It's beautiful! And so perfect for you. Thanks for the link to the GLP site. I'm going to check it out to look for some back issues. Again, congrats on a beautifully successful project!
10/10/03 10:30 PM
Alana Robson said...
Gosh, what can I say that hasn't already been said? I looked at the pictures first, and my first thought was what great fit through the upper body in the front and the back. Those of you who already liked the "salwar kameez" style will find this funny: in the latest book companion to BBC's What Not to Wear television show, they show a dress-over-pants style at least five times--it's a modern fresh look, and practical too.
10/13/03 7:03 AM
Ann Smith said...
Deepika: I have followed your discussion of this outfit on SW and feel so thrilled to finally see it. Your outfit is so stunning, classic yet individual. You will enjoy it for years!
10/13/03 8:05 PM
Meredith P said...
I'm late in commenting, but I just wanted to say how much I love your outfit, what a GREAT job you did. It looks wonderful on you.
10/14/03 11:20 AM
Jali said...
Therer's nothing left for me to say. Just that hearing about your tribulations with the bias binding sounds all too familiar to me. Inspired by the thread in SW I just recently started making a similar formalwear outfit in a silky fabric. A sleeveless, open-front, top with a buttoned-up mandarin collar and wide pants. And guess what the bias binding I was doing for the armhole has just about brought me to tears. The binding ravelled and I had to tuck every single thread inside before stitching. Sob. It hasn't turned out well on the inside and being the perfectionist that I am, it does make me dicouraged. But seeing an outfit made as lovely as yours with allthe effort you've put in spurs me on to go ahead and finish mine. As you first inspired me to start this project you've inspired me to finish it!
10/26/03 10:13 AM
sailonsilvergirl said...
Wow, Deepika, your outfit is gorgeous. I hope you had a wonderful Diwali in it!! Seeing your results, I am so moved to track down this Burda WOF issue and make something with my silks from India too! They would be a great match with this pattern. I just wanted to say this website and the other sewing sites I've found through this have been so inspirational. PR has made so many things possible through what I've learned here. I think I will grow into a longtime committed sewer because of this site. Thank you.
10/26/03 7:57 PM
Deepika said...
JoElise Wow! I would love to see your outfit. Can you review it please? It sounds lovely. I realised that even though this outfit wasnt so easy to sew, once its finished its so special and I love it! debtro Thank you for your kind wishes. I had a wonderful Diwali. The last 3 days I've just been pigging out ;-) I wore my dress on Sat. for a family service and my 16 year old cousin said "How come you have the coolest clothes every time!" And I replied "Thanks, that's because I make them myself ;-)". And they couldnt believe it. I was the star of the show. This has never happened before and I felt so special. Same thing happened yesterday when I wore it again to another party. And guess what? Two young girls want to learn sewing from me!!! Isnt that awesome.
10/27/03 7:01 AM
Jali said...
Sure will, Deepika, once its finished. I am finishing up the top and about to start on the pants. Only thing is, this is going to be my very first pair of pants!
10/29/03 10:37 PM
JDpenelope said...
What an accomplishment! Another reason to check out Burda.
10/31/03 8:32 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Wow! Look what I missed while I was locked away with the flannel...Deepika, I am so impressed. What a beautiful outfit you have made! And what useful things you learned doing it! And how cool that other people now want to learn from you! Kudos all around... ;)
11/17/03 12:15 PM
rcnc said...
Absolutely gorgeous. I am really interested in doing these kinds of outfits and you have shown me that it can be done.
1/23/04 12:18 PM
vmanchaala said...
Hello Deepika, This Salwar kameez is beautiful. I want to make this my own. Please tell me where/how i can buy this pattern. Thank you.
11/29/07 3:05 PM
Sara The Slayer said...
Gorgeous.
1/16/08 7:39 AM
CSM--Carla said...
Gorgeous and great colors on you!
10/14/13 8:02 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Vogue Patterns 1878
photo
Review by ggf2005 on 2/25/14
Read Review

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje
BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

Details
Price: $39.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sporty Girl Skort Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sporty Girl Skort Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Kimono Top Digital Pattern
Salme Kimono Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5720
photo
Review by lizziwhizz on 11/12/08
Read Review

McCalls 6557 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6557 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1357 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 1357 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us