Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Downloadable: 001 (Pete men's teeshirt) - Type:Mens - Shirts    printable version
Viewed 233 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Karen6790
photo
Friend of PR
About Karen6790starstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/2/06
Reviews written: 212
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 211
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:1/7/09 10:05 PM
Last Updated:1/15/09 7:25 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
TanyaMT said...
Great shirt! I use this pattern for DH too. Re the wrinkles, it looks like maybe you need to make the body of it slightly bigger around? DH found also the armhole on his was a little bit narrow. He is pretty thin and didn't find this in RTW but it worked on the fit of this for us.
1/7/09 10:24 PM
a.me.s said...
I just printed this pattern out earlier today! I couldn't find the instructions either! I'm glad to see it could be made up without them :) Great job!
1/7/09 10:55 PM
katlew03 said...
I wonder if there is too much fabric in the back shoulder area. It looks like the shirt could be pulled up and about 1/2 inch taken off on the outer section of the back shoulder seam, tapering toward the neck? Perhaps you could try folding it out and see if that is it. Maybe a little more room through the upper back, also, depending on how snug DH likes his shirts. The shirt looks nice, though. I like the fabric. I think I have about 6 yards of it somewhere and didn't think about making DH shirts.
1/7/09 11:04 PM
Blooms said...
Well done on making your man a shirt! I'n no expert, but it does look like he could go up a size in the chest? Maybe some of the wrinkles are from sloping shoulders? And maybe some from too high arm pits? When I do a square shoulder adjustment, I raise the arm-holes, so maybe with a sloping shoulder adjustment you would then lower the armholes by the same amount...that way, no adjustment needs to be made to the sleeve piece, and both problems are corrected at once. But again, I'm no expert...I made my man a Burda t-shirt, with wrinkles, and I haven't tried another yet...I think their men's patterns are broad in the shoulder, so as the extra shoulder length drags off the shoulder, it creates a few wrinkles...not that I've tested this with a modified pattern yet.
1/8/09 1:30 AM
Karen6790 said...
Thanks, all. I reprinted the pattern this morning so I could try the sloped shoulder alteration, and maybe I will taper the pattern so that it's also a little wider in the chest. I'll post the new version when I get it done to compare.
1/8/09 10:27 AM
sewtime said...
Your lucky man, this makes up for the neglect he may have felt while you are sewing!! Very nice!
1/8/09 11:13 AM
daff said...
I think the shirt looks great, even with the wrinkles! He definitely deserves something special for getting you a coverstitch, what a man! :)
1/8/09 11:59 AM
Tiner W said...
This looks absolutely professional. Congrats on your new coverstitch machine! I think I'm jealous!
1/8/09 4:11 PM
Kay Y said...
It fits just like a T shirt - these have very horizontal shoulder seams as a rule, and your BF doesn't. If you want it to fit more smoothly, slope the shoulder seams more, moving the entire armscye down as it seems the fit of the sleeve isn't too bad. Nice job - I also downloaded this pattern for my son. It's a good basic.
1/8/09 7:56 PM
Ody said...
Wow! I never thought of making a t-shirt for my dh, but after seeing you make one---why not??? Great job and enjoyed your review.
1/15/09 9:59 PM
Luckylibbet said...
So glad to see you got it to work! Good job!
1/16/09 11:28 AM
crisford said...
Very nice shirt! Great job fitting and sewing this! I like the dark grey one. He must feel well loved every time he wears these.
1/17/09 11:07 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Burda 7828 Dress, top
photo
Review by textilis on 3/22/09
Read Review

Vogue 1239 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 1239 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 4424 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 4424 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 510C Tunic
photo
Review by Ghainskom on 1/25/10
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sea Breeze Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -6 years )
Peek-A Boo Sea Breeze Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -6 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King
HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us