SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 09-2005-102 (Double breasted long coat)

1 more reviews
Viewed 305 times 
Reviewed by:squirrellypoo
photo

 
 
About squirrellypoostarstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/27/05
Reviews written: 262
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 100 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/14/09 7:38 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
idesign said...
Great Greatcoat! You did a fantastic job on both the coat and the review. Good to know about microfleece as an interlining.
9/21/09 8:51 AM
figtree said...
very well done! looks like a great, warm coat, even tho its warmed up a little bit, its still coat weather!
1/16/09 4:15 PM
SusiM said...
What an impressive project and really good write-up you have done! Thanks so much for taking the time to share it all.
1/15/09 0:50 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Melissa, Lovely coat. You did a fantastic job!
1/14/09 7:06 PM
Natasha B said...
That looks like an amazingly WARM coat, you have done such a great job it is difficult to believe it is your first one. I marvel at the internet where I read with your review in such interesting detail while in Sydney I wait for the temperature to reach 33 (nearing 100 F I think) ... I look forward to reading your blog entry later.
1/14/09 5:02 PM
solosmocker said...
Excellent review and great job on the coat. Contratulations on getting it done!
1/14/09 4:50 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
WOW!!! Your coat looks AWESOME!! You did such a nice job!!
1/14/09 4:15 PM
michellep74 said...
Gorgeous, gorgeous coat! I love it!
1/14/09 3:55 PM
Lori V said...
What a fantastic coat, great job on your first one. The details are incredible.
1/14/09 3:41 PM
Birgitte said...
Congratulations on your first coat, it is fabulous! All the techniques you tackled will continue to serve you well. And the fact that you had enough push-through to get it done is almost as impressive as the coat itself- what a way to start the new year!!
1/14/09 2:09 PM
amy in mpls said...
Awesome, awesome, awesome! Its so great to read your blog, and see how your ambition paid off! What a beautiful coat. I'm esp. impressed with the bound buttonholes. Wow...amazing!
1/14/09 1:31 PM
Elona said...
Now, that's what a greatcoat is supposed to look like! Very, very handsome. I'm in awe of the amount of work you put into the garment, and am absolutely with your change of pocket placement: In cold weather, the pockets should be ready to hand, and that's all there is to it. Fascinating info, by the way, about your barge/hotel. I had no idea.
1/14/09 11:29 AM
Twinset said...
All your efforts certainly paid off - now you have this great coat! Congrats for all your beautiful work, and enjoy the result!
1/14/09 11:20 AM
Beek said...
Wonderful coat. This is a well tailored garment that you will probably wear (and adore) for years to come!
1/14/09 10:27 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Renren - the photo is taken on the moorings where I live on the Thames, specifically, on a garden barge named "Silo". We all walk along old Thames lighter barges that have been planted with gardens on top, and are open plan flats underneath. Our boat used to be a hotel but it's going to take us 5-10 years to renovate. PM me if you'd like the URL to our boat blog! And a big thank you to everyone for your lovely comments!
1/14/09 10:05 AM
Karen6790 said...
Congratulations, it's a coat! Having just made one myself, I understand it's not a project you want to tackle again any time soon, but isn't it nice knowing you can? If we can manage to make our coats warm enough for a bridge walk, then why can't RTW? This is a great achievement, it doesn't look Russian army at all to me, and best of all, you're warm and toasty for your commute. All in all, quite a success.
1/14/09 9:58 AM
Patti B said...
Amazing coat! I congratulate you for sewing a coat from WOF -- scary thought. And how perfect that you finished your coat in time to wear it winter. Very nice job!
1/14/09 9:46 AM
Renren said...
Pure fabulosity!!! I love the photo, too! Any information on that background?
1/14/09 9:42 AM
mylittleelephant said...
Thanks for all links and many congrats on your first coat!
1/14/09 9:37 AM
digs57 said...
Brilliant! Congratulations on completing such a daunting long term project so successfully.
1/14/09 9:24 AM
Catbird said...
What a great saga with a happy, warm ending! Hooray for you doing a walking commute in all kinds of weather and congratulations on finishing your wonderful coat.
1/14/09 8:48 AM
dbsewer said...
Excellent review. What a pretty coat, and I love the festive setting of the picture. Your coat turned out gorgeous and how cool that you learned so much in the process? I'm sure you're the most fashionable pedestrian on Tower Bridge.
1/14/09 7:57 AM
Kbenco said...
What an enormous project. I don't think the Russian army has coats nearly so nice as yours. Congratulations that this is no longer an UFO! (although really, a work of this magnitude could be called a WorkInProgress for years IMO!)
1/14/09 7:56 AM
yummymummy38 said...
wow, Squirrellypoo, you must be so proud of yourself, if that is your first coat, it looks damn professional. Thanks for the extra pics in the blog, your attention to detail paid off! Well done!
1/14/09 7:54 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 8837

photo
by: sfshaza

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2011-128

photo
by: pdiddly

Review
You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

Buy Now