Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 09-2005-102 (Double breasted long coat) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 304 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:squirrellypoo
photo
About squirrellypoostarstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/27/05
Reviews written: 262
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 99 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/14/09 7:38 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
yummymummy38 said...
wow, Squirrellypoo, you must be so proud of yourself, if that is your first coat, it looks damn professional. Thanks for the extra pics in the blog, your attention to detail paid off! Well done!
1/14/09 7:54 AM
Kbenco said...
What an enormous project. I don't think the Russian army has coats nearly so nice as yours. Congratulations that this is no longer an UFO! (although really, a work of this magnitude could be called a WorkInProgress for years IMO!)
1/14/09 7:56 AM
dbsewer said...
Excellent review. What a pretty coat, and I love the festive setting of the picture. Your coat turned out gorgeous and how cool that you learned so much in the process? I'm sure you're the most fashionable pedestrian on Tower Bridge.
1/14/09 7:57 AM
Catbird said...
What a great saga with a happy, warm ending! Hooray for you doing a walking commute in all kinds of weather and congratulations on finishing your wonderful coat.
1/14/09 8:48 AM
digs57 said...
Brilliant! Congratulations on completing such a daunting long term project so successfully.
1/14/09 9:24 AM
mylittleelephant said...
Thanks for all links and many congrats on your first coat!
1/14/09 9:37 AM
Renren said...
Pure fabulosity!!! I love the photo, too! Any information on that background?
1/14/09 9:42 AM
Patti B said...
Amazing coat! I congratulate you for sewing a coat from WOF -- scary thought. And how perfect that you finished your coat in time to wear it winter. Very nice job!
1/14/09 9:46 AM
Karen6790 said...
Congratulations, it's a coat! Having just made one myself, I understand it's not a project you want to tackle again any time soon, but isn't it nice knowing you can? If we can manage to make our coats warm enough for a bridge walk, then why can't RTW? This is a great achievement, it doesn't look Russian army at all to me, and best of all, you're warm and toasty for your commute. All in all, quite a success.
1/14/09 9:58 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Renren - the photo is taken on the moorings where I live on the Thames, specifically, on a garden barge named "Silo". We all walk along old Thames lighter barges that have been planted with gardens on top, and are open plan flats underneath. Our boat used to be a hotel but it's going to take us 5-10 years to renovate. PM me if you'd like the URL to our boat blog! And a big thank you to everyone for your lovely comments!
1/14/09 10:05 AM
Beek said...
Wonderful coat. This is a well tailored garment that you will probably wear (and adore) for years to come!
1/14/09 10:27 AM
Twinset said...
All your efforts certainly paid off - now you have this great coat! Congrats for all your beautiful work, and enjoy the result!
1/14/09 11:20 AM
Elona said...
Now, that's what a greatcoat is supposed to look like! Very, very handsome. I'm in awe of the amount of work you put into the garment, and am absolutely with your change of pocket placement: In cold weather, the pockets should be ready to hand, and that's all there is to it. Fascinating info, by the way, about your barge/hotel. I had no idea.
1/14/09 11:29 AM
amy in mpls said...
Awesome, awesome, awesome! Its so great to read your blog, and see how your ambition paid off! What a beautiful coat. I'm esp. impressed with the bound buttonholes. Wow...amazing!
1/14/09 1:31 PM
Birgitte said...
Congratulations on your first coat, it is fabulous! All the techniques you tackled will continue to serve you well. And the fact that you had enough push-through to get it done is almost as impressive as the coat itself- what a way to start the new year!!
1/14/09 2:09 PM
Lori V said...
What a fantastic coat, great job on your first one. The details are incredible.
1/14/09 3:41 PM
michellep74 said...
Gorgeous, gorgeous coat! I love it!
1/14/09 3:55 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
WOW!!! Your coat looks AWESOME!! You did such a nice job!!
1/14/09 4:15 PM
solosmocker said...
Excellent review and great job on the coat. Contratulations on getting it done!
1/14/09 4:50 PM
Natasha B said...
That looks like an amazingly WARM coat, you have done such a great job it is difficult to believe it is your first one. I marvel at the internet where I read with your review in such interesting detail while in Sydney I wait for the temperature to reach 33 (nearing 100 F I think) ... I look forward to reading your blog entry later.
1/14/09 5:02 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Melissa, Lovely coat. You did a fantastic job!
1/14/09 7:06 PM
SusiM said...
What an impressive project and really good write-up you have done! Thanks so much for taking the time to share it all.
1/15/09 0:50 AM
figtree said...
very well done! looks like a great, warm coat, even tho its warmed up a little bit, its still coat weather!
1/16/09 4:15 PM
idesign said...
Great Greatcoat! You did a fantastic job on both the coat and the review. Good to know about microfleece as an interlining.
9/21/09 8:51 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Simplicity 4084
photo
Review by FullertonR... on 10/13/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Real People DVD
Fit For Real People DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern (XXS-L)
SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern (XXS-L)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2005
photo
Review by Leslie in ... on 5/9/07
Read Review

McCalls 2060 Pattern ( Size 31 1/2-32 1/2 )
McCalls 2060 Pattern ( Size 31 1/2-32 1/2 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3126 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3126 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us