Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3298 (Misses Vests Vintage 1940) - Type:Vests    printable version
Viewed 190 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:astrogirl
photo
About astrogirlstar
VA USA
Member since: 8/28/06
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/16/09 1:57 PM
Last Updated:1/23/09 5:02 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MadMenFanlinda said...
That's really nice. I have been afraid to use some of my vintage patterns too as I don't trust the fit. People were smaller back in the day. Looks great.
1/16/09 3:47 PM
BJ1400 said...
I really like this. Very nice.
1/16/09 5:47 PM
Barb in Northwoods said...
Beautiful! I love the fabric, and the way the buttons are placed. Iusually line vests when I make them, I will have to try your idea of using french seams. Thanks so much for the exellent tip!!!
1/17/09 10:35 AM
Luckylibbet said...
I love the way the buttons come into a V shape echoing the bottom hemline - about what year would you say this pattern is?
1/17/09 12:16 PM
Tesla121 said...
OMG! this is gorgeous!
1/23/09 5:51 PM
Em's Summer said...
I love vintage patterns and this vest is really nice! You did a great job! Thanks for reviewing this pattern!
1/23/09 6:27 PM
bananaoil said...
Looks great!
1/23/09 9:56 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Cute vest!
1/24/09 1:01 AM
astrogirl said...
I think this is from 1950. This is a good source for dating simplicity patterns: http://www.cemetarian.com/index.php?pr=Simplicity_History I'm not sure women were smaller, exactly, I think the clothes were just less forgiving in terms of ease. I like my clothes to fit a bit more closely, so I like vintage patterns. I love the buttons too, and I still want to make View 2 also.
2/5/09 9:21 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Self Drafted Pattern 106177-1002 jeans
photo
Review by geraldine on 10/23/08
Read Review

New Look 6889 Pattern
New Look 6889 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1280 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 1280 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 130436-1001
photo
Review by NicholeMc on 8/17/08
Read Review

Archer Shirt
Archer Shirt

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Cascade Skirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Cascade Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt
Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us