SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3298 (Misses Vests Vintage 1940)

Viewed 190 times 
Reviewed by:astrogirl
photo

 
 
About astrogirlstar
VA USA
Member since: 8/28/06
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/16/09 1:57 PM
Last Updated:1/23/09 5:02 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MadMenFanlinda said...
That's really nice. I have been afraid to use some of my vintage patterns too as I don't trust the fit. People were smaller back in the day. Looks great.
1/16/09 3:47 PM
BJ1400 said...
I really like this. Very nice.
1/16/09 5:47 PM
Barb in Northwoods said...
Beautiful! I love the fabric, and the way the buttons are placed. Iusually line vests when I make them, I will have to try your idea of using french seams. Thanks so much for the exellent tip!!!
1/17/09 10:35 AM
Luckylibbet said...
I love the way the buttons come into a V shape echoing the bottom hemline - about what year would you say this pattern is?
1/17/09 12:16 PM
Tesla121 said...
OMG! this is gorgeous!
1/23/09 5:51 PM
Em's Summer said...
I love vintage patterns and this vest is really nice! You did a great job! Thanks for reviewing this pattern!
1/23/09 6:27 PM
bananaoil said...
Looks great!
1/23/09 9:56 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Cute vest!
1/24/09 1:01 AM
astrogirl said...
I think this is from 1950. This is a good source for dating simplicity patterns: http://www.cemetarian.com/index.php?pr=Simplicity_History I'm not sure women were smaller, exactly, I think the clothes were just less forgiving in terms of ease. I like my clothes to fit a bit more closely, so I like vintage patterns. I love the buttons too, and I still want to make View 2 also.
2/5/09 9:21 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Everyday Baskets

Everyday Baskets

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Buy Now