Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 01-2009-110 (mock wrap over top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 429 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:squirrellypoo
photo
About squirrellypoostarstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/27/05
Reviews written: 262
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 99 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/20/09 6:51 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lynz said...
That top looks lovely. It's next on my list.
1/20/09 7:28 AM
Nancy K said...
I love this top! I don't think that I'll get it made before January is out, but it is on the list! It looks great on you.
1/20/09 8:24 AM
sewme47 said...
Your top is crazy good! I had initially passed over this pattern because of its "plunging neckline," but your idea to use FOE is wonderful. Thanks for the tip.
1/20/09 9:35 AM
cabinbaby said...
I love that top on you and that print is spectacular.
1/20/09 9:54 AM
Karen6790 said...
Love the top, love the print. The look is great on you and congrats for making a January pattern while still in January. Doesn't always happen, does it?
1/20/09 10:11 AM
sewtime said...
Very cute top!!
1/20/09 10:28 AM
Elona said...
That top looks great and does indeed fit you perfectly. I can't believe the color match on the FOE--what a happy coincidence! I also cannot believe that you're standing out on the deck of your boat in January--without a coat. H
1/20/09 11:11 AM
Deepika said...
I love your top. I am so making this. And congratulations on making the pattern in the same month as the magazine! I too did it this month and am feeling quite proud, so I totally get this.
1/20/09 1:45 PM
Bonnie O said...
Cute top!!
1/20/09 1:47 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Vercute I have to make this one. I love the neckline treatment with the FOE..does anyone know where you can buy that in the US?
1/20/09 3:47 PM
Natasha B said...
Great top and fantastic fit. I really need to get my head around FOE!
1/20/09 3:51 PM
figtree said...
Very nice top, now i'll have to add it to my to do list. I love a couple things from this issue but i doubt i'll get to them this month. By the way, have u ever been to the lady in Lewisham Market? sometimes its a bit eh but sometimes she has VERY nice stuff, usually lots of nice knits, and i've never seen anything over 2.50/m.
1/20/09 4:01 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Great top - I look forward to getting this issue!
1/20/09 4:56 PM
daff said...
Such a nice top! I think your layout ended up really adding to the visual interest on the front, so maybe it was good you didn't have enough fabric. :) Also, the freak FOE color matching is exactly what stashes are for! :)
1/20/09 7:53 PM
Heatherrique said...
Fun and fabulous top on you! Great idea to use the foldover elastic! I think this top along with flounced top are growing in popularity! Cool blog!
1/20/09 10:00 PM
martinanne said...
Great review!!
1/21/09 10:44 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Super cute top!!!
1/22/09 1:57 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2009-113 Shorts
photo
Review by Kbenco on 2/21/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Hula Hoop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Hula Hoop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8151 Todays Fit
photo
Review by Peggy L on 2/7/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)
Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1395 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 1395 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 4290 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 4290 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us