Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 5827 (Child's Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 264 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:CathyWeeks
photo
About CathyWeeksstar
MN USA
Member since: 9/5/08
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/21/09 11:15 AM
Last Updated:1/21/09 11:22 AM


See other patterns in this category: Kids(boys & girls)    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
What a beautiful dress--on an extraordinarily beautiful child! I can see why she would love that twirly skirt.
1/21/09 12:39 PM
SewLil said...
I especially like the green flannel version. I enjoyed your informative review.
1/21/09 1:20 PM
Kay Romo said...
So cute! All RTW I have seen lately try to make 7year olds look like sexpots. Good job.
1/21/09 2:03 PM
CathyWeeks said...
Kay, I had to laugh. When I made the dress, all I thought was - "that's a cute pattern, and this fabric will be pretty on her." I didn't even consider the ah, LACK of skin showing. However, it's winter in Minnesota - other than perhaps wearing stuff form fitting, most kids this age WANT to stay covered up. Even at the middle school, where I occasionally substitute, this seems to be true.
1/21/09 2:35 PM
WL said...
Cathy, I love what you did with this pattern. I've seen the pattern a couple of times, but just blew right by it because I thought it looked rather blah. But yours are so cute, I think I will add it to my collection the next time there is a sale (I'm in MN too and I love the flannel version!)
1/21/09 4:49 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Cathy, what a lovely little jewel of emerald for your beautiful little redhead. She looks heavenly, Lily
1/21/09 5:50 PM
sewtime said...
Beautiful dress on a beautiful little girl, Love the details and the color!
1/21/09 6:01 PM
Christas said...
What a beautiful dress! Both versions are wonderful. The twirl factor is sure to make these dresses the favorites of your beautiful little girl!
1/21/09 9:58 PM
Mahler said...
If I buy the pattern, do I get a lovely little girl like that ? ;-) Both dresses are wonderful !
1/22/09 9:22 PM
fiddlestick chic said...
I just purchased this pattern as it will fit 3 of my 4 grandaughter's for matching Christmas dresses. ( starting in July just to be sure) Couldent believe when I went to JoAnne's for the .99 Simplicity pattern sale it was scheduled to be discontinued so I ended up paying full price on PR. Ok with me ,b/c I will use this pattern many time for many varied dresses, even do up sleeveless in summer. I LOVE the twirling the girls do and am looking at putting petticoats ( is that what you call them??.I had boys!) so they feel really special. I also looked on your photo slide and noticed the hats you made for presents. I think I will do that also, keep Christmas in check here. Lots of people to buy for now! Thanks for the great review and picts, it sold me on the pattern as I didn't want a lot of gathering at the top for my 7yr old GD , this pattern works well for a 3 yr old, a 5 yrd old and a 7 yr old. I will start now with a back to school dress for each girl( nursery school for the 3 yr old is back to school too!) As always I keep knitting little vests for the boys,,,,,,
7/29/09 10:10 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Loes Hinse Designs 5003 Cruise Pant
photo
Review by Nancywin on 2/24/10
Read Review

McCalls 5797 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 5797 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3607 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3607 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Elizabeth Lee Sunrise Designs 302
photo
Review by JenSews2 on 6/13/06
Read Review

Sis Boom Marlo Top Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Marlo Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Tania Culottes Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Tania Culottes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes
Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $17.65
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us