Online Sewing Class: Put it on the Bias
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Vogue 8815

Here's what you'll learn:

  1. Distinguishing between different types of leather
  2. How to select and how much to buy for your project
  3. Choosing patterns
  4. Supplies and industry tips and tricks to sew with leather
  5. Seams
    • Basic
    • Flat-felled
    • Lapped
    • Cut-edge Lapped
  6. Darts
    • Classic
    • Overlap
    • Slot
  7. How to sew flaps and collars and cuffs
  8. Sewing the Peplum top
    • Cutting and Marking on Leather
    • Staying Leather
    • Pressing Leather
    • Sewing Darts
    • Inserting Zipper
    • Finishing
  9. Bonus: A 29 page PDF document showing step by step photos of all the different types of darts and seams. ">Leather 101 Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5827 (Child's Dress)

6 more reviews
Viewed 265 times 
Reviewed by:CathyWeeks
photo

 
 
About CathyWeeksstar
MN USA
Member since: 9/5/08
Reviews: 22 (patterns: 16)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/21/09 11:15 AM
Last Updated:1/21/09 11:22 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Kids(boys & girls)    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
fiddlestick chic said... (7/29/09 10:10 AM) Reply
I just purchased this pattern as it will fit 3 of my 4 grandaughter's for matching Christmas dresses. ( starting in July just to be sure) Couldent believe when I went to JoAnne's for the .99 Simplicity pattern sale it was scheduled to be discontinued so I ended up paying full price on PR. Ok with me ,b/c I will use this pattern many time for many varied dresses, even do up sleeveless in summer. I LOVE the twirling the girls do and am looking at putting petticoats ( is that what you call them??.I had boys!) so they feel really special. I also looked on your photo slide and noticed the hats you made for presents. I think I will do that also, keep Christmas in check here. Lots of people to buy for now! Thanks for the great review and picts, it sold me on the pattern as I didn't want a lot of gathering at the top for my 7yr old GD , this pattern works well for a 3 yr old, a 5 yrd old and a 7 yr old. I will start now with a back to school dress for each girl( nursery school for the 3 yr old is back to school too!) As always I keep knitting little vests for the boys,,,,,,
Mahler said... (1/22/09 9:22 PM) Reply
If I buy the pattern, do I get a lovely little girl like that ? ;-) Both dresses are wonderful !
Christas said... (1/21/09 9:58 PM) Reply
What a beautiful dress! Both versions are wonderful. The twirl factor is sure to make these dresses the favorites of your beautiful little girl!
sewtime said... (1/21/09 6:01 PM) Reply
Beautiful dress on a beautiful little girl, Love the details and the color!
lilyofthevalley said... (1/21/09 5:50 PM) Reply
Cathy, what a lovely little jewel of emerald for your beautiful little redhead. She looks heavenly, Lily
WL said... (1/21/09 4:49 PM) Reply
Cathy, I love what you did with this pattern. I've seen the pattern a couple of times, but just blew right by it because I thought it looked rather blah. But yours are so cute, I think I will add it to my collection the next time there is a sale (I'm in MN too and I love the flannel version!)
CathyWeeks said... (1/21/09 2:35 PM) Reply
Kay, I had to laugh. When I made the dress, all I thought was - "that's a cute pattern, and this fabric will be pretty on her." I didn't even consider the ah, LACK of skin showing. However, it's winter in Minnesota - other than perhaps wearing stuff form fitting, most kids this age WANT to stay covered up. Even at the middle school, where I occasionally substitute, this seems to be true.
Kay Romo said... (1/21/09 2:03 PM) Reply
So cute! All RTW I have seen lately try to make 7year olds look like sexpots. Good job.
SewLil said... (1/21/09 1:20 PM) Reply
I especially like the green flannel version. I enjoyed your informative review.
Elona said... (1/21/09 12:39 PM) Reply
What a beautiful dress--on an extraordinarily beautiful child! I can see why she would love that twirly skirt.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Ottobre Design Magazine 02-2002-40

photo
by: 21wale

Review
10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

Pattern Details
THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Pattern Details