Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7823 (Todays Fit by Sandra Betzina) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 808 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:FreyaStark
photo
Friend of PR
About FreyaStarkstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/08
Reviews written: 154
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 112
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/22/09 6:24 AM
Last Updated:3/23/09 7:16 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
maidathome said...
This is one of those pieces you love to have in your closet, throw it on, put on a pair of sandals and you are good to go. Nice job.
1/22/09 7:39 AM
jannw said...
Nice..I seem to have missed this SB pattern..I'll look for it..
1/22/09 7:56 AM
Peggy L said...
Nice made in such a fun fabric.
1/22/09 8:08 AM
JamieLiz said...
Very nice summer dress! Thanks for the tip about needing a cup of cocoa to get through the directions ;-) (not that I need an excuse to get out the cocoa). Good review!
1/22/09 8:29 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
I love the fabric... and tickled to hear, and very tempted to know it was 'still available', Perfect dress for the perfect fabric. You made a great match of them, BRAVO!
1/22/09 8:45 AM
sewtime said...
Pretty, love the print! Looks great on!!
1/22/09 9:40 AM
Izzie said...
Nice dress, the fabric is great! Before you go down a size, you might want to try it on the bias since it will hang closer to your body. I understand why you cut this one on grain due to your print. I made this in a woven on the bias, and, while it was pain to cut out, it turned out well. BTW if you looked at my review, I've fixed the broken links to the pictures.
1/22/09 12:15 PM
Elona said...
As noted, bias stretches vertically. Betzina and other bias mavens strongly recommend a LOT of ease in bias garments to assure that the finished item hangs well without clinging. The reviews here at pr by people who did use the bias for this one show dresses that hang most beautifully on their figures and are very becoming--living proof of the importance of that ease.
1/22/09 1:08 PM
Athene said...
This is a very nice dress.
1/22/09 1:17 PM
fuzzygalore said...
No fair doing a bias dress not on the bias and then complaining how it fits... The bias really changes the final results, that's why you have a pattern specifically for it. And you even used a very crisp fabric, while you'd have gotten closer if you'd used say a rayon on the straight grain, or better a knit. Don't even think of going down a size if you do this again the way it was meant to be, or your little sister will have a new dress :-). I can see why you were saving this fabric though, it's a gorgeous print, congratulations on using it!
1/22/09 1:37 PM
Nancywin said...
I have to agree with fuzzygalore. I think if you were to make this again on the bias, you would be much more pleased with the drape. Ask me how I know :-)
1/22/09 1:43 PM
FreyaStark said...
Many thanks for all those helpful comments. I must try it again, cut on the bias.
1/22/09 4:19 PM
Annette1 said...
Such a pretty dress, and one that looks to be very comfortable and versatile, as well. I really like what you did with the sleeve bindings just as a design element, although that may not initially be why you chose to do them that way. I'm going to try that on a future pattern myself.
1/23/09 1:30 AM
Kellie R. said...
What a lovely and how sweet that it's your mom's name. It looks great and I'm sure you'll wear it a lot this summer.
3/23/09 9:13 AM
Izzie said...
Pretty Dress!
3/23/09 12:27 PM
kkkkaty said...
thx for the reminder about this dress. It seems to be available from the Vogue Fabrics site in Evanston, just ordered one... wish me luck
3/23/09 3:49 PM
mrsv83 said...
What a great summer dress! I really like the tropical print.
3/23/09 5:20 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Other 3867
photo
Review by chemmom on 5/30/08
Read Review

Butterick 6695 Pattern( Size ALL SZS INCLD )
Butterick 6695 Pattern( Size ALL SZS INCLD )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6478 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6478 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2517 Knit Dresses
photo
Review by Trinity. on 10/1/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Isabella Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Isabella Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns
Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us