SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2008-103 (Tippi Hedren dress)

12 more reviews
Viewed 663 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 322
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 318 people
patterns reviewed: 322
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/22/09 10:38 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 14 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
petro said...
Actually this looks good in the photo, but I can see that the weight of the fabric would be quite critical - too heavy would spoil the drapes and too flimsy would cling in the wrong places. I like that you chose a print, it works in the picture.
1/24/09 11:40 AM
Annette1 said...
Great review, and I think your dress looks quite nice, despite some of the things you've mentioned above. (It's been a long time since I've thought of Tippi Hedren, by the way -- ha!) This dress has some very nice features, and I think it looks great on you. (Love those shoes, too.) :o)
1/23/09 1:36 AM
CrescentaLuna said...
Good tip! I agree, why EVER sew something in the round if you don't have to? Also agree with other comments that the stripes look good in the pictures. Isn't it weird how the patterns in fabrics don't show up until the garment is done? I'm sorry it didn't work for you. I love the dress, though, and I'm planning on trying it -- your sewing tips will definitely help.
1/22/09 10:07 PM
Gelbean said...
The dress looks really good on you. Great review!
1/22/09 7:27 PM
cookie9933 said...
You Look very fine. Sorry it doesn' feel right. Your review was excellent! NIce modeling too!
1/22/09 7:16 PM
michellep74 said...
Very cute--it looks great in the picture. Maybe it will grow on you after a little while?
1/22/09 4:45 PM
FreyaStark said...
It looks pretty good to me. Well done.
1/22/09 4:11 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Great review. I think the dress looks very nice on you...I wish I could find a copy of that issue, I would love to make that dress.
1/22/09 3:53 PM
marec said...
despite all the details you found that need tweaking (in your estimation :-) ), I think the dress looks great on you and I love the overall look. Very nice, nicegirl!
1/22/09 3:51 PM
Lori V said...
The dress looks very cute on you. Nice job.
1/22/09 2:22 PM
fuzzygalore said...
I think you may need to raise the armhole instead of do too much bust-wise. Sometimes Burda forgets it's not the 80s any more :-), and it's particularly confusing since it is again, kind of. I don't agree with a center back seam being needed to fix the swayback either, it won't do anything that 2 darts won't do better. What you may need is to get yourself to Cidell's with a box of pins and get yourself pinned up the way you need to be. For me it's been really helpful to make a block - I need huge, and super-long- backdarts too, and now I can just slap them on whatever, as is from my block, everything fits a lot better back there. I made the dress into a top, and yes the collar is floppy, but I love it this way. You just have to learn to drape it artistically before you go out the door :-). Look at the pattern photo - there's no interfacing in there. That said, I love your print, and I think it looks very cute on you.
1/22/09 1:32 PM
Karen6790 said...
I'm sorry you're not feeling it on, but it looks good - I think it's one of those fit issues that you feel more than you see. And I like the way the fabric looks stripy, especially for the wrap part in the center (I like the circle effect). I would definitely give this one another shot with the modifications you want to do.
1/22/09 1:17 PM
Vivienne said...
You look gorgeous in this dress! Thanks for the helpful (envy inducing) review.
1/22/09 1:05 PM
frogs2 said...
Great review! I like your version a lot more than the one the model is almost wearing in the pattern photo, and I really appreciate your analysis. Sorry it feels sloppy opn - it looks great in your photo!
1/22/09 11:38 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Very, very nice. Beautiful fabric -- I think it adds something unique. I actually love that "from a distance" striping effect. :)
1/22/09 11:36 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Butterick 5418

photo
by: Sewlful

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 100698-1000

photo
by: Mahogany S...

Review
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

More Info