Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2008-103 (Tippi Hedren dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 660 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/22/09 10:38 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vintage Joan said...
Very, very nice. Beautiful fabric -- I think it adds something unique. I actually love that "from a distance" striping effect. :)
1/22/09 11:36 AM
frogs2 said...
Great review! I like your version a lot more than the one the model is almost wearing in the pattern photo, and I really appreciate your analysis. Sorry it feels sloppy opn - it looks great in your photo!
1/22/09 11:38 AM
Vivienne said...
You look gorgeous in this dress! Thanks for the helpful (envy inducing) review.
1/22/09 1:05 PM
Karen6790 said...
I'm sorry you're not feeling it on, but it looks good - I think it's one of those fit issues that you feel more than you see. And I like the way the fabric looks stripy, especially for the wrap part in the center (I like the circle effect). I would definitely give this one another shot with the modifications you want to do.
1/22/09 1:17 PM
fuzzygalore said...
I think you may need to raise the armhole instead of do too much bust-wise. Sometimes Burda forgets it's not the 80s any more :-), and it's particularly confusing since it is again, kind of. I don't agree with a center back seam being needed to fix the swayback either, it won't do anything that 2 darts won't do better. What you may need is to get yourself to Cidell's with a box of pins and get yourself pinned up the way you need to be. For me it's been really helpful to make a block - I need huge, and super-long- backdarts too, and now I can just slap them on whatever, as is from my block, everything fits a lot better back there. I made the dress into a top, and yes the collar is floppy, but I love it this way. You just have to learn to drape it artistically before you go out the door :-). Look at the pattern photo - there's no interfacing in there. That said, I love your print, and I think it looks very cute on you.
1/22/09 1:32 PM
Lori V said...
The dress looks very cute on you. Nice job.
1/22/09 2:22 PM
marec said...
despite all the details you found that need tweaking (in your estimation :-) ), I think the dress looks great on you and I love the overall look. Very nice, nicegirl!
1/22/09 3:51 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Great review. I think the dress looks very nice on you...I wish I could find a copy of that issue, I would love to make that dress.
1/22/09 3:53 PM
FreyaStark said...
It looks pretty good to me. Well done.
1/22/09 4:11 PM
michellep74 said...
Very cute--it looks great in the picture. Maybe it will grow on you after a little while?
1/22/09 4:45 PM
cookie9933 said...
You Look very fine. Sorry it doesn' feel right. Your review was excellent! NIce modeling too!
1/22/09 7:16 PM
Gelbean said...
The dress looks really good on you. Great review!
1/22/09 7:27 PM
CrescentaLuna said...
Good tip! I agree, why EVER sew something in the round if you don't have to? Also agree with other comments that the stripes look good in the pictures. Isn't it weird how the patterns in fabrics don't show up until the garment is done? I'm sorry it didn't work for you. I love the dress, though, and I'm planning on trying it -- your sewing tips will definitely help.
1/22/09 10:07 PM
Annette1 said...
Great review, and I think your dress looks quite nice, despite some of the things you've mentioned above. (It's been a long time since I've thought of Tippi Hedren, by the way -- ha!) This dress has some very nice features, and I think it looks great on you. (Love those shoes, too.) :o)
1/23/09 1:36 AM
petro said...
Actually this looks good in the photo, but I can see that the weight of the fabric would be quite critical - too heavy would spoil the drapes and too flimsy would cling in the wrong places. I like that you chose a print, it works in the picture.
1/24/09 11:40 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Farbenmix Xater
photo
Review by Sandi S on 12/23/12
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Seashore Sundress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Seashore Sundress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )
Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2414 Misses Skirt
photo
Review by PAMomof3 on 6/17/12
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3600 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3600 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1286 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 1286 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us