SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Vogue 8815

Here's what you'll learn:

  1. Distinguishing between different types of leather
  2. How to select and how much to buy for your project
  3. Choosing patterns
  4. Supplies and industry tips and tricks to sew with leather
  5. Seams
    • Basic
    • Flat-felled
    • Lapped
    • Cut-edge Lapped
  6. Darts
    • Classic
    • Overlap
    • Slot
  7. How to sew flaps and collars and cuffs
  8. Sewing the Peplum top
    • Cutting and Marking on Leather
    • Staying Leather
    • Pressing Leather
    • Sewing Darts
    • Inserting Zipper
    • Finishing
  9. Bonus: A 29 page PDF document showing step by step photos of all the different types of darts and seams. ">Leather 101 Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> 000 (Table Napkins)

37 more reviews
Viewed 1717 times 
Reviewed by:NancyDaQ
photo

 
 
About NancyDaQstar
NM USA
Member since: 1/12/02
Reviews: 69 (patterns: 30)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 12 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/19/03 12:30 PM
Last Updated:4/6/04 7:48 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said... (1/20/06 8:30 PM) Reply
Thanks for linking to this from the message board. I've been wondering if the quilting cotton would be soft / absorbant enough for napkins. I'll have to check out the selection! (Now I just need to convince DH to use cloth napkins... he always insists on using paper.)
G.G. said... (4/13/04 12:29 PM) Reply
nice,quick idea. brightens up a presentation at any meal. may find that fabric and make as a housewarming git for my daughter. use them as we sip ice tea or lemonade on the patio. (haha)
NancyDaQ said... (4/13/04 0:32 AM) Reply
Try making a puddle of Fray check, then using a toothpick or straight pin to apply it to the fabric. You will get better contol over the application. Besides they're only napkins (not a gift); if the Fray check messed them up to much they would have been tossed. No big loss.
JDpenelope said... (4/9/04 7:41 AM) Reply
Ooo, I like these napkins! Regarding the use of Fray check...Probably I'm more daring now, but I think I was afraid of loose , hard threads showing with sort of bunchy knots where the Fray check was used. But I think I'm getting better at it now (or am less particular!)
CyberNewt said... (4/6/04 9:10 PM) Reply
Great napkins! I am so inspired. :)
Hilary said... (4/6/04 8:07 PM) Reply
Very nice looking napkins~bright and cheery! Now that I have figured out how to do a rolled hem on my serger(my first attempts were botched) I should be able to whip out some napkins very quickly. Thanks for the review!
NancyDaQ said... (10/22/03 1:16 PM) Reply
Penelope, why are you wanting to avoid Fray check? It absorbs into the rolled edge and is not visible. I also didn't notice any scratchiness.
JDpenelope said... (10/21/03 10:39 PM) Reply
Looking forward to photos. I want to use my new serger to make Thanksgiving and Christmas napkins, with rolled hems. I have tried your tip about tapering and it works. I wish there was an alternative to using fray check on the napkins, but I guess the rolled hem would be too tight to bury the thread tail under it (using a large darning, etc needle), as one can do with serged seams.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Simplicity 2209

photo
by: Karen Carr

Review
Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details
SewBaby Baby Doll Puppet Pattern

SewBaby  Baby Doll Puppet  Pattern

Pattern Details
Butterick 5490

photo
by: Opals Pass...

Review