SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Mrs. Stylebook Magazine> 04-2002-(92/225) (Pintuck Sleeveless Top)

Viewed 246 times 
Reviewed by:Jali
photo

 
 
About Jalistar
SRI LANKA
Member since: 7/2/03
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/25/09 5:58 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
When I saw the pintucks, I thought it was intentionally an asymmetric look, and thought they looked great. Very precise and how lucky that center-to-center measurement of the design was 1 cm. Wonder how often we get that lucky with our fabric??? Very nice detail in your top and in your review. Someone was asking about pintucks the other day; I'll point her here.
1/25/09 6:37 AM
Renren said...
One thing I meant to tell you, as a way of offering help: I read just last week that it is sometimes easier to add embellishments, such as pintucks, to fabric before the pattern is cut out. Never having done this, I don't know, but it seems reasonable. Anyway, I think your top is perfect as fabricated!
1/25/09 6:40 AM
Jali said...
Yes, it does seem reasonable Renren. I think the grainlines would be clearer so its possible to have straighter pintucks. Thank you very much, that's very helpful and much appreciated.
1/25/09 7:24 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Yes, some sort of regular print would help pintucks a lot! I second renren's advice of doing them before cutting too. Easier, and more accurate in the later steps. But might you also consider a wee adjustment for sloping shoulders? I can't remember whose shirt lately, with those same diagonal folds from the neck, elicited that unanimous advice from the peanut gallery (myself included). The MS picture does seem to have more ease, but mostly it's made in a drapier fabric, and you might have ended up with a potato sack if you'd added more ease into this fairly crisp rendition. Anyway, from what I gather of Singapore's climate, you'll be getting a lot of use out of this cute top :-)..
1/25/09 12:02 PM
Seaspur said...
Cute top, very thorough review, thanks!
1/25/09 12:18 PM
knitlitcamper said...
Looks great on you, you did an excellent job.
1/25/09 4:51 PM
ALY said...
Your blouse is lovely. Congrats on doing such a great job with the drafting after a lapse of a couple years
1/25/09 8:03 PM
AuntieShel said...
I love your top!! It looks fabulous and you did a great job with your sloper. That takes a lot of patience. Would love to get my hands on a Mrs. Stylebook.
1/25/09 8:03 PM
Jali said...
Thank you for the kind comments everyone. Its a nice, breezy and sunny holiday in Singapore today and I wore the top outdoors for strolling by the Singapore River. I found myself wearing it with pride in spite of its imperfections (and I am a perfectionist) preferring this to wearing mass market RTW. Its just more personal and satisfying.
1/26/09 3:31 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Burda 7627

photo
by: style insp...

Review

Pattern

Children's Corner 262

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Buy Now
Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Buy Now