SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 3012 (Making History Bustle gown)

2 more reviews
Viewed 519 times 
Reviewed by:Kellie R.
photo

 
 
About Kellie R.starstar
Member since: 7/4/07
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 47 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/25/09 5:11 PM
Last Updated:1/26/09 7:57 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
shelyH said...
What a gorgeous dress! It looks awesome and you did a great job!
1/25/09 5:22 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Your costume is a meticulously crafted masterpiece. You look stunning in it. I commend you for completing your labor-intensive endeavor well before it's needed, too.
1/25/09 5:33 PM
Kbenco said...
I love your stupendous gown. What a project!
1/25/09 5:36 PM
Stephenie said...
Wow!! This is gorgeous!!! Congratulations on finishing this huge project!
1/25/09 5:53 PM
Renren said...
Breathtakingly beautiful! Oh, Kellie R., this was worth the wait. My 16 y.o. dd2 stood over my shoulder and admired each of your views. The rosettes are beautiful. I am in awe of this fabulous UFO which had made landing!
1/25/09 6:28 PM
Re Becca said...
Stunning! I see why you spent so much time gathering and working on those rosettes. My hands hurt just thinking about it!
1/25/09 6:57 PM
AuntieShel said...
I'm speechless!! Awestruck!! This is beyond gorgeous!! It belongs on the red carpet!!
1/25/09 7:55 PM
cdi9c said...
Fabulous! I especially love the neckline and bottom hem trim!
1/25/09 8:03 PM
mars418 said...
Absolutely gorgeous dress! What an accomplishment!
1/25/09 9:04 PM
Annette1 said...
What a GREAT review. I just can't get OVER all of these EXQUISITE details you've incorporated into this dress. It's TOO NICE to be a costume! :o) I REALLY can't decide WHICH part I like the best, so I guess I just have to say THE WHOLE THING! Man, I think this would be a beautiful WEDDING DRESS too! (Okay, maybe not in BLACK, but you know what I mean.) :o) It's certainly as much WORK as a wedding dress.
1/25/09 9:29 PM
Deepika said...
You know the museums we all love to go to? Your dress belongs there. It really does. I mean just look at it. WOW!!!! Will you bring it to Portland? And you look STUNNING. The fit is perfect.
1/25/09 9:36 PM
Luckylibbet said...
I'm speechless! Wow. WOW. Major WOW.
1/25/09 11:12 PM
Annette1 said...
Don't mind me, I'm just looking at all the pictures AGAIN. :o) That NECKLINE ...
1/26/09 0:08 AM
merteuil said...
Absolutely stunning! I love all the fabulous details!
1/26/09 2:00 AM
Primatoidefutile said...
Whow, this looks great ! I really must get back to my victorian patterns, if the result is something like this...
1/26/09 5:06 AM
Kellie R. said...
Thank you all so much for your kind comments! I love making fun things, and this will definitely be fun to wear!
1/26/09 7:59 AM
squirrellypoo said...
WOW. the work you put into this is apparent in the final garment! This is museum quality!
1/26/09 8:28 AM
Renren said...
I, too, like Annette1, am back again! Thanks for adding the rosettes tutorial because ever since you mentioned those at the UFO discussion board, I have been intrigued by them. I'm leaving your review on the screen so dd2 can look at it again before she heads off for school. It will give her something beautiful to think about during physics and pre-cal.
1/26/09 8:34 AM
cindyann said...
Wow! That is lovely!
1/26/09 9:03 AM
MamaSewing said...
What a lot of work, it is such a unique dress and what fun for you to be able to say that you made it!
1/26/09 1:39 PM
Karen6790 said...
I can see how a project of this magnitude became a UFO, but I'm so glad you finished it. It's an amazing piece of work and looks fabulous on you.
1/26/09 3:02 PM
Diane333 said...
it's beautiful
1/26/09 9:07 PM
Heatherrique said...
Impressively dazzling, Kellie! Thanks for a very helpful review!
1/27/09 8:43 AM
suebbb said...
OMG what an impressive project!! well done and congratulations on a spectacular job.
1/29/09 4:25 AM
alviana said...
WOW! Absolutely beautiful dress!!!! Love it!!!
1/30/09 10:18 PM
lotusposition said...
Wow, it's nice to see this made in black as that is how I intend to make it one day. Hmmm, not looking forward to it now but thanks for the extensive review.
2/3/09 11:29 PM
wendlesue said...
This is such a fabulous dress! And what a great review! I can't believe I missed this when you posted it....You look amazing in the dress, and IMHO you could wear it for more than Halloween!
2/26/09 7:26 AM
Em's Summer said...
WOW! This is amazing!!! What a beautiful gown!
3/10/09 10:17 AM
Tallahasseelassie said...
Thank you for taking the time to post your full review. I really appreciate the instructive advice for the pattern errors. You look gorgeous in your beautiful dress.
12/31/10 1:31 PM
LaSiddons said...
I was thinking of buying this pattern for a victorian ball I'm going to in September, however, I'd assumed that it would be a three part bodice, skirt, and over-skirt/train, and that it would be designed for wearing over a bustle petticoat, not with a faux bustle in the train ... very helpful to find all this out before shelling out the 40 to buy the pattern!!
3/7/13 2:11 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Buy Now
Simplicity 9958

photo
by: slmstyle

Review